We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of ABode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Glasgow
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night to attend the Eric Clapton concert at the SSE Hydro and found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.We had a room on the second floor at the front of the hotel overlooking the main street but there was not a lot of noise.The bedding and towels were spotless but the room itself was a little tired looking with a poorly fitted carpet and frayed curtain linings and the cleaning left a little to be desired.On the plus side there was an almost new iron and board good tea and coffee making facility and toiletries supplied.We got the room at a reasonable rate for central Glasgow but I would not choose this hotel at full price.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor on the street side of the hotel would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davy916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    337
    226
    100
    56
See reviews for
59
516
66
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for an overnight in room 303. This is up high and to the rear of the hotel. As such, any previous criticism of noise wasn't an issue for us. I did hear a neighbour empty bottle bin in early hours but overall can't complain bout being kept awake.
We enjoyed our stay and were happy with room. Staff were nice, bar area seemed OK and quirky lift added to overall impression. Room was fine with big TV and comfy bed, provided you don't mind soft mattress. Good location with city centre 5 mins walk and plenty happening right outside.
Hotels definitely not a 4 star as advertised but its OK for an overnight in city if can get at a decent enough price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cwcallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had a good stay at the Arthouse Hotel Glasgow for 1 night at the end of May through the Friday Deal.
The room was great, very clean, tidy and comfortable. The outside of the hotel is gorgeous, and there was absolutely no problem with noise (we were on the 1st floor). We ordered room service which was lovely.
Great location, just 5 minutes walk to Buchanan Street, Queen Street train station and surrounded by lots of restaurants and cafe's.
Staff were very friendly on arrival and were helpful with any inquiries we had.
There is a taxi rank straight across the road and there is a fixed fare to the airport which, even though it's more expensive, is handy when in a rush.
Overall we had a great stay and would recommend and return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable bed, great tv and coffee in the room. Good bathroom facilities, though not completely clean (a few blonde hairs on the floor and in the plughole; I am not blonde). Very attractive building, great location, very helpful and welcoming staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AuntJarrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

I was really impressed by hotel. Great staff great location. Lovely room totally clean , very comfortable bed.
Then came night time!!
Unbelievably noisy . I have lived next to large busy train station. That was nothing compared to this. I'm writing this at 2.30 am. Can't sleep because of tortuous noise .Sounds like a rave is going on. I have never been so disappointed.
The room window is double glazed but the sound just penetrates it.
No wonder the room was on offer .
Really bad show by the company that owns the hotel.
My wife thought a night in a boutique hotel sounded good as we could just spend a night relaxing going for a meal etc. as I am recovering from major health issue.
I'll probably be exhausted when we check out.
If you are thinking of staying here, bring earplugs! (Even then you'll feel the thumping . Don't know if I'm more angry or disappointed

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

An excellent boutique hotel, handily located right in the centre of town. Professional, friendly and very helpful staff, particularly at Reception, which provided a great start to our vacation in Scotland. Great breakfast, with lots of variety to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Arthouse was our introduction to Europe hospitality. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good - great service. The hotel is located within walking distance of shops, restaurants, entertainment and transportation. The rooms are small compared to the States but as we learned later on our trip, that's normal. The only inconvenience was the halls were very warm but the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 95 in Glasgow
1,400 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Glasgow

Property: ABode Glasgow
Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a coveted spot in the heart of the vibrant city, this classic Edwardian townhouse is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and art galleries making Abode Glasgow ideal for a city break. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Our restaurant offers a tempting array of cocktails to start your evening with style as well as a variety of light meals and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
ABode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing