We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but a bit felt like I'd been fleeced!”
Review of ABode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Glasgow
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay but a bit felt like I'd been fleeced!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked a Saturday night stay for my wife and I. Paid £159 for a luxury room on a room only basis, same room was £79 any other night of the week. Quite old fashioned but nothing like luxury quite basic compared to nearby 4 star hotels.

Lift was very old fashioned and doesn't look that safe, quite quaint though.

Staff in reception didn't come across as happy to help in fact quite sour faced.
I stay overnight in Glasgow regularly and though this was my first time at the Abode it will be my last.

Room Tip: Don't book a luxury room as the price isn't value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    337
    226
    99
    55
See reviews for
59
516
66
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights recently during the week. Really nice hotel, inner lobby and stairwell fantastic. Rooms good, have everything you need. Central location but DON'T get a room on the front of the hotel. It's on the main road and the noise can be really bad from the street below. On the plus side, breakfast is really good, great choice. There's also a fantastic restuarant just up the road, Sarti, fantastic Italian food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyJoe37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We were put here after the hotel we had booked was over-booked. We were assured this was a lovely 4* boutique hotel but our experience was far from that.

On arrival the front of the building is beautiful and the lobby and lift are lovely but don't let this fool you. Our room (103) was pokey, had last been decorated in the 80s and had no mod cons as I would have expected from a 4* hotel! There were broken plugs, a cracked sink and stains on the curtains. The furniture was awful and the bedside drawers wouldn't shut as they were hanging off the wall at an angle.

During the night we were rudely awoken at 8am by the bin men emptying the glass bin under our window and shouting the usual banter.

On a positive note, breakfast was lovely and the restaurant is very modern and beautiful decorated. Staff were pleasant and very attentive.

I wouldn't recommend paying the £130 for a double room here and we won't be staying here again. My advice to management is to spend the same money and attention to detail as they have on the shared public areas in their rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shegalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

In my experience Abode Hotels have usually been destination Hotels with great Restaurant etc. Glasgow Abode is not one of these. As a place to spend a night on business, as I did, it is only averagely equipped. Lack of a restaurant means you will have to go out. The room I had was a "comfortable" room. The bed was indeed comfortable but the furnishings, carpet, bathroom were tired and no better than a lower end chain hotel. The last point to make is that it that if you are in a room at the front of the hotel expect plenty of noise during the night. There are many late night drinking establishments in the area. I suppose it depends what your reasons for being in Glasgow are but if its a restful, fully provisioned Hotel then I would say the Abode is below par.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Baby Abode Glasgow. We are a Baby Abode therefore we do not have a fully serviced restaurant onsite however we do offer a great room service/residents lounge menu. Alternatively the reception team are more than happy to recommend some fantastic restaurants within walking distance. Unfortunately due to the hotel being in the city centre there can be some noise at night however we have a selection of rooms which face the back or middle of the building which minimises the noise and if requested we would always do our best to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Abode Hotel
Bath Street
Glasgow

Stayed here on Fri 17/11/12.
First impression on walking through the front door was the smell of cooking oil.
Check in was Quick and efficient,
The room and bathroom was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and I must say one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in.

There were a couple of downsides though,

After having a night out with friends we returned back to the Hotel, around midnight and were planning to have a nightcap before retiring, only to be told there was no vodka left and would we like something else!
WHAT!! No vodka in the bar, in Glasgow, Never been heard of!!!
Moving on, in the early hours, you could hear a bit of street activity due to the fact that the windows are only single glazing with glass louvre’s at the top and we got a wee bit of a start when somebody decided it was time to put all the bottles from a nearby bar into a skip.

Comfortable night with a few hiccups!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned following a three night stay at the Abode. We found the hotel to be of a very good standard. Our room, on the second floor was very comfortable indeed, always warm, and the bed as others have already mentioned, was like cottonwool. A good night's sleep was had, even although we overlooked the front of the hotel. The bathroom was clean and spacious, but with only one negative comment, the water was only warm most of the time and the pressure was not so good. It took ages for the hot water to come through. We cannot comment on the food but felt the price for breakfast was a bit steep.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and professional and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job. All in all a lovely stay, and will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0tties28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The entrance is grand and impressive. The staff were friendly and helpful (I was able to check in early).

I was a bit surprised by the strong smell of frying chips throughout the reception and open plan stairwell. My room was okay...although the bathroom was tired and far from stylish. Black grout featured. The wifi and TV were been temperamental and I didn't work out how the room was becoming so hot when the radiators weren't on.
I stayed in a 'comfortable' room.,..it might be worth spending a bit extra if you are looking for something special.

Room Tip: You are in a city there will be some noise in every room..a higher floor might be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 95 in Glasgow
1,395 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Glasgow

Property: ABode Glasgow
Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a coveted spot in the heart of the vibrant city, this classic Edwardian townhouse is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and art galleries making Abode Glasgow ideal for a city break. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Our restaurant offers a tempting array of cocktails to start your evening with style as well as a variety of light meals and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ABode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
ABode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing