We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric, quality central hotel”
Review of ABode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Glasgow
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you like your hotels 'chain-free' then I'd recommend the Arthouse which is a stunning conversion of an imposing Victorian building with an amazing central atrium and old fashioned gated lift. Contemporary public spaces and rooms which have just a hint of shabby chic (slightly worn-at-the edges but full of charm furnishings) blended with modern touches (FSTs) and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I was given a huge suite with sofa, chair and what must have been a 30 feet ceiling. Breakfast was impressive with a broad choice of hot Scottish fayre . The staff were friendly and efficient and I liked the casual formality of the place. Would have got five stars from me but I was woken up twice by slamming vestibule doors....

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ybyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

I had a small room and even smaller bathroom (the bath wasn't long enough to lie in). It was also very stuffy, but too noisy to keep the window open all night. The bedroom furniture was cheap and shabby. The paint in the bathroom was yellowing and chipped, and the door stuck. Also, the light above the mirror in the bathroom didn't work.

I'd been seduced by the photos into thinking it was a stylish boutique hotel. But the room was desperately in need of upgrading, and I was very disappointed. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sevyerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have stayed in glasgow on many occasions and this was my 3 rd return visit to the arthouse. . By far the best visit yet . We arrived with 2 other couples to a lovely welcome and a fantastic surprise . Free upgrade to the master suite . The room was huge.. Would always choose the arthouse now over any other and have stayed in all the top name hotels in the city. If you are visiting for a weekend break this is a great location in the heart of the city . Breakfast was amazing as always . Thanks again for the great weekend . Have ticked Execellent fitness please note that I don't think there are fitness facilities but didn't want to tick terrible as I'm. Not 100% sure

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveholidays025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The staff was very helpful and smiling. The cleannes of the room vas very good.
Sleept lika a baby in a cosy bed and linings.
I will defenatly stey there a again .
This was my 4 time to stay and Arthouse:)

Room Tip: rooms that have a window to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank compet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed Sunday until Thursday for work. Central location on the doorstep of everything you could want on a trip to Glasgow. The hotel is lovely with possibly the comfiest beds ever in a hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We booked in here after checking out of another hotel and managed to get The Arthouse within 15 minutes of trying.

Great choice. We were welcomed by the lovely Dylan and his colleague Miss Pollock (sorry don't know her first name) who couldn't do enough for us and made us feel so welcome. They are both a credit to the hotel. Also, more than happy to advise us on the local restaurants and make the necessary reservations on our behalf.

The room was on the third floor and it was just lovely. The building itself is retro, great character and smack bang in the middle of everything - there is a multi storey car park directly opposite the hotel, so no problems with parking either.

We will definitely stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Glasgow.

Room Tip: Any room will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GeeGeesFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked at the last minute.
Hotel front desk was friendly and informative - directing us to a fabulous whisky bar and from there to a Thai restaurant. We had a boozy but wonderful night out.
The hotel's atmosphere is quirky and as the name suggests a bit arty. The room as comfortable with a decent bathroom.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which was fine but I could hear a truck from the bedroom window durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Malmaison Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
1,487 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,322 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,037 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Glasgow

Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $87 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a coveted spot in the heart of the vibrant city, this classic Edwardian townhouse is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and art galleries making Abode Glasgow ideal for a city break. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed dining at Brasserie Abode with brunch, lunch and dinner on offer, or relax with a cocktail in hand at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ABode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
ABode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing