We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location excellent staff lovely rooms shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

just returned from an overnight stay in this lovely hotel!!!! We had and executive balcony room which was lovely, all drink in our room and in the decanters were FREE for us to drink also we had use of the executive lounge situated on the 7th floor which you were able to help yourself to FREE wine, beer, spirits (vodka,gin,brandy,whiskey,sherry), coffee, snacks from i think it was 4.30pm-10.45pm what a great idea!
The room had a big comfy bed, it was clean, nice bathroom.
The staff in the hotel were very helpful, friendly, and willing to help
We ate in the hotel restaurant which has fantastic views over the city, however we didn't find the food good at all considering the prices on the menu, we felt starters had little taste and our steaks 1 was fine and the other was so badly scorched it couldn't be eaten , TO BE FAIR it wasn't the head chef that was cooking i think it was his night off the staff were VERY GOOD and we managed to work things out with them.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and cant wait to plan another stay here but next time we would eat out :-)

Room Tip: I would highly recommend getting the executive packages which give you the free drink and access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank big-bubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent base right in the centre of Glasgow within a few steps of Queen Street Railway Station. Booked direct with the Hotel and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely - big bed, spacious bathroom with toiletries, and of course the complimentary mini bar with drinks cabinet was a big WOW!!

Dinner was included for the first night of our stay and was good, as was breakfast each day. The dining room is on the 7th floor with views over Glasgow.

Have stayed in many hotels over the years, but this one certainly ticked all the boxes. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaunters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Location was good in the middle of town. Small lobby with only 1 person ever on duty. There were no bell hops or concierge. The car park was about 10 min walk away but there are no valets so have to park yourself. The one person at front desk will carry your luggage if not busy. You do get a discount 50% on parking with a stamp on ticket from front desk. Only ends up being 12 pounds/day. We were in executive so had free drinks in special bar upstairs but they only have 3 types of liquor. Comes with snacks also in that executive bar but they were not good. Best not to spend the money to upgrade. Room was OK. Staff was helpful and polite.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Peter-Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. As you can see from the majority of our reviews our executive lounge is a very popular feature of the Carlton George, I am sorry that you did not feel it was for you. Thanks also for your feedback regarding the parking, being in the heart of the city centre, we do not have our own parking facilities, I am pleased that you felt the Buchanan Galleries car park was good value.

Regards
Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We first booked the Carlton George last summer. Its location is just perfect for city shopping and site seeing.
The room was spacious and beautifully decorated and we had the use of a drinks cabinet fully complimentary. There was Gin, Vodka or Whisky to choose from and a good range of mixers in the fridge.
Breakfast is served on the 7th floor in a glass paneled restaurant with amazing views over Glasgow's skyline. The menu was fully comprehensive and cooked to perfection.
Service from the staff was impeccable and we will certainly be booking again.

Room Tip: Any room at the Carlton George is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Craig31HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you want to stay in Glasgows city centre this is the perfect location. Parking is a problem but the hotel offer 50% off rates for the local buchanan galleries' car park. I stayed in the luxury room that was....luxury. A bed the size of a 5 a side pitch, sky tv, ipod dock, housecoats and slippers and of course....free mini bar.

There was also access to a complimentary bar on the 7th floor which made the hotel that bit more special.

Didn't have much dealing with staff but when I did so, they were very attentive and helpful. Hotel was nice and clean and warm. Besides being on a busy road you could not hear traffic and blackout curtains helped.

Didn't have food so unable to comment but there are lots of restaurants around the area.

Room Tip: Go for the complimentary mini bar to add to your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vesalius73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very well located hotel right by Queen Street station and handy for the centre of town. It has a lovely, cosy feel and has been given a partial refurbishment which I guess is on-going. Nice size club room and the balcony was great as we hit hot weather. Executive lounge very pleasant indeed and had a lovely dinner here one night that was well cooked and presented. For the price you couldn’t get much better. Great value and comfortable with cheery staff. My only moan would be patchy Wifi.

Room Tip: Club Balcony rooms - handy if you're a smoker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firstclasslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel, and all services were excellent. The mini bar and spirits were complimentary and the excecutive lounge was good also.
Some guests during our stay made full use of the free drinks and ended up taking far more booze than they could possibly manage to consume. All staff were friendly and helpful also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,348 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,724 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $125 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing