We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed May 22, 2007

The Carlton George is one of those little gems. Motivated by the positive reviews here, my wife and I stayed there for two nights on a business trip. The staff could not have been more courteous, whether in reception, the maids or in the restaurant. We were invited to dinner by clients and could, therefore, not sample the food. But if the breakfast is anything to go by it must be of a very high quality. The executive rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location is as central as it gets, being barely 200 yards from George Square and next door to Queen Street train station (no worries, you won’t notice inside the hotel).

Of course, this is quite new so everything still looks fresh, which adds significantly to the overall positive impression. As hotels notoriously suffer abuse by clumsy guests, it will have to be seen how all this will hold up in a few years time. No matter, right now this is a definite recommendation. Don’t put up with the sterility of the usual big name hotels. At the Carlton George they are terribly old-fashioned – they still care (which is, I believe, called Customer Service). Go on, treat yourself.

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Peterbilt_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    502
    153
    50
    41
See reviews for
175
943
67
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our anniversary and had an executive room which was part of the 'romance and roses' package I had booked directly with the hotel. This is a nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff in a really good location (particularly if you like to shop!). The restaurant has some lovely views, the breakfast buffet is one of the best we've had and offers something for everyone. The room was okay and had a nice big comfortable bed, however, it would benefit from a little TLC as some of the furniture was a bit tired and dusty (this did disappoint me a little bit as I would have expected better for the rate), but otherwise it was fine.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Comet_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of May 2007.

Arriving by car is slightly hair-raising and we had an inside room which was very noisy with the window open. However we liked pretty well everything else about this hotel. It is perfectly located in the centre of Glasgow's best shopping district with the underground a short step way, it was not expensive but there was no penny pinching (the mini bar was free), the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable, the bath a generous size and the breakfasts were smashing. We will certainly come again.

  • Liked — The bath
  • Disliked — The noise of the air-conditioning
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RMansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

I was a bit disappointed with our stay. I think the main problem was that the hotel is located on a busy street. It was saturday night when we stayed and there was so much noice of people going out, getting drunk, sirens etc. that it was hard to sleep. We had to keep the windows closed, but the airconditioning did not work properly so it was stuffy in the room.

The rooms are nice and big. The bathrooms also clean and fine.
We had a meal in the hotel restaurant, which actually was very good and good service.

So if you like to be in the centre of Glasgow then you are fine in this (somewhat business like) hotel, but otherwise you are better off looking for a hotel in a more quiet location.

  • Liked — big rooms, nice shower
  • Disliked — noisy, stuffy room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

A very central location, handy for restaurants and shopping and just a short walk from the train station. Nicely decorated, (it was very hot but the air conditioning was efficient, if a little noisy) with robes and slippers provided, not to mention the free booze.

The service could have been better at breakfast, we had to ask for butter, milk, cups, etc. and the restaurant wasn't busy.

I would definitely go again, we stayed for three nights at £112 per night including breakfast.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — view from the window
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bed'n'Brek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

Having read the Tripadvisor reviews of this hotel I was keen to stay there. However I was very disappointed. The hotel has an original frontage but the back is modern and built around a small lightwell containing noisy air conditioning /extractor fan machinery running the depth of the 7 storey building. Hence on arriving in my room I was immediately struck by the darkness, small size of the room and the constant humming of the machinery. (Through double glazed window) I asked to be moved but was told I`d need to pay £20 per night more. I was also told that the noisy machinery stopped at 10.30 so I would be able to sleep. This was completely untrue.
The room itself was pretty shabby. It had once been smartly decorated but yellow and tartan are ambitious as colour schemes unless well kept.
The only good bit of my stay was the breakfasts. The dining room was lovely (bit shabby furnishings again). Staff pleasant and efficient and the food was good.
In summary, never again. I was there for work purposes and needed a good nights sleep in pleasant surroundings. I had neither at the Carlton George. I can only assume that the much vaunted free booze is to distract people from their surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank nippysweetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jantiene, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2007
Thanks for your comments and so sorry to hear things weren't so good. It is sometimes difficult to get a balanced perspective on things but it doesn't come across at all well and I would recommend picking up the phone and talking this through.

Jantiene Berg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

My daughter and partner have stayed at the George twicwe and still rave about it. So we had to give it a try. Booked for 2 nights (Sat & Sun) £99 per executive room per night breakfast inc. From the outset we were impressed. Staff friendly and helpful. Our room (403) seemed a bit small when we first entered, but due to its 'L' shape, it was a good size. As already mentioned by all other subscribers the complimentary Gin Whisky and Sherry were there along with the mini-bar. Exec Lounge was very convivial. The in-house movies cost £6.99 but were up to date.
Breakfast on Sunday morn was a bit busy with the buffet, but on Mon. morn it was table service and much more laid back. Met friends who were staying in another good quality hotel and compared notes. No competition! £20 a night dearer and no free drink.

  • Liked — Polite and helpful staff. Rooms. Complimentary drinks
  • Disliked — If I had taken the car it would have been the parking. Took the train instead.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank slicer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
714 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,899 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,128 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing