We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night and a decent gig.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One night and a decent gig.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Small hotel just off George Sq, Boutique style. Super friendly front of house staff, helpful and engaging with just the right amount of chat whilst still efficient. Room modern and clean with mini bar included in rate, wonderfull. Great to relax in. Breakfast in the roof restaurant with views over the city a bonus, well cooked and fresh buffet style standard mix, the pastries were lovely. Again, very pleasant staff (including the chef), what a treat. Happy to store luggage after checking out which made the Sunday bearable till we got the train.
I'll definitely be back, what a find! Ideal for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Pay the premium to get access to the residents bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morso101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks Morso101,

I'm delighted that you liked our hotel, we do work hard to ensure that a welcoming, happy hotel experience is the norm at the Carlton George.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    482
    140
    45
    36
See reviews for
164
862
59
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend here in October with a friend. We stayed in Executive rooms and enjoyed the Executive Lounge with free drinks. We chose the Shopper deal and were given far more food than we could eat with our champagne afternoon tea! All staff were very pleasant and helpful and we will most likely return!

Room Tip: Choose Executive package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Teresa,

I'm glad you enjoyed the shopper package- you obviously don't have as big an appetite as me!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Staff at the reception was not very helpful. Restaurant with very poor menu. My wife's handbag, containing only a handkerchief and some medicine pills - no money, credit cards or documents - mysteriously dissapeared during dinner in the restaurant when we were the only clients and mysteriously reappeared when we left the restaurant. A very odd experience...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Patrick,

I am sorry that your experience was not as expected- if you would like to contact me directly with more details, I am sure I would be able to address your concerns.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Six girls on shopping trip, we go every year, and always stay here, the rooms are spacious and lovely decorated. Toiletries in the bathroom for you, there is a mini bar and also a cabinet with spirits in it, a very good bed also, breakfast is excellent ,choice of full cooked or if you want you can have a continental. Will keep going back there as its so central to all the shops and the train station,

Room Tip: We have stayed many times and had all different rooms, all good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean-ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear jean-ann,

We look forward to seeing you on your next shopping trip- January sales aren't far away!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent one night here on business but would be ideal for any occasion. Location was amazing for travel as train station and bus stops nearby. Sightseeing buses also close by. Shopping district right on the doorstep.

Hotel was very comfortable, staff were very helpful, complimentary bar was a very nice touch. Old-fashioned fittings but who cares when the service is top-notch.

Will definitely look top stay here again when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonRug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
JasonRug,

Thank you for the review, I am glad we exceeded your expectations.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on a business trip. The location is very convenient smack right in the middle of George square and 50 meters from my meeting place. I only found out later that the train station is also only 2 minutes walk hidden behind the square. Upon entering the hotel appears small and the reception is manned by a single staff. However he was very efficient and managed to somehow service everyone who was queuing up. The hotel and room were designed with older style wooden furniture and decor which gave it a nice, typical rustic feeling. Taking the lifts up to the higher floors and you will quickly notice that the hotel isn't so small after all. The rooms are clean and most previous reviews mention the free items in the minibar (all the items are complimentary) which certainly is a welcomed surprise unlikely to be found in other hotels nowadays. There was also whiskey but since I don't drink I didn't manage to enjoy that! Ate at the "Windows" rooftop restaurant twice for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was delicious and breakfast had all the choices as well. Great value for money as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adithepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we hope you will be back soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here twice this trip - one night on arrival in Scotland, and one night on the way back - and I will definately stay here again. All of the staff were helpful, friendly, effecient. Both rooms were totally comfortable and quiet, even on the street side. Breakfast was lovely. I ate in the hotel restaurant called Windows the first night, and it was also quite good! Highly recommend !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelabsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Lovelabsx2,

Delighted that our hotel is your favourite place in Glasgow- mine too!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing