We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Have been to this hotel on numerous occasions and cannot fault it. The staff couldnt have been friendlier, nothing is too much trouble..a fantastic hidden gem central to the shops and nightlife. Waxys next door has a great atmosphere ...

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thanks for leaving us another review D J,

It is always good when a repeat guest leaves us with such positive feedback.
I do hope to be able to say hello on your next visit.

Regards

Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Booked for a Sunday night for business. Arrived after dark so cannot speak to comments about rooms not being ready, as ours were. Hector and staff were very welcoming and upgraded us to their Executive Lounge on Floor 7, which was a very relaxing place with access to free drinks and nibbles. My room on the 5th Floor was very clean, well appointed, large and with a free minibar (most welcome). Staff are very friendly. Location was superb, a minute's walk from Exchange Square and loads of good bars and restaurants (and sadly for me and my wallet, the Casino at the Corinthian!). Breakfast very nice and served on the Windows restaurant area which is light and airy and gives you a nice view of the Glasgow skyline.
UPSIDES: Location, value for money, staff friendliness, cleanliness, large rooms, good bathrooms, Hector.
DOWNSIDES: The room was very hot and as a technology-idiot, I couldn't figure out how to use the aircon so slept with the window open; no noise at all. Overhead lights weren't working and the TV was too small to be that far from the bed.

Room Tip: Inside rooms were very quiet; on a Sunday night I'm sure balcony rooms would have been fine too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Philip,

Thanks for your review. I hope the losses at the Corinthian weren't too painful!

Regards

Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent Easter Sunday night at the hotel with family. We arrived early and left our bags with the friendly reception staff. When we returned at two o'clock only one room was ready. Our daughter had booked a balcony room and had to wait until it became available, we all went to my room. When she return to reception to book in she couldn't use her credit card because she didn't have a PIN number. A trip back to our room and she got another card and managed to book in successfully almost an hour after check in time on the web site.

Our room was dark as we were close to the building next door. Nothing that stronger light bulbs wouldn't sort out. The toilet was lovely and clean and the bed soooo comfy.

Mini bar was well stocked and the decanters were a nice touch.

We had dinner from the prize fixe menu and it was lovely. Soup, pate and gots cheese tart were our starters and mains were flattered fish, mixed grill, pasta and a selection of sweets. Four plates cleared in jig time.

We retired to the executive lounge and had a grand evening.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Bacon was undercooked to my liking and the black pudding was tasteless. Everything else was fine and there was a fair selection on the continental table.

Can't wait until my next long weekend off so I can return

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi Hamish,

Thanks for the feedback, it is always good to get such a balanced review to enable us to make any necessary changes to our service and product offering. I'm sorry that check-in was delayed, let me know when you are coming back and I'll arrange an early check-in.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just had a girls weekend at this hotel. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Hector, Tony and all the other staff work so hard to make your stay something special. The rooms were spacious and absolutely spotless. The food in the hotel was top class and both the evening meal and breakfast were amazing. We particularly enjoyed relaxing in the executive lounge with our drinks and the young lady serving us our drinks couldn't do enough for us. We also had afternoon tea and champagne which was excellent value.This hotel is perfectly situated and terrific value for money. I will definitely be returning very soon .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Hazel,

I'm pleased that my team looked after you so well, they are fantastic. Afternoon tea appears to be back in fashion, the Champagne does add an extra special touch! I do hope you and your friends will visit us again.


Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Do not stay here if you need wheelchair access!
The "accessible" room we were given had a step up to the bathroom and the shower was over the bath. 307 was apparently the only "accessible" room they had.
It is not possible to pull in at the front door and the car parking is a good 5min walk
The footpath at the entrance was dug up while we were there and I was told a ramp would be provided for the wheelchair which never appeared.
The view from our room was a brick wall.
There was an extractor fan for the restaurant next door just outside the room window which was really noisy and ran all night. The room was very hot and because of the noise we couldn't open the window but when we turned on the air conditioning it was very noisy as well.
After I complained we were offered room 507 which was 2 floors above with the same extractor fan outside and the noise was even worse so it was no advantage to move. Apparently there were no other rooms available.
The TV signal disappeared on Tuesday afternoon and still hadn't been repaired when we left on Wednesday.
What was supposed to be a relaxing break turned into a very stressful few days!

Room Tip: There are no accessible rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M.Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear M Ross,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Apologies that the accessible room was not suitable for your needs, I will certainly look to make some alterations when we ar erefurbishing our bathrooms.
I am sorry that the roadworks inconvenienced you, unfortunately the footpath has been in need of upgrading for some time and has taken the local council longer than planned.
We did have an issue with the TV signal that has now been rectified. Apologies that all these things led to a disappointing stay. I was happy to have been able to speak with you in person before you left the hotel.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

my husband and i recently stayed here for one night, we booked it as part of our honeymoon. Great location very easy to find, a stones throw away from queen street station, (we travelled by train but it was central station, which is literally a 5 min walk!)
Exterior of the hotel is lovely, we noticed it was right next door to waxy o'connors and originally thought it would be very noisy, its anything but, its a very quiet and peaceful hotel.
Reception staff were lovely and explained everything to us, we booked a package which included our dinner, we ordered this to the room and it was a beautiful meal, limited choices though which ment we both only had a main course, would have liked to have 3 courses.
The room was spacious and very clean, big bed which was very comfy and complementary mini-bar is always a bonus! the hotel also provided a voucher for a free drink in waxys next door (stunning place as well, really recommend this one) and for hortons bar which is about a 5 min walk away.
We had breakfast in the glasshouse restaurant which is beautiful! good food, fantastic, attentive staff and a lovely view!

only complaints i would have is the dinner menu could have more choices as not everyone eats fish or cheese boards (starters and dessert)
and when u book ask for a room with a view, our view was other peoples rooms which ment our curtains were shut for privacy for the duration of the stay. and the room is pretty dark, even with the lights on.
but overall we had a lovely time and will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view, our view was other peoples rooms which ment our curtains were shut for p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloggs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

I was delighted to read that you booked our hotel as part of your Honeymoon- congratulations!
I do hope you will come back for your anniversary.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed recently for 2 nights on a business trip. This centrally located hotel does full justice to the range of positive reviews on this web-site.
The reception staff were professional and very welcoming, the rooms are finished to a very high standard and the executive lounge is a nice touch which allowed a small group of us to relax after a busy day of meetings.

I did not try the evening meal and the menu seemed a little limited. However, breakfast was good. There was a wide range of hot and cold choices and a good view over the city.

I have 2 minor niggles - but they should not affect your enjoyment. My bedroom was a little on the dark side and looked down onto an internal service areas. Second, it was a bit of a struggle to find switches to all the lighting.

However, this is a very good hotel and I hope to use it again when I am next in Glasgow

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear enquest,

I'm pleased that you had a very positive first experience of the Carlton George, if you want to contact us we could look into setting up a corporate rate for you for future stays.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,132 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
919 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $111 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing