We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our highland tour. The room was large and clean and had everything you would expect from Novotel. The staff was very helpful and gave us advice when we asked about directions. On the downside the telephone in our room was not working. Although they ensured us that they would fix it by the morning it was still not fixed by the next morning. However, they let us use the phone in the reception. Otherwise I will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is typical Novotel. The room was well maintained with best point being the comfort of the bed. The hotel was quiet and clean. A good option in Glasgow, just don't pay over the odds for a room

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had booked this hotel as a treat for my mother, sister and and her mum, we had tickets to go and see a show at the kings theatre and thought we would make a day of it. At check-in we were greeted with friendly staff, reception area was clean and airy, upgraded to two executive rooms and paid for these at check in. Had our lunch and a glass of wine in the hotel (which was part of a groupon deal ) food was piping hot. Our rooms were clean and modern, a little on the small side for an executive room but everything was there that we needed and we didn't spend any time in the room anyway. We went to the shops and returned to the hotel to get changed because we had booked a pre theatre meal at a restaurant for five o'clock. While we were at the show my mother collapsed and was very ill, we decided the best thing to do was to return to the hotel, checkout that night and get her to a hospital in our area she was admitted to hospital, it was really stressful. I explained the circumstances to the receptionist and she could see that we were very alarmed and she then asked me for £8 for the parking, bearing in mind we had paid for an upgrade for both rooms, we hadn't slept in the rooms and we didn't have our breakfast and we hadn't used the facilities. I wrote a letter to the manager on my return to ask for some sort of compensation and haven't even been given the courtesy of a reply. On the other hand the Kings Theatre have been on the phone to ask how my mother is and have given us complimentary tickets to the panto for whatever date we want. This is the reason I have only given an average marking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm just back from a weekends stay in this hotel. It was the first time I stayed and I have to say it was a very good experience.

Hotel is lovely and bright, rooms are a great size and had a very comfortable bed and sofa bed. Rooms are also well heated and not too warm. Very quiet also at night.

There is a charge for wifi but if you don't want to pay for it you can use one of the 2 computers in the reception area.

The staff are very pleasant and will help with any matter

The only downside which doesn't really bother me but some people may not be impressed was my room was not cleaned on Sunday, no refill of tea or coffee, fresh towels ect. I was in and out of the room, but no one ever came and it was missed, then on Monday morning someone cams to the door before 9am and woke me. Reception were very quick to send me up tea and coffee though which was needed and I still had fresh towels

I will be back to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regular_Guest_Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Took us to this hotel for a reasonable price,the roomwas great,the staff were proffesional, the breakfast buffet style was first class but the evening meal although presented well ,every course was cold and when asked to heat up came back unedible so if i stayed again i think bed and breakfast would be the choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggerrd688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found the Novotel to be in a great area. We arrived around 8AM after an overnight flight and was given an early checkin with 2 hrs. We could walk everywhere from this location. The staff was extremely helpful in giving directions for transporation, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdownhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for writing a review based on your recent stay with us at Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found everything within easy reach of the hotel.
We do hope to welcome you back at some point in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a modern building with basic functional minimalist decor - not a style that gives a warm welcoming feeling however it was very clean and close to Sacheihall Street. The dinner was very good however at breakfast one felt rushed. They were anxious to clear tables and if you got up to get a tea or coffee they would clear away you partly eaten meal.
It was good to have two free computers in the lobby.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Betula103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your review based on your recent stay at novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay but have noted your comments regarding feeling 'rushed' at breakfast for which we, as a team will take constructivley in order to improve our service.

I once again thank you for your feedback & do hope to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,544 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $77 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing