We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience - as always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton George Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely experience - as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We often stay at this hotel around Christmas time when we have our "shopping weekend" with friends. Great location for going back and forth with the shopping to save having it lug it around all day. OK, probably not the most modern of hotels (I actually prefer that) but pleasant well equiped rooms and very clean. The mini bar and free drinks lounge is a nice touch and is a nice way to end the day. We have never seen it being "abused" and offers a cosy atmosphere. Staff extremely nice, helpful and efficient - they do deserve a special mention. All in all a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 3rd floor and above and facing the back to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    419
    124
    40
    31
See reviews for
143
735
52
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West lothian
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in an executive room which had access to the lounge with inclusive drinks which is a nice touch. I found the hotel a bit dated in decor. Our room was large with old style furniture with handles missing, drinks decanters stoppers were mismatched, our room had not been cleaned well on our return and we had to contact reception. The breakfasts were good, service was good and dealt with our complaint promptly and you could not get a better location but for not much more money you could stay in the blythswood which I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestlothianMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. I am sorry for the lack of attention detail in your room, I can sssure you that these deficiencies will be addressed and everything perfect on your next visit. Thanks also for the positvie feedback about the service.

Regards

Duncan Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Once again another great stay at this comfotable hotel situated in he centre of glasgow. I should stay out at the airport since I am always catching a flight he following day but this is a little piece of comfort before braving Moscow

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inspector777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
120 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had found the Carlton George Glasgow online in 2008, after my husband and I had enjoyed a fantastic long weekend at a sister property in Brussels, Belgium. I enjoyed our stay so much that I looked at the hotel's corporate page and discovered there were others in the group, including one in Glasgow. My husband and I meant to get to Glasgow before our tenth anniversary, but it never worked out. So here was our chance to try out the Carlton George Glasgow at long last.

Finding the hotel

We arrived in Glasgow to clouds and cold mist. A friendly cab driver with a strong Scottish brogue promised to get us as close as possible to the entrance of the Carlton George. As it turned out, we were just in time for the city to be putting up Christmas lights and the street we needed was blocked. That was a pity, since we had a lot of luggage. It was about 4:30pm, but it was kind of dark outside. After hauling our bags to the main drag, we set them down and my spouse went looking for the hotel. A few minutes later, we found 44 West George Street, the address for the narrow building containing our bed for the next two nights. It's literally right next to the main shopping drag and is within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants.

First impressions

The small lobby had gaslit fireplace and a library motif painted on the walls. A couple of suited gentlemen were helping other guests as we approached. I had prepaid for a club room, but we needed to leave a credit card imprint for incidentals. As the receptionist was giving us the lowdown on our new digs, he told us the mini-bar was free "so drink up", he said, making a drinking motion with his hands.

We hauled our bags to the fifth floor with no help. I opened the door to a cozy room decorated in a Scottish motif. There was a queen sized bed, a desk with a lamp and a mirror above it, a flatscreen television, a small refrigerator stocked with beverages, and a liquor cabinet with three decanters containing scotch, vodka, and gin as well as the appropriate drinking glasses. When I opened the cabinet and peeked in, I also found a tea set that contained the makings coffee and hot chocolate as well. Internet access via Wi-Fi was included in the room rate.

Bathroom

The tartan motif continued in the bathroom, which sported a tub, shower, and a heated towel rack. High quality toiletries were included, though there wasn't any conditioner for my hair or mouthwash to cover up the smell of free booze. We later had to go to the drug store to pick some up. Luckily, there is a shopping mall just steps away from this hotel.

Breakfast and restaurants

I can't comment on the quality of breakfast or other food at the Carlton George since we didn't include it in our room rate. Room service is available or we could have gone to the breakfast room and paid to eat there. Having read reviews on Trip Advisor about the breakfast and its priceiness, we decided to find local establishments instead.

The Carlton George has a rooftop restaurant on the 7th floor that supposedly offers nice views of Glasgow. We did not venture there, nor did we visit the Irish themed bar. Had we wanted to, though, we could have upgraded our room to the executive level and gotten access to the lounge which offers more "free" beverages and food. Normally, I would have gone for such a deal, but our stay was so short I decided it wasn't worth the extra money.

Sleeping

While I mostly liked the Carlton George Hotel, I can't give the bed very high marks. I think the problem mostly stemmed from the pillows, which were quite flat and uncomfortable. Of the three places we stayed during our trip to Scotland, I'd have to say the bed at the Carlton George was the least comfortable. However, we didn't have any issues with noise, probably because our window looked out into a small shaft that barely let in the minimal sunlight!

Checking out

We would not be picked up for our cruise until 3:30 pm, so we left our bags with the Carlton George's reception desk and went to a pub to pass the time. This was not a problem at all. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the train station if you are not laden down with bags like we were. The Carlton George is also right next door to a subway station.

Overall

I liked the Carlton George Hotel, though perhaps not as much as I did its sister property, The Dominican, in Brussels. I have to admit we enjoyed the free booze; my husband especially liked the whisky, which was of pretty good quality. The Carlton George is a good bet for business travelers and leisure travelers, though if I stayed again, I might opt for a more deluxe room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knotheadusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just had a magical night with my friends in Glasgow and it was the Carlton hotel in Glasgow that made it special! What a great deal we got, and our rooms were adjoining so we were not cut off from each other. The deal included dinner and the meal was great, really really tasty food. Access to the lounge was brilliant, although we did go out for a wander round the Christmas market and a quick shot on the hobby horses!! We went back to the hotel lounge and had such fun. I cannot write this review without mentioning the staff in the hotel, all the staff who served us were efficient, prompt but more than anything else they were welcoming and friendly, with a special thanks to Paul who looked after us in the lounge and the restaurant! In closing, all I can say is, that the girls will definitely be back next year for our annual trip to Glasgow! We've found the best!

Room Tip: Adjoining executive rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_McC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The location is great, right next to Queen Street train station etc. Our room looked onto a courtyard - not the prettiest view perhaps, but it did mean we had no problems with noise which I usually expect in a city centre. The staff were helpful and the room was good for the price - clean and comfy with a complimentary mini-bar. Breakfast was good too and there's a nice lounge on the top floor with free hot and cold drinks. We were also able to leave our bags at the hotel after checking out, so we could do a bit of shopping before heading out of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stay here when visting a glasgow location for work.

The reception service is swift, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and in the room I had there was a free mini-bar. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was fine and the drinks cabinet was used.

There was access to the exec lounge which ahs a comoplimentary bar, lounge chairs and a TV showing the news.

My room rate included dinner and breakfast. All meals were cooked fresh to order and were tasty, well cooked and hit the spot. This hotel is close to nearby bars and the great shopping centre. Will bestaying there again quite happily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 2,010 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 4,416 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 3,206 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Property: Carlton George Hotel
Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow’s only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what’s in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room for no additional fee. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we’ve worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and TravelClick so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing