We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad at all......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Overall a good place to stay. Service good, reception staff helpful, room very nice apart from the shower. Some hotel showers are poor and if you are 6 feet tall plus then even worse. This shower head at its top position just about reached and it spray was not exactly powerful.
Handy for town centre and business district (10 min walk max) and 15 mins in a taxi from Glasgow Airport. Wifi worked but was very slow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    771
    321
    90
    52
See reviews for
278
642
73
477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Glasgow. The price was fairly reasonable, similar to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow so I was expecting quite a basic room and hotel. We were pleasantly surprised, then, upon entering the lobby which is fairly plush and we were also impressed by the nice spacious bedroom and bathroom and the comfortable beds. It was quite relaxing to come back to the hotel room after a hectic day in the city.

The hotel isn't in the nicest of locations, at the Motorway end of Argyle street and it's a 15 to 20 minute walk to the city centre if you are an average speed walker, passing through Central Station which isn't the pleasantest of areas at night, not particularly dangerous but sad really as there were alot of vulnerable people (i.e teenage girls) begging in the evening. Buses do run along Argyle Street to the hotel, however, and you could always get a taxi if you wanted to. The staff were quite helpful, providing us with directions and maps and bringing lots of tea, coffee, sugar, milk and biscuits when we asked for a couple of teabags as we were only given two.

Breakfast was excellent, in fact it was one of the best breakfast buffets we have experienced in the UK. There was lots of choice including some nice Scottish options such as haggis, potato scones and porridge with Whisky. I was particularly impressed with how our dietary requirements were met. Diabetic jam and soya milk were available on request. When I approached a member of staff regarding being a Coeliac and needing to know which foods were safe for me to eat, I was given 4 slices of nice gluten free bread. The only thing I would mention is that Coeliacs have to avoid foods with have also been cross contaminated with other gluten products or we can become very ill so Coeliacs cannot use the communal toaster. Gluten Free bread is also much nicer to eat when toasted, its a bit disgusting otherwise, so it might be advisable for a dedicated gluten free toaster to be kept in the kitchen and for staff to offer to toast the gluten free bread when they bring it over.

All in all a good stay and I'd stay there again if I was visiting Glasgow.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the stairwell at the far ends of the corridors. We found it pretty noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarian_Mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night, 7th July, everything was excellent. The room was modern, spacious with a big comfy bed. We had a meal/snack in the bar area that was fairly expensive but was good. Breakfast was, we all said and there were about 20 of us in total, one of the best if not the best that we had ever had. Pretty near to the station although we drove and managed to park at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had rooms all over the hotel and they all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed two nights in a standard room. Bed was lovely as was the room temperature and shower. Towels a bit like a motel quality.

Staff were great and very friendly and the food was good.

Location is a bit out of the centre of Glasgow and I you have trouble walking is a taxi ride. The hotel should consider laying on a shuttle bus to the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stay at Marriotts quite often, and this hotel did not disappoint. The lobby area was very nice. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating. The rooms were quite spacious, and the bathrooms were quite nice as well. The hotel is in an excellent location as it is only a couple blocks from Glasgow Central train station. The only real thing that was average was the food, but I do not stay at hotels for their food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roaddogg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Arrived here c10pm following a flight up from Manchester and was warmly welcomed (once I had gone past the olympic security checks as the men's football team were staying in the hotel). Reception explained about the benefits of Marriott Rewards. Was in an Executive Room on the 12th floor, with nice views and welcome gift (Iron-Bru, Tunnocks, Apple & Water).
Room was very comfortable and breakfast in Exec Lounge the next morning was of a good standard.
A great hotel for staying in - will use again as and when needed.

Room Tip: Higher floor for nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopherdoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

we booked on a impulse we got a massage the room for £49 each. It was a great short break!! the massage was so relaxing and they have a lovley pool to visit and gym. The hotel itself is situated in walking distance of the pubs and clubs. The rooms were lovley and the staff were very helpfull!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Property: Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing