We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just returned from 5 nights staying here and was very happy with the hotel, room was great, clean and the bed was very comfortable. I had room service on the first night and had a sandwich with bread so dry that it was physically curling up at the edges. But the soup was delicious and the rest of the week I ate in the restaurant or bar and all the food was first class. The hotel has good facilities, the pool was lovely and it has a good gym and spa too, although sadly I didn't get to try either of these out. But the hotels biggest asset is its staff, who were all pleasant, friendly and helpful. Right through from the consierge staff to the wait staff to the housekeeping staff, they were all lovely and made the stay very pleasant. Just a couple of negative things though, as others have said, 15 pounds a day for Internet is extortionate, although it is free on the ground floor in the bar area and restaurant.. and I felt that the rooms should have had a working mini fridge. The fridge was there inside a cabinet but obviously didn't work as all the rooms I am my colleagues stayed in had the cabinets sealed shut. Other than that it was a good experience.

Room Tip: I had room 301 which was at the end of the corridor and had a fire escape staircase one side of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in the Marriot Glasgow in Dec 2013

Hotel is well positioned for access by road and has parking facilities. The walk into the City Centre takes about 15 minutes, via a straight, flat, direct route, and is not a problem, if the weather is good and it is daylight. Walking at night is less attractive as the road is somewhat uninviting. However, there is a bus stop, for both directions, immediately outside the hotel (Bus No:1, which goes via George Square) and, the hotel is well served by Taxi (about £5 to Buchanan Gallery shops).
It is possible to walk to the SECC and Hydro venues – again, weather permitting – and takes about 20 minutes.

The hotel is comfortable, clean and well furnished. It provides more than adequate, comfortable, public seating areas throughout the hotel and a good bar and restaurant service. Bedrooms are well furnished, of a good size and with comfortable beds / pillows. Bathrooms are well appointed, well stocked with toiletries and, along with the room, are serviced to a very high standard daily. One issue was the shower curtain, which failed to prevent water covering floor area – a slipping hazard and necessitated using spare towels to mop up.

The children loved the swimming pool, and used it three times, in 24 hours! However, the route from hotel reception to the pool is rather tortuous and uninviting.

One of the best features of this hotel is the Staff. Friendly, helpful, highly trained / competent and a real pleasure to interface with. We regularly stay in Glasgow Hotels, and this ranks highly in our opinion and is value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymru1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed for three nights on a business trip. As always with this chain the staff were really friendly and polite. Lots of 'good morning's' and 'hello's' throughout the day. Rooms ok, TV always seems like you press a load of buttons and go through menus galore until you can watch TV. My real bug bare with this place is paying an £15 a day to have wifi in my room. That is boarding on being mean and cheap ... To the point it is putting me off coming back. There are lots of other hotels in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank CaptainFlashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely weekend stay. The hotel was very convenient for the concert we went to at the hydro and the town centre for shopping. We were able to walk to both from the hotel and not use the car at all over the weekend. The hotel staff were all delightful and helpful. Breakfast was fabulous and liked the fact that it was available until 12.00. Our double room was quiet but clean. Dusty in parts but comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: our room was on 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Good deal obtained for a Saturday night in Glasgow made even better by a 1200 breakfast finish and check-out. Room was ok and clean although we had a problem with the toilet flush and a strange knocking sound during the night - guess this reflects other reviews - its not a bad hotel - needs some TLC. If I had paid full wack prob would have been a bit miffed.
Staff were really nice and very friendly at breakfast which makes a change for a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed two nights
Not good value.
Sink and toilet cracked, paint peeling in bathroom.
Moved room, no shaving mirror, extra noisy air-con.

Old room prepared again for next 'visitors', suspect repairs not going to be made.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acorntree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Disappointed in this hotel. We had booked in for a two night stay. The room we were allocated had a cracked sink. There was paint peeling of the bathroom wall with the flakes of paint on the floor. The toilet bowl was badly cracked... It looked at first glance like a giant spider was lurking in there. None of this damage looked new so I am sure the hotel must have been aware of it. After complaining we were moved to the next room, which was better although a magnifying mirror in the bathroom had been broken off and not replaced. The air con / heater had a rattling fan.
On the morning of our departure, we saw the room with the cracked sink, toilet and peeling paint made up ready to be let out again. Not impressed by the Marriottt and would not recommend it.
Oh... And £6 for an hours wifi was a charge I was not prepared to pay to a hotel who thinks it's alright to give guests a room with a broken sink.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mcnabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
3,449 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,202 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,367 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $81 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing