We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Night Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Another great stay at this Hotel ,cant fault it great rooms great loacation and a relaxing night what else could you ask for, room was good with all the normal free mini bar etc you also get a free drink in two local bars now, so cant complain on top of the free bar on 7th floor,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
There are newer reviews for Carlton George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Booked a Saturday night B&B deal here, directly via their website as it was cheaper than on specialist booking sites! Great central location, and not too far from the parking at Buchanan Galleries (good deal on parking as well - £10 per night). Room was good, but oberlooked the central well. Guess you have to get the Executive rooms for an outside view. Checkin easy, and the room clean nd well appointed. Nice to see a free minibar, and the decanters of spirits a nice touch.
Disappointed by the limited selection on the dining room menu, so ate at the Irish bar in the basement - slightly better choice, reasonable service and fook OK. But the place was very busy and noisy. Plenty of places to eat in the surrounding area if you want.
Bed very comfortable, and not too much noise despite having a room bu the lift.
Breakfast in the 7th floor restaurant - OK it has a rooftop view, but the rooftops you can see are not all that pretty! Hot breakfast a bit disappointing for a 4* hotel - basic stuff but no special orders like kippers or eggs benedict etc. Cold selection was good though.
Easy checkout and sorted the parking very quickly.
Overall - would stay again if visiting the city, but would eat dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Most look to have windows, but I guess you pay for a street view, otherwise it is the central 'w...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historyboy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful night in one of the club rooms. We had dinner bed and breakfast which included so many extras to make for a good night! The mini bar, docking station, free wifi and executive bar were all much appreciated! Two tiny quips would be we were charged for newspaper which we were under the impression it was included and the food in the restaurant was amazing but would have been even better if we had the option of some veg! All in all a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linzimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and i enjoyed what i can only describe as a truly wonderful Febuary the 14th break at the Carlon George Hotel, we have enjoyed many lovely breaks and holidays in hotels over the years and without doubt our break at the above hotel, rates about the best that we have enjoyed anywhere. The club room that we were allocated was in a word stunning as was the hospitality received in the executive lounge.Why do other hotels not offer this type of service?? Breakfast was most enjoyable with a table overlooking the Glasgow skyline with and food and service to match all in all making our stay a most enjoyable one. I feel that when visiting popular hotels staff never receive the credit which is more often than not more than overdue so i would like to mention in this review the following who i feel is more than worthy off some credit and that is a lady called Avril from the houskeeping department and Gary from the recpetion desk who made us feel so much at home, A special thanks to you both.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theolloys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Ok, if you read my previous reviews on this place, you will see I like to stay here when in Glasgow.
Stayed again on Saturday, and nothing much more to add.
Exec rooms are still the best value in town when you factor in the access to the executive lounge on the 7th floor, with free bar from 5pm-11pm, not to mention the free mini-bar in the room.
The lounge is undergoing a bit of a refurb at the moment, so wasn't looking its best, but it really didn't detract from our stay- looking forward to our next visit and the new decor..
Marc the reservations manager was helpful as ever, finding our room at the very last minute in a fully booked hotel.
Once again, highly recommended.

Room Tip: 510- club room with balcony
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed for 4 nights we had 2 club rooms on the 4th floor..lovely big room plenty of space and a large bathroom.
Club rooms give accsess to the executive lounge on the 7th floor offering hot and cold drinks and a bar service..this room was been decorated whilst we where there but when its finished am sure it will look lovely.
The restaurant on the 7th floor over looking the city was lovely and light lots of natural light..breakfast was a buffet every morning waiters brought tea or coffee and you could also order poached or fried eggs whihc came hot and very quickly..the breakfast was lovely one of the nicest ive eaten..didnt eat in at night as the menu did look small so cant comment on that..we found a lovely italian 'Amarone' just round the corner which was lovely.
Reception where great they took delivery of a wheel chair for us and also arranged to pass it on to the courier for collection..they helped us with luggage back to the station and with my gran who has difficulty walking.
Great hotel and staff fantastic location 3 min walk from queen street station..5 min to john lewis and about 10 min to frasers.
would definatley stay again if we where in glasgow

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehuddstribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four nights on a business trip. The room was nice although a little tatty with small things that needed attending to (broken hinge on wardrobe door, smelly bathroom basin waste and the trouser press didn't work).
Overall though, the staff were great and the deal included a complimentary mini-bar and access to the 7th floor exec lounge.
The hotel is in a great spot with loads of pubs, bars and restaurants nearby as well as the Royal Concert Hall a few minutes away.
Breakfast was better than the average buffet and eggs were fried to order.
All in all, I will stay here agin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,949 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,326 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,695 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $131 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing