We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and convenient stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and convenient stay.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We found the hotel to be the most convenient for our onward journey to Oban by rail from Glasgow Queen Street. We took an executive room giving us access to a lounge and a mini bar which we considered to be sensibly stocked. The room was well appointed and comfortable and the room price included WI-FI. We found that the air conditioning also worked effectively which is not always the case. My wife and I are used to sleeping in a cool room. We booked a DBB rate and enjoyed a pleasant meal in the Rooftop Restaurant which offered us an interesting view over the Glasgow city skyline and of the Lesser Blackback Gulls nesting on the roof opposite. :-) The staff were attentive and courteous and check in and check out was efficiently accomplished. We left the hotel feeling rested and relaxed and ready to continue our holiday. I guess that is what the hotel would consider a job well done. Based on our experience I am certainly happy to recommend the hotel to other guests.

Room Tip: Worth taking an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Barthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review Mr Barthorpe,

I'm delighted you had such a pleasant experience. The Gull chicks are growing fast!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    500
    149
    50
    38
See reviews for
171
923
66
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Why don't more hotels give you the option to upgrade and get free in-room bar and goodies, plus access to the Executive Lounge where drinks are free? This made our evening night caps a real pleasure, and gave us a chance to talk with other guests. Our room was very comfortable, the staff helpful. Once we figured out how to open the windows, the room was nice and cool for sleeping. I would certainly come back to this hotel on another trip to Glasgow.

Room Tip: George Street is a busy place, but we slept fine even with some weekend partying going on at the pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Beadil,

I'm pleased that you appreciated the little extras in your room and made use of the Executive Lounge, it is an excellent place to meet other guests and relax.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent location! Train station is only a three minute walk around the corner and excellent shopping close by. Clean, hotel, elegant rooms, free wifi, free mini bar and free luxury lounge. For $125 GBP, it's a steal of a deal. Would stay again in a heartbeat. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for the kind words Lisa, I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked afternoon tea with a glass of prosecco at the Carlton George Hotel for my mums' s birthday. Afternoon tea was out of this world it was so delicious. The staff where so helpful, polite and nothing was a problem. I would recommend afternoon tea to anyone. I will definitely be coming back for afternoon tea with my mum and sister.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Eilidh,

I'm pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea. It has proved very popular, the cakes are great!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, ID
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

While not the main reason I booked this hotel, I couldn't help noticing that our room would have a free minibar and access to a free bar. Unbelievable, but it proved to be true. The bar was a pleasant place to sit and read, and you could have anything you wanted to drink at no charge. (True, I wouldn't try to order anything very grand, such as French champagne.) Even in the room, I appreciated the free sodas and water, and after a day or two I noticed that the corner cabinet actually held decanters of gin and whiskey. The room was otherwise comfortable, and the hotel is very centrally located. They throw tickets for free drinks at neighboring pubs at you, but Glasgow is such a drinking town that it's difficult if not impossible to get a seat at a pub, day or night. It was nice to be so close to the main square, and we bought two day tickets on the Hop On Hop Off bus tour, to see the rest of Glasgow. There is also a huge pedestrian shopping district nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for the kind words.

We are known for our hospitality in Scotland so wanted to go that little bid further and provide complimentary drinks for our guests. Delighted to hear that it is appreciated!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Thankyou to all the staff for making my 50 th birthday so special , the customer service was second to none friendly helpful and polite . They very kindly upgraded me and my sister because it was my birthday which was so lovely , The location of the hotel is perfectly placed so near to everything . The nice touches added to are stay free mini bar and decanters excellent ! Also being able to have your breakfast in your room worked really well for us . This was my first time in Glasgow and really loved it as did all my friends without any doubt we will be back and I will be staying at the carlton George :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffron13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Saffron,

I'm delighted that you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and that you and your friends had such a good time in Glasgow.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton-le-Fylde, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here again April on our first wedding anniversary as we just love Glasgow for shopping and the night life and to be honest just can't stay away as this hotel has it all! Great staff, service, location, rooms and food. The only problem is when are we going to find time to come back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minilady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Happy Anniversary! I do hope you find the time to arrange another trip to Glasgow soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,105 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,648 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing