We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellently Located!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Binbrook
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellently Located!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stopped for 3 nights at this hotel over a weekend and were more than happy with its location for access to Glasgow city centre.
A 10 minute walk and you are in the heart of the shopping area around Argyle Street, Buchanan Street and St Enochs Square.
Staff were polite and helpful. If you go hungry at breakfast time then you only have yourself to blame.
Room was a superior one on the 6th floor and even though the M8 motorway is only a stones throw away we were not disturbed by noise.
However, having paid £400 for a 3 night break, being asked to pay £15 for 24 hours internet access is outrageous as is the cost of drinks in the hotel bar--- A large Vodka and Diet Coke with a pint of Guinness cost £13.85p---- way over the odds considering a similar order in a renowned city centre pub, The Horseshoe in Drury Street was only £6.64p.
Come on Marriott, stop penalising people with OTT prices for Internet and drinks!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevegreen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    770
    320
    90
    52
See reviews for
277
640
73
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, the room was spotlessly clean, everything was perfect. Although our room looked over the motorway there was absolute no traffic noise - unless we opened the window! The view from the 10th floor was lovely!
The beds (2 doubles in a twin room!) were really comfortable, and the bathroom was roomy, clean and bright. There was also ample storage for 2 people.
We were there for a Christmas party night and the food was very nice; only down side was the house wine, I've tasted better.
Breakfast in the morning - served till 12 - was delicious and of course there was plenty of it.
An added bonus in my opinion was the 2 o'clock check-in and 12 noon check-out, quite unusual in my experience.
I would definitely recommend the Marriott, I'd I'd be more than happy to go back any time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Lovely hotel, we have stayed here several times and staff are always very friendly and helpful and obliging, the hotel is on the posher side to most Glasgow hotels so if looking for something a bit better in Glasgow choose here or the Marks Hotel as these are both the best in Glasgow. The hotel is very clean and to a high standard, though the bedrooms are on the smaller side for such a big hotel and we have stayed in 3 different rooms and they are all same size. Apart from that hotel is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms are Small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here this weekend and everything was flawless. Quick and friendly check in and out; clean and spacious room; allocated a quiet room on request; great gym; complimentary massage - which I couldn't fit-in but not for want of effort by the staff who tried to re-arrange bookings; and very central location. The hotel is a traditional, destination hotel with a great buzz. I will stay here whenever I am in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Ask at reception for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weelondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
283 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

East check in, very polite etc. Really comfy bed, good shower and towels. Two double beds loads of space, nice toiletries and very reasonable price.

Car parking in the evening for £1 per hour and very convenient for the M8 and airport trip in the morning.

Not a great location for eating out but only 10-15 minute stroll to centre as long as it isn't raining.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank georgegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night and was really very impressed. I was expecting a run of the mill chain hotel and whilst it possibly lacks the character of a boutique hotel it was very much one of the better chain hotels. I think this was one of my first experiences of Mariott and in this hotel, they are doing it well.

The hotel was very busy and other than having to wait and then squeeze into the lifts at peak times, the level if service was never really affected by this.

Breakfast was possibly one of the best I have ever seen - so much on offer and despite it being so busy, the service was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My SO and I only stayed here one night, but it was in a prime location and the service was very welcoming! The people were very friendly and explained to us where the closest places to go were. It's roughly a 10 minute walk to the heart of the city.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Property: Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing