We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We just spent three nights at this hotel while in Glasgow for the World Pipe Band Championships. It was a fabulous hotel. Staff was lovely. And the location was very convenient to everything.
Would go back there anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlejeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
LittleJeanie,

I hope you had a safe trip back to Canada and that the welcome from my team will bring you back for next year's piping event.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    482
    140
    45
    36
See reviews for
164
862
59
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Carlton George is situated in an excellent position for exploring Glasgow. Right in the heart of the merchant city, near to George Square, the hotel is next to Queen St Station, and sits right next to the main shopping centre. So out the front door and a world of excellent cafes, restaurants, shops and tourist attractions await. Its a short walk to restaurants such as Cafe Gandolfi, a Glasgow legend, the Museum of Modern Art and major stores such as John Lewis.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable. The rooftop restaurant gives amazing views across Glasgow's skyline and is just the perfect place for breakfast.

Our room on the first floor unfortunately overlooked an inner courtyard and as a consequence was rather dark, also the windows did not open which I find particularly difficult as I light natural air, so we had to rely on the air conditioning, which was effective, but not something you want to listen to all night. Consequently, he had to turn it off and the room became very hot and stuffy. Rooms higher up in the same location seem fine as my family had one in the same position on the 4th floor and no problem. So something to be aware of. The room was quiet

I think the only drawback for me was the fact that the hotel does not have a lounge for guests unless you pay for a room upgrade and get a pass for the lounge on the 7th floor. The hotel is generous in that you get free drinks in the lounge and this is, I suspect, the reason why you need an upgrade. There are also complimentary drinks/mini bar in your room and lovely decanters of vodka, whisky and gin as well as soft drinks in the fridge.

Breakfasts were fine but we were a little disappointed with our meal in the restaurant 'Windows' on the one night we ate there. I felt the meal was expensive for what it was and the choice limited. However, the staff were again helpful and friendly.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and have no hesitation in recommending it. The price for a standard room was competitive with hotels in the area and because of its location it perfectly suited me as I have a walking problem and found it easy to get around from here. There is also a taxi rank right next door.

Check in and out was efficient and easy and the hotel looked after our bags for a short while after we checked out. We stayed over the weekend of the World Piping Championships and the hotel had several guests staying who were part of competing bands. All in all a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ensure room has opening windows. (Suspect only applies to first floor rooms overlooking inner courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbriaSef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
CumbriaSef,

Thank you for leaving your feedback, it is a very useful tool to allow us to constantly strive for improvements in the product and service levels. I was delighted that you found the hotel to your liking and the positive comments regarding my team are most welcome.
All of our rooms except those on the first floor do have openable windows, I will try to allocate you a higher floor on future stays. Out location is second to none, I am pleased that you liked being in the heart of the city. I have taken your comments regarding dinner onboard.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night last September! We loved it!
We stayed in an executive room, it had decanters and of drink a full mini bar, we also had a lovely dinner in the hotel, I had medallions of venison which were cooked to perfection! After dinner we went to the executive lounge where we had free drink untill 11pm! The staff there were very attentive and friendly! Our breakfast was lovely and delivered to the room, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back, hopefully soon! Great value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcgivernls89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments, it is fantastic for the team when we get such a glowing review. I do hope you will be staying agian soon!

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Brief stay after train trip from Oban, before headed to GLA bright and early. Easy walk from the train station and well located for shopping and restaurants. Free mini bar is most welcome. Room was a little warm and the beds are on the soft side, but the staff is attentive and full of good recommendations. Would definitely return in the future. Definitely worth a look.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sbenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you found the bed a little soft but delighted that you plan to visit again.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My group of 16 band members/spouses stayed in this wonderful Hotel while we enjoyed "Piping Week Glasgow" and then competed in The World Pipe and Drum Championships. Some of us stayed up to 9 nights. Every single day and night was terrific.

First the staff - everyone from General Manager Duncan, to front desk staff, "Windows" staff, Executive Lounge staff, and housekeeping and maintenance staff (we borrowed stuff!) went above and beyond the call of duty. We felt welcomed, we felt like family.

The accommodation was incredible, perfect sized rooms, clean, organized, nicely air conditioned. The mini bar/spirits etc. in the room were a grand inclusion, although we didn't really avail ourselves of them. We DID avail ourselves of the Executive Lounge, though, and it was a real treat, as well as a great gathering place for us when we needed to "meet up" as a group for a quick meeting, or to head somewhere - or to share a glass of wine. We met some terrific fellow guests in that room, and we went on to enjoy time with these new friends outside of the hotel as well. They even came and supported our band when we played in local pubs and at "The Worlds". Great craic.

As for the location, you'd be hard to beat it. Right at the corner of fabulous Buchanan and West George Street, close to all my favourite spots (especially the Pot Still....!) Perfect for travel, with a subway on one side of the hotel, a train station on the other...what more could you want? Also, a fantastic pub with great food attached to the hotel (Waxy O'Connors). Walking distance to so many wonderful things, and less than a block from George Square. (which is currently under renovation, but should be ready for you Commonwealth visitors next year!)

I'll sum it up this way - you'd be daft to stay anywhere else in Glasgow if you want to enjoy the spirit of the heart of the city!

Thanks Carlton George for a marvellous stay, we can't wait to return!

Your resident Pipe Band! (Oh, and thanks for arranging our practice space Duncan!)

Room Tip: All I know is that 502 is quiet, can't vouch for the others!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamondlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to have such a friendly, happy group of people staying in the hotel. I do hope the weather when you were playing at the worlds on Sunday has not put you off coming back next year.
I look forward to welcoming you all back and to hearing the pipes and drums!

Regards
Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay last weekend. Nothing to fault! Room large and very quiet. Bed so comfortable! Breakfast was excellent with lovely staff looking after guests. Location perfect. Would gladly return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanarkshireDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear LanarkshireDaisy,

I am delighted you found the hotel to your tastes and had such a positive experience. It does give us all a boost when we get such positive feedback.

Thank you

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Travelled recently to Glasgow for professional purposes & stayed in the same hotel that my colleague/friend booked. Might not have chosen this if he hadn't, but glad I did.
This was a very comfortable, convenient & welcoming hotel.
Firstly, the bus from airport stops literally at the door!
Secondly, the staff at the desk was extremely helpful/welcoming.
Thirdly, the room was very comfortable indeed.
Fourthly, was glad of the air con, though it wasn't the most sophisticated.
Indeed, as stated elsewhere, was surprised at the free bar!
If travelling back to Glasgow with family (our stay made me consider this!), would think of staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martingerardkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It was nice to read such a positive review- I am glad your colleague persuaded you to book. I look forward to welcoming you back with your family.

Regards
Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing