We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Convenient, clean and kind"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on a business trip. The location is very convenient smack right in the middle of George square and 50 meters from my meeting place. I only found out later that the train station is also only 2 minutes walk hidden behind the square. Upon entering the hotel appears small and the reception is manned by a single staff. However he was very efficient and managed to somehow service everyone who was queuing up. The hotel and room were designed with older style wooden furniture and decor which gave it a nice, typical rustic feeling. Taking the lifts up to the higher floors and you will quickly notice that the hotel isn't so small after all. The rooms are clean and most previous reviews mention the free items in the minibar (all the items are complimentary) which certainly is a welcomed surprise unlikely to be found in other hotels nowadays. There was also whiskey but since I don't drink I didn't manage to enjoy that! Ate at the "Windows" rooftop restaurant twice for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was delicious and breakfast had all the choices as well. Great value for money as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adithepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we hope you will be back soon.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here twice this trip - one night on arrival in Scotland, and one night on the way back - and I will definately stay here again. All of the staff were helpful, friendly, effecient. Both rooms were totally comfortable and quiet, even on the street side. Breakfast was lovely. I ate in the hotel restaurant called Windows the first night, and it was also quite good! Highly recommend !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovelabsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Lovelabsx2,

Delighted that our hotel is your favourite place in Glasgow- mine too!

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Recently stayed here when my wife and I went to see Bruno Mars at the Hydro, and we had a delightful stay. The Sunday night bed and breakfast deal is tremendous value for a hotel of this standard in such a great location. The complimentary minibar was a nice finishing touch. We intend to return and explore more of Glasgow, and will definitely be staying at the Carlton George.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Charles,

I hope you enjoyed Bruno Mars as much as the hotel! I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

B & B in the heart of Glasgow City Centre doesn't get any better than this!!!
The central location, the staff, the executive lounge, the standard of the rooms, all of which are excellent.
You'd be mad not to give it a go!

Room Tip: Upgrade to club rooms to get usage of the executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Martin,

Loving the picture! Thanks for the review.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hi my wife and I have used this hotel a couple of times , it is a really good central location with good transport links . The hotel is nice we had an executive room with use of the executive lounge , nice roof top restaurant with views over the city.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear John,

Much appreciated, thank you.

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends while exploring Scotland. The hotel was ideally situated for our needs. The food was of a very high quality and staff were very attentive. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We will return to the hotel again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Lyn,

Thanks for the kind words- I do have a very attentive team here.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great hotel in a great location. I've stayed here a couple of times on business and have never been disappointed. On this occasion it was with my wife and friends and everyone enjoyed their stay. Rooms are clean, nicely decorated, beds comfy, staff nice and the free mini bar is a nice touch. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

D E,

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Kind Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,085 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,768 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $112 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing