We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - honest review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2012

You get the usual standard for a Marriott, but be aware that it is not centrally located, and the walk along although not too far can become a bit of a chore if you like to shop and pop back to drop off bags. For this reason although we have stayed many times, we will opt for one of the hotels in the centre. We had a heating problem which they could not resolve and it impacted on our eating plans as we had the engineer in room trying to fix it. We complained and eventually go the offer of a complementary in room meal and drink when we returned from concert.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,471 - 1,477 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent hotel. Very clean and spacious room. Every member of staff from the front of house to the waiters were friendly. Massive breakfast (served until 12pm, great if you've been out the night before!!!) Would definitely recommend and will easily go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for one night when in glasgow for gig at Renfrew Ferry. Hotel was in perfect location with only a five minute walk to the venue which was handy. Found hotel to be clean, comfortable and good value for money (booked through bookings.com at reduced rate). Had a good night's sleep in a wonderfully comfortable bed, and breakfast was good, with lots of choice. Would recommend, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A well run modern hotel with friendly staff. We thought our superior room with a nice view good value at £135 per night, but some of the other charges were high. Like your other reviewers I resent being asked to pay £15 per day for internet access – there is no more reason to charge for this than for hot water or TV viewing. Many cheaper hotels don't charge. Wary of this, I've now added a 'hot spot' to my iPhone, so avoid these charges. I also think some of their bar charges over the top – surely it is hard to justify about £9 for a large glass of wine – this must be a 600% mark up – it just encourages you to bring your own supplies. I also felt it poor that the room fridges had been taken out of use – I'm not so worried about the minibar, but it is useful to store some of our own materials (milk, white wine) there. But the hotel did have useful ice machines.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are roomy and seem good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent just one night here after arriving into Glasgow late at night on an overseas flight. The hotel is convenient to the airport. The front desk staff was friendly enough, the room was fine - comfortable and basic for a Marriott. The room service menu was very limited, but food was delivered quickly and hot. The hotel wasn't a disappointment, but it didn't wow me either.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Fossettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff are quite helpful, however the rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment.

Quite simply, I have stayed in better 2/3 star hotels.

For the high price paid, surely you would expect a modern room? Not at all.

Also, the WI FI charges are extortionate. I much prefer the Hilton, which is close by.

I told the reception that I was unhappy with my room and they did not change it/upgrade me. That is a sign of unprofessional-ism. The HILTON would, no doubt, do the same. Even the rickety Millennium Hotel and George Square had better furnished rooms.

If I were you, I wouldn't expect much from this hotel. Old, "granny style" rooms, extortionate WI FI prices and I almost forgot: the leisure area is obviously decades old.

Room Tip: Stay clear...the staff aren't willing to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoverofLuxury7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is our 2nd stay here in 3 years. The staff is excellent, the location 15 min from airport and you can walk into Glasgow City Centre (less than a mile). The concierge level is very convenient- open from 7-10am and again in the evening- for grabbing a quick bite. The fitness center is connected to the hotel and also has an outside entrance as it is a health club for outsiders too. It's not a hotel fitness club, per se but it was fine.
The negatives are that the lighting in the bathroom is terrible. No make up mirror. The blow dryer cannot plug into bathroom. Therefore, you are drying your hair at a desk. Also, Marriott is awful at gouging for internet usage. If you want to pay $15 PER day for internet usage this is the place for you. I resented paying it at this hotel 3 years ago, when so many other hotels had free wifi and thought it would have changed. We will not be staying here again. It's ridiculous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imajerzeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
3,451 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,204 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $82 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing