We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Glasgow”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife has been booked in here for work many times and I finally got to stay with her and what a treat! Incredibly welcoming, outstanding decor and food and very helpful staff. Perfect location A++++

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Damian V,

Hopefully you can travel again with your wife!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    500
    149
    50
    38
See reviews for
171
923
66
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen UK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay in Carlton George because of excellent central location near to George Square and hence plenty of eating places nearby. Comfortable executive lounge with sufficient choice of drinks but possibly a little short on nibbles. The quiet spacious king bed accommodation had free mini bar and other decanters of spirits in room. Helpful friendly staff except maids in the morning who insist on tapping noisily on your door to check if you have left yet.
One negative aspect, as we have found in other hotels, is the noisy door closing. No matter how hard one tried it was impossible to close doors quietly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KenTripUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for the valuable feedback. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

great location, warm friendly welcome.

we stayed for the Christmas shoppers package which included entrance to the executive lounge with complimentary drinks and afternoon tea followed by an excellent breakfast the next day.

The hotel room was clean and comfortable as was the hotel in general.

we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macstorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for the review. Delighted that your stay was so positive.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was the second time staying at the Carlton George and the rooms just as lovely as the first time and the bed comfortable and clean. The staff were all welcoming, friendly and helpful. The only downside was the breakfast, it had been lying for a while, all items were dried out and when asked for soft fried eggs, after quite a wait,(restaurant was empty) we eventually received them and they were hard. Over all we did enjoy our visit and would probably return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineMarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Catherine,

I was pleased to read that your stay was a generally positive experience. Please accept my apologies for the lapse in breakfast service.


Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The front of house reception was as warm as the log fire located as you enter this hotel. The staff were efficient and very friendly and keen assist. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was not as firm as most hotel beds - but that may suit some folks. The breakfast service was again efficient and friendly. Great views from the 'Windows' restaurant. The breakfast options were plentiful - more so than at most hotels. I particularly enjoyed having the numerous options for a hot breakfasts. Great central location to main shopping areas, restaurants and public transport. I won't be looking elsewhere when booking my next Glasgow stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for the kind review.
I do like the picture of our Christmas tree you posted!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for one night on the Christmas shopper package, which included B&B, access to the executive lounge and afternoon tea.
Afternoon tea was very ordinary and not that great. Sandwiches must have been sitting out for some time as they were starting to go hard. The pastries may have come from the freezer!
The room that were allocated overlooked fans and they noise from them was disturbing if you want a good nights sleep. Overall I found the room quite old fashioned and in need of an upgrade. Only modern item in it was the TV. Free drinks were the highlight of the stay. Although I had to ask twice for the decanters in the room to be filled! The drinks in the executive lounge were plentiful and the wine was quite nice as were the nuts. It appeared to me that some of the guests "brought their friends in to avail of the free drinks".
Breakfast was ok, not great. Overall, I feel that for what I paid, I did not get value for money. There are much better hotels in Glasgow at a much more reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loopyloo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear 1x1x1x,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I will take your comments on board.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed here for a night following a family wedding held there.

The rooms were great and very well sound proofed (essential for city centre location). The decor of the rooms is a little dated but they are very comfortable, clean and have everything you need. The mini bar (included in our rate) had a v. decent selection as well.

Staff great (reception and event staff in particular). Food was great during the event and breakfast the next morning was also good.

Excellent central location. Would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear mlohara,

I'm delighted that you found the Carlton George to your liking. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,105 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,646 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing