We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, unsure on 4 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Novotel Glasgow has an excellent location - so central to the center of Glasgow and to nice bars on Bath Street! Unsure whether I would give it the 4 star rating it holds - a small, simple room which I would associate more with 3 stars. However the room was very clean and quiet and the bathroom was lovely. We didn't use the restaurant - there are so many places nearby! Plan a little time in for checking in - only 1 member of staff was available to book in a queue of Friday arrivals. Checking out was fast and easy. All staff were polite, knowledgeable and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstin2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that your stay was a comfortable one but have noted your comment regarding queing to check-in, which I will ensure is better managed in the future.

I hope to see you back at the hotel at some point soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

smooth and efficient check in and out, friendly but without the pointless pleasantaries some chains insist their staff attempt to inflict upon you. very impressed.
room - spacious, comfortable, clean, the bed and pillows here are amongst the most comfortable i have ever had in hotel, excellent.
location - very handy for city centre.
bar - service good, prices typical of hotel of this type.
didnt eat here so cant comment on that side of things.
the down side - this sadly is beyond the hotels control, the police need to step up and sort this problem; the idiotic boy racers that going round and round until 3 am ! surely this police most be aware of this.
overall - i liked it, if the police could sort boy racers I would like to go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jco01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am sorry to read however that your stay was interupted by street noise. I am confident that this occasional problem will be non existent in the near future.

We do hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Staff fantastic so helpful and friendly, good situation close to shops and theatre, only drawback was they don't do twin rooms rooms same as double but you have to put down sofa for other bed which means little room for moving about ok for one night but wouldn't want to stay any longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandiAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments based on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read such positive words regarding our staff which I will of course pass onto the team.

We do look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

arrived late (9pm) getting a meal was not a problem, but service was a wee bit slow, no worries, not going any where till morning, room was clean, comfy bed, had a really sound sleep, breakfast was very good, good selection, and it was not cold like some buffet breakfasts can be !,attended a meeting at hotel next day, they put on a very good lunch, ( 3 course ) check out was very good bags held in the luggage room all day, staff were very helpful at all times.

Room Tip: think all rooms are good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive review following a recent stay with us at Novotel Glasgow Centre.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Close to Kings Theatre (really close) , close to west end of Sauchiehall Street and a young/diverse pub/club scene and close to an amazing rustic and cheap Restaurant called Antipasta. Hotel was budget but better. If rooms , great for kids as they were free and had sofa bed in the room. So yeah pretty good and worth an extra £10-20 instead of booking a travelodge!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithaChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable experiance and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The receptionist was fantastic, very helpful and lots of information. Clean, modern and a great location for the city centre. Parking was ok although the hotel car park was full there was an alternative close by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Spikeyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking some time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Novotel Glasgow Centre.

I am delighted to read that you had a good stay & do look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very good hotel. Staff excellent, room very clean and comfortable, breakfast extremely tasty!
The only down side is limited parking, but we got a space outside on the street - overnight free as is Sunday. 10 minute walk from the concert hall, but worth it - exceptional value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Master649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking some time to write a review and share your experiance of Novotel Glasgow Centre.

Such positive feedback is very encouraging, for which I will pass your comments onto the team.

We hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Mnro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,686 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,019 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $65 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing