We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable stay - and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning and end of a steam train tour of the Western Highlands. Both nights were fine - standard quality Premier Inn - with no noise disturbance, even with the window open. The tour members (about 60 of us) arrived pretty much at the same time on both evenings but were handed our room keys very quickly indeed. The lifts, though, struggled to cope with the large number of people who needed to use them and sometimes flashed a 'overload' warning when not completely full. However, this wasn't a really major problem and was certainly offset by the impressive way that the hotel coped with all the people arriving for breakfast - having opened the buffet breakfast counter at 6.45, one and a quarter hours before the usual Sunday opening time. Full marks! Yes, it did take a few minutes to get to the head of the queue for eggs, bacon etc, but the staff re-filled all the dishes, drink dispensers etc promptly. And Premier Inn should be congratulated for proving fried eggs as well as the usual rather slushy scrambled egg that some hotels still only serve.

We didn't eat in the hotel on either evening and instead went the relatively short distance to the busy restaurant area to the south of George Square (where there is another Premier Inn in which we stayed a few years back).

BTW, a tip for the reviewer who complained about the shortage of towels: yes, there are only a big and small one in the bathroom but I'm surprised that there wasn't also another large one on a shelf in the room - near the two extea pillows which we found both nights.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors probably experience less traffic noise - but we found that a side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

All the staff were happy to help and very friendly. Only stayed one night but found room very comfortable, and had really good breakfast next day. Also very handy for Central Station and shopping centre - would stay there again.


  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ettahopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Argyle Street. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn very soon. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay and we hope you had an enjoyable time in Glasgow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night to see a band that were playing nearby.

I've stayed in many Premier Inn's and a few in Glasgow but never this one. The staff were welcoming and helpful on arrival, the hotel is clean and the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. It's in a great location, handy for nearby shops and bars but just a short walk away from all the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

After a lovely evening I retreated back to the hotel and got ready to snuggle down for a great nights sleep. But oh dear the noise! My room was away from the main street and traffic but backed onto what looked like a large set of fans. I'm not sure if this was the source of the disturbance or if it was something internally like perhaps the lifts, but whatever it was kept stopping and starting at all times during the night. I'm a great sleeper and very little usually disturbs me, so this noise must've been pretty loud.

What a shame, as this would've been a great stay if only I'd managed to have sampled some of premier inn's advertised 'great night's sleep'

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks for your review. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this with regards our service levels and high cleanliness standards. However at Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a quiet environment and I do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first time in this Premier Inn. We usually try and stay in the George Square one but their prices were through the roof this year. We've since found out there was a party political conference going on. Have no complaints about the hotel in Argyll street. Staff warm and friendly, breakfast really good. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. No outlook whatsoever, but I love the Premier Inn beds. Would stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol-macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Many thanks for your review. What a lovely review! It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Argyle Street and we do hope to see you again in the very near future either here or at George Square Premier Inn. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us as your feedback is appreciated and valued.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for four nights. Staff were friendly and helpful - the breakfast was part of the deal and was decent enough. Some fixtures looked a bit tired but the room was clean and fit for purpose - not sure about there claims to guaranteed sleep but that's just advertising I suppose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after and the all-you-can-eat breakfast met your expectations. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high quality of accommodation in all our establishments, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this, albeit the room was noted to still maintain our high cleanliness standard. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by myself. Once again thank you for your review, we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was fine. We were up on the 7th floor so well away from the noise. It was well over the top for cost considering the room and the walk to the car park but it was the Lib Dem week.

The food however gave us food poisoning. The salad was the first clue. God knows how long it had been there but it was hard, totally dry, and inedible. EAT OUT. I ordered the steak rare. I got it medium to well done. What that sauce was I could not tell you. A chef, and they clearly need one, would never have allowed that glue filled with bacon to be called a sauce or even food. I suspect the salad we ordered was older than the decoration and maybe older than the remnants of breakfasts left on the tables. I counted 5 pieces of xmas decorations left in the walls and ceiling during the wait for service.

Forget the breakfast as even when you book, as we did, you end up in a queue of people, most of who have not booked, while they try to find you a seat. I say try to find you a seat but the tables were empty while we had to queue back to the elevators till the waiter took the details off each and every person who decided to turn up. We decided to go back to the front desk and get a refund rather than wait in the queue. Particularly as we both had bad stomachs from our evening meal.

The impression I got was the hotel had decided to save money by penny pinching. You can see evidence of it everywhere. 2 of us were given 2 tea bags 2 coffees 4 milks 3 white sugars 3 brown sugars. 1 large towel and 1 small towel for 2 of us. I can't stand this sort of penny pinching particularly when we are paying £117 a night for the room and £40 for the food poisoning.

If you are unable to find a better hotel, and there are plenty, the girls on reception are very nice but it goes steadily downhill after that. Not last resort but pretty close to it.

STAY OUT OF THE RESTAURANT EAT OUT.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan A, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and its disappointing that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations with regards to the breakfast hot food standards and service. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I loved my stay at premier inn, the food was good, the staff were friendly and my room was lovely and homely! The affordability of the room was also good for an overnight stay and the hotel was quiet. When the outside got slightly noisy, the window would shut out any noise when shut which was a good help, but it wasn't too bad. I would definitely stay again though!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susi_a, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time in completing a review regarding Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Argyle Street. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that our hotel, and great facilities met your expectations. Our helpful, friendly staff are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel

Address: 377 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $71 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This city centre Premier Inn is very close to Glasgow Central Station, popular shopping areas, restaurants and bars. M8 motorway and public transport links are close by. This site does not have onsite car parking but has a deal on with the local QPark - guests can receive a voucher from reception which will discount the cost of 24hrs to £7. Premier Inn Glasgow Argyle Street is ideal for all travellers and is convenient for exploring Glasgow. It has a fresh, modern feel, restaurant and bar and a Costa coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle St) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Argyle St
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing