We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Shotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“brilliant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

my husband and i recently stayed here for one night, we booked it as part of our honeymoon. Great location very easy to find, a stones throw away from queen street station, (we travelled by train but it was central station, which is literally a 5 min walk!)
Exterior of the hotel is lovely, we noticed it was right next door to waxy o'connors and originally thought it would be very noisy, its anything but, its a very quiet and peaceful hotel.
Reception staff were lovely and explained everything to us, we booked a package which included our dinner, we ordered this to the room and it was a beautiful meal, limited choices though which ment we both only had a main course, would have liked to have 3 courses.
The room was spacious and very clean, big bed which was very comfy and complementary mini-bar is always a bonus! the hotel also provided a voucher for a free drink in waxys next door (stunning place as well, really recommend this one) and for hortons bar which is about a 5 min walk away.
We had breakfast in the glasshouse restaurant which is beautiful! good food, fantastic, attentive staff and a lovely view!

only complaints i would have is the dinner menu could have more choices as not everyone eats fish or cheese boards (starters and dessert)
and when u book ask for a room with a view, our view was other peoples rooms which ment our curtains were shut for privacy for the duration of the stay. and the room is pretty dark, even with the lights on.
but overall we had a lovely time and will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view, our view was other peoples rooms which ment our curtains were shut for p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloggs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I was delighted to read that you booked our hotel as part of your Honeymoon- congratulations!
I do hope you will come back for your anniversary.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    476
    139
    44
    36
See reviews for
161
848
56
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed recently for 2 nights on a business trip. This centrally located hotel does full justice to the range of positive reviews on this web-site.
The reception staff were professional and very welcoming, the rooms are finished to a very high standard and the executive lounge is a nice touch which allowed a small group of us to relax after a busy day of meetings.

I did not try the evening meal and the menu seemed a little limited. However, breakfast was good. There was a wide range of hot and cold choices and a good view over the city.

I have 2 minor niggles - but they should not affect your enjoyment. My bedroom was a little on the dark side and looked down onto an internal service areas. Second, it was a bit of a struggle to find switches to all the lighting.

However, this is a very good hotel and I hope to use it again when I am next in Glasgow

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear enquest,

I'm pleased that you had a very positive first experience of the Carlton George, if you want to contact us we could look into setting up a corporate rate for you for future stays.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed here for three night and was quite happy.
We had a hire car with us and the parking in a nearby parking garage was cumbersome.Other than that the location at downtown Glasgow is great.
The room was okay but the bathroom a bit small.
My first room developed a problem with the lock on the window so it couldn't be closed. The staff tried to fix it it but were not successful so I was given another room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackStoneTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for the review BlackStoneTH,

We do have a great location. I'm happy that my team got you moved efficiently. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Carlton George in the future.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great location when travelling without car, large and comfortable rooms, free drinks in the bar, good breakfast. What more can you want... stayed her for several 1 night stays now when in Glasgow on business and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I'm delighted that you think we have a brilliant hotel, I do too!
I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend and opted for the Club room. It is worth paying the extra for access to the lounge - we were £450 including breakfast. We were in room 410.

Free mini bar in the room with 2 small bottles of wine, various juices, some biscuits & water, crisps and the 3 decanters. The decanters were Gin, Vodka and Whisky with enough in them for about 2 drinks - but they were re-stocked daily, nice touch.

The free lounge, available from 5-10.45 was lovely relaxing place to get a drink before heading out. We were given wine and bowls of sweets and nibbles.

The room is very spacious and clean, very comfortable large bed. The view isn't much, you are looking straight onto an office block (not really George Square) and you can see yourself in the reflective glass.
Dressing gowns and slippers - although the dressing gowns were gone on our last day/night??
Iron and ironing board, safe, iPod dock, tea/coffee, large desk and good selection of TV channels including Sky Sports. BT sport was also listed but didn't work.
Nice toiletries also replenished every day.
One other nice feature is they don't charge you extra to have breakfast in your room so we opted for this. Full Scottish was lovely great start to a day.

Location - perfect - 2 mins walk from Queen Street Station - great location to walk to everywhere you need in Glasgow with plenty bars, shops and restaurants on your doorstep. The SECC/Hydro is about a 20/30 minute walk.

Staff - everyone we dealt with was lovely - especially the lady in the lounge that topped up our wine :-)

We were also given vouchers for free drinks in Waxy O'Connors next door.

Everything was perfect BUT we had a room that was a joining room and we could literally hear every word said by the couple next door and we could even smell the aftershave that was used. We had our iPod on during the day in the dock provided by the hotel, the music wasn't loud at all but the couple next door were banging on the door - they could obviously hear everything going on in our room as much we could theirs. Not great.

Will come back but would ask for a room that is not joining to another.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Kelsrae,

Thanks for the lovely comments, I'm pleased that you appreciated the executive lounge and that my team looked after you. Being in the city centre the views are of the Glasgow architecture, with some fantastic buildings visible.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Maanger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were treated to a night here by relatives - and what a treat. The desk staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful, the room good and the free drinks a very pleasant surprise. In the room is a little cabinet with crystal decanters containing gin, whiskey and vodka, from which you are free to help yourself; mixers (and beers) in the free minibar, also some wine. Nice crystal glasses to use and staff will bring ice to the room on request. Good breakfast and, again, really friendly and helpful staff - also nice to sit by the window and take in the view of the city (the dining room is on the 7th floor) while we ate.

Moreover, the location is excellent - just off Buchanan Street, near the Underground entrance and just around the corner from Queen Street station (and taxi rank). There is also a bus stop just outside at which you can usually get a bus to the airport, but when we stayed there were road works being carried out, so this was not in use. We did take advantage of the parking deal the hotel has with the car park at Buchanan Galleries (a two minute walk from the hotel) - only £10 for 24hrs which, for a city centre, is really reasonable

Room Tip: Do visit the pub attached to the hotel - Waxy O'Connors. Spread over several levels with multip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morag o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for the review Morag,

You'll be glad to hear that the roadworks are complete, our pavement has been levelled and widened- much better for access now.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here in March for an overnight in Glasgow with my wife . Hotel is central for everything shops,bars,restaurants Queen street station but not much noise.From booking in to our departure reception staff were helpful and polite our room was spotless loved the very comfy king size bed also the well stocked mini bar and decanters half full with Gin,Whisky and Vodka which went well with the mixers from mini bar you also get vouchers for a couple of bars discount drinks. We didn't book breakfast so cant comment on that maybe next time as we will book again next time we stay over.

Room Tip: Book the slightly dearer rooms free bar on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gourocktourists2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Gourocktourists,

I'm delighted that you liked our hotel. You aren't too far away, so please come back soon!

Regards

Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing