We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous suite a bit of a let down”
Review of ABode Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Glasgow
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were staying in abode because of the restaurant and as it was a special occassion. I decided to surprise my ladyfriend with the "best" room in the hotel, the fabulous suite. We were greeted by friendly staff at reception and given a room to get freshened up as we arrived early. They took our bags and sent us in the correct direction of were we were going. I told them we wouldnt be back until later thatnight so dont be rushing the housekeepers on our behalf. When we got back we got our room key and went in the feature lift to the first floor. We went into a large room that at first glance is quite impressive looking. Then as we dropped the bags we started to notice the room didnt seem to be cleaned properly in definitly weeks maybe months. To be exact, the curtains were dirty window sills dusty. A hair in the bath but the bathroom was clean other than that. The view from the bathroom showed a rubbish pile built up on the roof of the lower floor. Two bulbs out. Windows were dirty inside and out. The housekeepers obviously dont be checked. Dvd player didnt work. Breakfast wasnt included.
On the plus we enjoyed the tuckshop basket that was filled each day. The bed was comfy and the room was warm. We didnt mind a bit of road noise. Its not as bad as other reviews.
I usually stay in another hotel around the corner for the same price about two nights per month. I will be thinking strongly about coming back to abode again

Room Tip: Check rooms away from the road. Might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerardc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

After arriving at the hotel, we checked in and went to the room, we found it very odd! We left then to go out in the city, the only advantage in this hotel in our opinion, it being situated right in the centre! We then came back to express how we got a strange feeling right from walking through the doors, We were then told by a member of staff the hotel was defiantly haunted! It really creeped us out further, we are completely UN-superstitious and don't believe in stuff like this!Then we went for a drink in the bar and this member of staff came to us to offer us an upgrade! We went to look at the room and decided we just could not stay! This hotel gave us a feeling unexplainable! We checked out and without being in the room more than 30 minutes, where refused a full refund, but we just couldn't stay! We cannot express our disappointment and utter fright truly!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is super scary!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omgl1, Manager at ABode Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay with us in July this year.

It is with dissapointment that I read your review today on Tripadvisor, some three months after your planned stay.
It is my understanding that my Duty Manager on shift charged you 50% of your stay due to the hotel been fully booked, and us unable to re-sell your room on this particular evening.
The hotel cancellation policy is 4pm day prior to arrival, in line with most hotels within the city.

I will be in touch with you in due course.

Kind Regards

David McLaughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here on business and found it to be a great location, rooms were clean and tidy and staff friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie9761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here for a joint anniversary weekend with our friends. I'll admit that it was not the first choice for us, but it was a fantastic location for our needs. You are five minute from Buchannan Street and round the corner from Two Fat Ladies....possibly the best sea food I've tasted in a while!
The rooms are huge with lovely high ceilings fitting of a building of that age. the quirky old lift is a lovely feature and the art amazing!
The furniture (except the bed) could do with updating as could the bathroom but hey ho!
It would have been lovely to have eaten in the restaurant but our package was room only. Plenty of places for breakfast around the area!
We would all defnitely go back!
Only downside......the room enjoyed the 0600 bottle recycling noise which woke us all up!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just spent 3 nights in the Abode Hotel, which was very comfortable and convenient for all the places we wanted to visit, but no tourist brochures in rooms, directing us to places of interest. As there were 3 of us it it ridiculous that the single person had to pay the same amount as the other 2 who were sharing a room, but this is standard practice, and is outrageous. Breakfast was really nice each morning. Some staff could have smiled a bit more. Muriel. from Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Front of hotel a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank muriel504038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The best thing about this hotel was that we only stayed there for one night. It is easier to summarise the good points: The hotel is situated in a conveniently central location and the staff were friendly and gave us good advise regarding restaurants for dinner. Unfortunately, this is the only good thing that we could say about this place, which I would by no means rate as a 4-star hotel.
Upon arrival, we were advised the way to the staircase. We were informed that the lift was defect at the moment. We must have looked rather puzzled, so the concierge said she could get someone to assist us with our luggage if we needed some help. In a four-star hotel I would expect there is by default someone to help arriving guests with luggage when the lift is not functioning, rather than putting the customer in the position of having to ask for it. Of course we did not ask for it, we did not want to appear fuzzy. When we entered the room, it smelt like someone had dumped a barrel of petrol in it. We called reception and were told to close the windows and leave the AC on, then it should improve. It did not, despite the receptionist coming to fumigate the room with room spray. Even on the next morning, the same headache-provoking scent was still present. We then tried to get internet access to look some stuff up (free wireless connection had been advertised), but could not make it work. Reception could not help either. Ultimately, the hotel manager came and tried to solve it by diving behind the furniture and performing some rather experimentally appearing action with the abundance of cables hidden in it. Ultimately, she could not make it work either.
The room as such was somewhat of a weird mixture. Some elements, like the carpet and the bed were in immaculate state and appeared to be rather new. Other things in contrast were rather old and worn-down. For instance, one could tell from the brownish-yellow colour of the silicon sealing in the bathroom, that this was still from a long, long time ago, back in the days were one was still allowed to have a smoke in the bath tub. I am not going into more details, but the "highlight" of a dodgy bathroom was the large patches of mold in the shower. Inacceptable!
We had booked room type "comfortable", and while I appreciate that this might entail not being provided with the gem amongst the hotel's rooms, I would at least still have expected a mold-free bathroom and not having to feel like sleeping next to the fuel dispenser at BP. I am clearly positive we could have found a far better place for the same price in Glasgow. Certainly, we will try elsewhere next time in this city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XPrometheusX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We were impressed with the Abode Hotel in Glasgow on most points: it is very centrally located - only a few minutes' walk to everything in the centre and old part of the city - and the rooms are large - a pleasant surprise, as it's been our experience that hotel rooms and bathrooms tend to be much smaller than North American counterparts. The front staff were friendly and helpful. The old elevator and gold-leaf embossed lions up the lobby walls add to the charm. The only downside is that the hotel is noisy. Based on previous reviews that suggested taking a back room to avoid the noise from out front where there are a couple of restaurants/bars, we requested a room at the rear. It was still very noisy, with recycling trucks in the middle of the night and the sounds of partying. It didn't make our stay unpleasant, it's just worth knowing.

The hotel makes much of its association with the 'Michael Caines Restaurant', which is downstairs. We had breakfast there and dinner and gotta say that while breakfast was fine, the dinner was nothing special - considering all the hype. The food was average. The restaurant itself is cafeteria-like, with plywood tables and uncomfortable booths. It really wasn't a treat. The serving staff, however, were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbunny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,508 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,366 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,075 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Glasgow

Address: 129 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2SZ, Scotland (Formerly The Arthouse Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $87 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a coveted spot in the heart of the vibrant city, this classic Edwardian townhouse is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and art galleries making Abode Glasgow ideal for a city break. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed dining at Brasserie Abode with brunch, lunch and dinner on offer, or relax with a cocktail in hand at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Abode Hotel
ABode Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing