We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at the Marriott Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Have visited Glasgow a few times this year and usually use the Hilton or Mal Maison however on this occasion due to an event it was the turn of the Marriott.

Very comfortable room and bed although a little noisy which perhaps is what I should have expected being given room 101! Spacious with all the facilities then the room was fine. Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold and the bar area in the evening had a good feel to it.

Took a swim, steam and sauna this morning (Leisure club opens at 6am) to start the day with the pool being a decent size allowing for a good swim.

Not the cheapest rate of the known names in Glasgow but you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 2,008 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel really lives up to what you expect from a Marriott. The rooms are beautifully luxurious, with the welcome baskets of water, fruit and a caramel bar a really nice touch. Food in the Marriott is outstanding; the breackfast buffet is of a brilliantly high quality, with all the food served piping hot and changed regularly so you don't get anything dried out or that has been sitting there for ages. The gym, pool and sauna facilities are great and usually quiet enough to enjoy the place to yourself! The bar downstairs is equiped with helpful friendly staff, and the small touches like the little glass pots of ketchup and mayo really set this hotel and bar above many of its competitors in the area. The room service is also of a very, very high quality and is so good me and my boyfriend actually opted to stay in rather than eat out! I have been back too many times to keep count, and would not stay anywhere else in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited recently on the way to central Scotland to celebrate our first anniversary. We mentioned this to the hotel when booking, and were bowled over by the effort they went to to make our stay enjoyable, including a personalised card signed by staff and a bottle of champagne amongst other things. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful, the room clean, well appointed and quiet with excellent bed and bedding (which I've always been impressed by across the group), and the public areas tasteful and inviting. The only down point is I would say the breakfast wasn't as extensive or of as high a quality as we have experienced in other Marriotts. All in all however I would stay again, and recommend it highly to others.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor at the front, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginger_charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here 28 - 30 September and have never stayed in such a poor Marriott hotel. Rang room service twice to ask for some ice and glasses only to be moaned at on both calls about how busy they are and couldnt i walk and get it myself. When the gentleman finally arrived 30 minutes later he just grunted at me and walked off. The aircon didnt work in the room, the shower head didnt fit the holder so fired the water at the wall not on me. You have to pay £15 a day for wi-fi which is not mentioned on the website. This is a complete rip off as most bed and breakfasts offer free wi-fi, let alone a 4 star hotel!!!
The toilet paper is like sand paper and dont even bother ringing house keeping because they wont even answer the phone!!
Have to say the check in staff and concierge were great but all in it was a really poor stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank CMGtralalalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Fine hotel. Good rate and decent location. But Wi-Fi cost 15 Quid per 24-hour period; which is lame.

If I go into a Starbucks or McDonald's (even some public street corners) they offer me Free Wi-Fi; yet the Marriot felt the need to charge me for it. That's insane.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGrupp10799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was here for a conference, which was an all day event, therefore cannot comment on rooms/sleep experience. The staff at the Marriott Hotel looked after our conference delegates very well, keeping us going with refreshments throughout the day and providing a hot/cold buffet lunch with a good choice of things to suit all tastes. The lasagne was very good, and the sticky toffee pudding...well what can I say - too good!

The decor of the venue is good quality, modern with a touch of luxury without going over the top this makes for a comfortable and relaxing setting. All the facilities (bathrooms, restaurant, conference room) were very clean and we noticed the being busy staff keeping things clean all day long.

All the staff we had dealings with were friendly, polite and responsive. I would have no hesitation to recommend the Glasgow Marriot for business purposes e.g. conferences etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrchidScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott as part of an Insight tour stopover in Glasgow, it was luxury through and through, great central location 10 min walk to Central station and McDonald's for the free wifi. Why is it that it is always the expensive hotels that seem not to offer free wifi where the smaller hotels will. Buffet breakfast fantastic and suited all the travellers requirements. The bedding was beautiful all soft and fluffy. A very busy city with lots of traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,416 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,358 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,173 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $88 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing