We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good bit a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Pros:
Location
Comfortable bed
Friendly staff
Great breakfast
Decent dinner food
Free bar on 7th floor

Cons:
Feels a bit dated...could use a bit of a modernisation and sprucing up a bit in the rooms
Room a bit cramped
Not the best of wifi signals, but works

Overall, a great stay, would stay again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Daniel5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,436 - 1,442 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for one night, third year in a row, excellent as always. Reception staff George and polish girl, she wasn't wearing a name badge were extremely helpful. Executive lounge was super as usual and I like there is a large flat screen tv. The newly redecorated rooms are lovely and I still like tartan tiles in the bathroom. I have recommended to friends and colleagues who have stayed more than once as well. A little gem in the centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went to the Carlton George as part of our honeymoon holiday taking in a few Scottish cities and we weren’t disappointed. I walk by the hotel everyday going to work and have always wanted to try it. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff are very helpful. We took advantage of the Sunday night offer with a 3 course meal,access to the executive suite and breakfast. The room was first class and it’s a great touch having complimentary Vodka/Gin/Whiskey and a mini Fridge with juice in it. The meal was superb with the food fantastically cooked with a great setting looking over Glasgow at night with the only grumble being no steak or champagne available and the Prosecco that was substituted with it being nearly double the price than the champagne I had ordered without being advised. Our room was forward facing but you would have never thought that in the morning with early morning rush hour outside with no noise coming through what so ever. All in all a great stay and great start to our honeymoon. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nespa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked in for a one night stay, all very last minute.
Stayed in a club room on the 5th floor, which was very comfortable indeed.
There is a balcony with this room, but the sacrifice is the room is a little smaller than other exectutive rooms which I have had in the past- it all depends what you are looking for I suppose, but if you want an over sized room, just be aware.
Access to the exec lounge on the 7th floor- very comfortable, with the added bonus of a well stocked bar, which is free to use from 5pm onwards.
If you can get a deal on the exec rooms, this can make your stay very, very good value.
Good breakfast in the rooftop reastaurant- lovely and bright, with some good views to look at whilst planning your day.
I find this place hard to fault for the money- I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here recently for business with a panel of international scientists (the sort of people you need to impress) and the Carlton George cartainly stepped up to the challenge, the entrance is welcoming, clean and warm and check in was a breeze with the very helpful front of house staff.

Our rooms were clean, warm and came with a complimentary minibar and decanters of whisky, gin and vodka. I'd never seen this before, and our panel certainly welcomed the complementary toddy after checking in!

We had an early start the next morning and so we ate at the rooftop restaurant at night, having booked the executive bar and private dining room. Again the service was excellent. The one waiter we had did a great job, he was attentive and served food and drinks in excellent time with professionalism and courtesy.

Sadly I didn't eat breakfast the next morning as I was too full from the meal the night before,but the checkout was just as easy however.

The Carlton George overall, is an excellent boutique hotel. I would definitely recommend it and I'll certainly consider using it again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I booked a champagne afternoon tea as a treat for my mum as I was viisiting her and we had a fabulous time. The service was excellent, the staff were attentive but not clingy. The food was wonderful - the sandwiches were very fresh and tasty and they were stuffed with fillings. The cakes were very fresh and we're pretty sure they were homemade as were the scones which were still warm when they were served to us. The only downside was that it was served in the executive lounge rather than the rooftop restaurant but I think that was down to the time we visited.

I would highly recommend the champagne afternoon tea at the Carlton George as it was very reasonably priced and very worth the visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_in_the_city1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel previously and thought it was brilliant, so naturally expected it to be similar when we returned - I couldn't have been more wrong. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!!! The Staff were rude and uninterested, the rooms were dirty and when we asked to me moved they told us there were no empty rooms and would send somebody up to clean. I don't expect to have to do this in a hotel that I am paying a lot of money for. When we returned to the room there was not much change. They had sprayed some air freshener, but not cleaned he bathroom or the fridge as we asked. I certainly wouldn't have consumed anything from that fridge. They had decanters with spirits in them, but if they didn't clean the bathroom then my reckoning was that they wouldn't have cleaner that either!!!! We had booked for a meal and the view from the restaurant was really good. Unfortunately, that is the only positive I could give this as the quality of the food was shocking. In the bar afterwards everybody was complaining about the pork. I was one of the few that complained to the staff and they cooked me some fish instead, but to be honest this was only slightly better.
There are so many nice hotels in Glasgow that have good locations, so I would advise checking out one of them. The Millenium Hotel just along the road from this one is a completely different class and quite often has good offers. With all the Daily Deals websites with good deals on hotels, I am quite happy never to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuncanJohnston, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion. I was surprised to read your comments, particularly those about the staff, as the majority of rewiewers, including yourself on your last visit, are full of praise for them. I note that you stayed in August- the menu has changed since then and the comments about the food have been good. We don't use daily deals sites, the best deal is always available by booking direct.

Duncan Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,173 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,413 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,826 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $130 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing