We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step into the abode baby”
Review of ABode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Glasgow
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on business for a change as our normal hotel was full and had never heard of this one but it’s always nice to try new places.

The place oozes boutique character so if that’s your thing you'll love the place, great location on bath street so shops are walking distance and the Q-park is right across the road for the car (a bit pricey but i think the hotel give u a 10% discount) its night rate starts after 6pm and finishes at 8am so fine for business but if there on pleasure I wouldn’t be getting up before 8am to get the cheap parking.

Got an upgrade to an enviable room i think the middle tier one, WOW! High ceiling, loads of space, sofas, REALLY comfy bed beautiful furniture, DVD player, couldn’t fault the room (and I’m a fussy so an so on rooms), back of hotel is nice and quiet with tasty in room snacks.

Only negatives for me were Mr Caines restaurant at the back was closed, not much atmosphere in bar area some like it quiet though I suppose.

Breakfast decent service was pretty snappy, all in all id go back but I like my Hilton points to much. Maybe one for a break with the partner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear pej78,
Thank you for leaving some comments on the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Claire Pollock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

I loved this hotel - quirky and a hotel with a lot of history. Fantastic lift! I believe it breaks down a bit but it must be 80 years old - a real character! Very clean comfortable room, friendly helpful staff, great city centre location and the food was lovely too. No complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneH305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear JayneH305,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel.
Your comments were lovely and were a great boost for the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Regards
Claire Pollock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I endured three nights in an 'deluxe' room (79 pounds per night): at check out I presented a list of a dozen negatives about the room. A buzzing light fitting; bathroom extractor never turned itself off; TV stayed on for seven minutes then turned itself off; general illumination so dim you couldn't work at the desk. I mended the light over the wash basin, and the basin's plug mechanism, myself. The lift has a manual gate, so when someone omits to close the gate, the lift is unavailable.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Peter T,
Thank you for leaving feedback after your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed on ths occasion. If you would like to discuss any of these issue's with me personnally i would be happy to discuss further.
Regards
Claire Pollock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay over new year - extremely friendly, welcoming and efficient staff who looked after us very well. Not their fault the lift was out of action for most of the 2 days or the not very sound proofed bedroom doors or the printer on check out wasnt working but generally worth staying. Great location too but as I said it is nice to be surrounded by genuinely friendly and attentive staff.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brydon_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Brydon_n
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about the hotel.
Unfortunately the lift was out of action for a couple of days during the festive period however we did try our best to ensure everyone was allocated rooms on lower floors to avoid them having to walk up stairs.
I am pleased you felt the staff looked after you well while you were here
Regards
Claire Pollock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Well placed in Bath Street for easy access to Queen St Station, Underground and multiple shopping facilities.
Hotel is a wee bit tired and rooms are drab, the rooms are not particularly welcoming, just one step up from a travel lodge.
On the up side the staff are very helpful and chatty, rooms and bathrooms were clean and bedlinen spotless.
Fortunately it was an offer I booked but if I had paid full price I would have been VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelQueen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear TRavelQueenL,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel.
I am sorry you felt the rooms were not to the standard you expected however we are doing some soft refurbishment of our bedrooms this year amd hopefully this will address some of the issue's you may be talking about.
I hope we can welcome you back to Abode again in the future.
Regards
Claire Pollock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am a regular at this hotel as it is near to the train station and also work. Staff are always acommodating and the breakfast is great. I have eaten there in the evenings also without fault, but would recommend Sartis next door as an exceptional restaurant. The enviable rooms are large and comfortable with everything you need, due to the frequency of visits I am often upgraded free of charge from a standard room which is appreciated. One tip is to book a room at the back of the hotel, as the rooms at the front can be very noisy due to people leaving pubs etc. I especially love the entrance to this place, the old fashioned lift and water feature, it is like staying somewhere out of an old 20's film!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank computer4306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a lovely message about the hotel. The team work very hard to ensure everyones stay is memorable and comments like yours is what they strive to achieve.
Kind regards
Claire and The Team at Abode Glasgow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claire P, General Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,511 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Glasgow

Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $89 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a coveted spot in the heart of the vibrant city, this classic Edwardian townhouse is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and art galleries making Abode Glasgow ideal for a city break. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed dining at Brasserie Abode with brunch, lunch and dinner on offer, or relax with a cocktail in hand at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
ABode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing