We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
$126
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$113
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$167
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argyll Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$57
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassador Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$53
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelvingrove Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$53
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Apex City of Glasgow Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$80
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Belhaven Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$102
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,960)
Filter reviews
1,960 results
Traveler rating
1,144
552
165
55
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,144
552
165
55
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barthe executive loungewindows restaurantrooftop restaurantgin and vodkawaxy o'connorstartan slippersclub roomcomplimentary drinkscrystal glassesgeorge squarequeen street stationtop floorthe air conditioningtrain stationsuperior roomcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,126 - 1,131 of 1,960 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with hopes of luxury however a level of disappointment via the staffs erratic responses, one particular man on reception only said hello on the 4th attempt we passed at reception looking for a curtious greeting
The room was clean and obviously high standard if decoration however a touch bland and without flair. The additional mini bar and alcoholic beverages were nice touches but would require substantial abuse to level the room cost
Food in the Windows Restaurant was good and well priced though some money could be spent to refresh the decor
I would recommend the breakfast in bed option, great food and service and lovely service from the staff - could not fault this great touch
The executive lounge is lovely and nice to relax if you can get a seat by the open fireplace. Service here was great with bright smiling staff who couldn't have been more helpful
Overall we felt this stay was overcharged but it's location cannot be argued for ease of access to the fun of Glasgow city centre

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanyboi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

I was surprised to read that my team on reception were not as friendly as they could have been, as you can see from the majority of guest reviews, we generally get really positive comments regarding hospitality. I do hope you will consider staying again in the future.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel "weekender" break for a theatre break.
Arrived at hotel and had an easy check in to our executive room. Our room was facing the back of the hotel. Interesting mini bar and drink in decanters. Bathroom functional, although sink slow to drain.

We dined in the windows restaurant on Friday night. The restaurant wasn't really busy, and it's quite small. Our issue wasn't with the food, the service was slightly erratic, if somewhat a little disorganised. Food was nice, wine was nice £20 a bottle of Pinot Grigio. Great views.

Hotel is in a great location, and our room offered the option for the executive lounge. We used it in the evening which was a fun area to chill in after a long day.

Room has all you need, was spacious. Air con worked meekly, but seemed to cool if left on all the time. Decor ok, gives an impression of grandeur. Bed was comfy and really large.
Toiletries in the bathroom were nice. The towels were lovely and thick! Hair dyers could do with updating, they are not very powerful, so pack your own if you use one.
We never used the complementary wifi as get 4G on my mobile.
Probably not our choice of hotel, lacked what we would normally go for, gadgets and modern chic.
Staff friendly, bar one, but then there is always one eh?

We missed breakfast one morning but had breakfast "in bed" on Sunday. Good choice from breakfast menu and we were happy with it. Arrived bang on time slot requested, with what we wanted.

Ease of check out and £10 parking for 24 hours in Buchanan Galleries car park.

Worthy of a repeat visit? Possibly, the executive lounge would be nice for family / friends to enjoy a night cap or 2.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JohnDSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear John,

I'm glad you found your stay comfortable. I understand that our hotel is not to everyone's tastes, we try to aim for all the comforts of home, delighted you liked the executive lounge.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We hadn't stayed at Carlton George for a couple of years and decided to give it a go.
The rooms have been refurbished since we last stayed. They are well appointed and clean, the beds are comfortable and the bathroom good with large fluffy towels.
Staff were friendly enough but service could be better at breakfast. Cereal bowls/plates weren't lifted off the table on any of the three days we were there, so we hadn't much room and when I asked for Weetabix the waitress apologised and said they didn't have any? Strange. What would Alex Polizzi say?
We will return though, as the hotel is in a great position for shopping, airport bus, etc. and we won't let these little things put us off. Hopefully they'll be rectified on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Misslyons,

Thanks for the review. I have added notes to your guest profile to ensure we have Weetabix for your next stay.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a lovely 3 nights in this centrally located hotel. You could almost miss the entrance from outside but when inside the staff are excellent from reception to housekeeping to the lovely girls serving drinks in the executive lounge. We paid extra for executive lounge access which includes unlimited hot drinks during the day & free alcohol from 17.00 to 22.45 every night. You also get complimentary mini bar & complimentary decanters in your room. Our room was large,spotless & very nicely decorated with a scottish theme with a good sized bathroom - the only gripe being the view - or lack of it, all we could see was other bedroom windows & an office next door & could only tell what the weather was doing when we went outside, This meant the room was very dark & needed artificial light at all times and if you opened the window all you could hear was the central air conditioning unit day & night. The executive lounge was a lovely place to sit at any time, being up on the 7th floor & did have windows! - I'm not sure where you would sit & relax if you didn't have executive lounge access? Breakfast was self service but a good selection of hot & cold items & we ate in the 7th floor windows restaurant one night which again was good but not an extensive menu. There are 2 small terraces outside the 7th floor restaurant if the weather is good. Apparently the afternoon tea there is good but we went to the willow tea rooms so didn't try theirs as well. Overall a very good hotel with just the lack of view & minor points stopping me giving it an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade to get executive lounge access
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkslass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Yorkslass3,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I'm pleased that you were generally happy during your stay. Being a city centre hotel the views form the bedroom can be quite urban, next time book a front facing Club room, or perhaps one of our balcony rooms.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a few days off unexpectedly and decided to visit our daughter, who is a student at Glasgow University. We got a great deal at short notice at the Carlton George, and had a fantastic two night stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the person at the desk had an excellent sense of humour. The room was perfect for the price, and the decanters of whiskey, gin and vodka a pleasant surprise. Lovely bath room, with a proper sized bath. Breakfast was excellent, with the added bonus of a wonderful view across the roof tops (and on our second morning people abseiling off the roof next door to clean windows!)

And of course the location is amazing, bang in the middle of one of the most exciting cities I know! We walked everywhere, and after a meal out in Hillhead, caught the subway back to the hotel, door to door. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ChCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear ChCath,

I was delighted to read that you had such a great time. With your daughter studying in Glasgow, The Carlton George can be your 2nd home!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews