We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with another couple, it was fantastic!! Executive room highly recomended, its great value for money. Rooms lovely and clean, executive lOunge was brilliant free drinks untill 10:45 which was great, nice and cosy. Bfast was a wide choice of cereals, full english, toast tea coffee ect... Room service was free of charge. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cushions4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,534 - 1,540 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

The staff are always welcoming here and the hotel is idealy situated for shopping. Dining is relaxed and friendly with a wonderful setting for dinner or breakfast.

So please send me details for any offers for the start of December 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billmcknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed for a weekend in the Carlton George. Excellent hotel and staff. Lovely room with mini bar, stocked with Vodka, Bacardi ,Wine, Beer & soft drinks.Crystal glasses & decanters with Whiskey, Gin & Sherry all included in price. Fantastic large bed. Bathroom with shower and large bath. All the usual toiletries provided. Had breakfast on the first day on the 7th floor but noticed you could have breakfast room service for no extra charge, so went for that option on second day. Just tick all you want on the card provided and leave it outside the door. As we had been the day before we knew all the extra things that we not on the card and whatever you ask for you get. Will definately be going back and would recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginge1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I travel to Glasgow often and have a few hotels I like. The Carlton george has now become my favorite. First, it is central to where all my appoints are. It is very clean, nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff (all up and down the line), and very nice and unusual amenities for the price: free frigo bar in the room along with a taste of whisky and wine, free wireless, a beautiful dining room with a city view and a great breakfast. The Executive Lounge is a wonderful place to relax (quieter on weekdays than weekends). The only problem I had was with their Internet provider Swisscom being down for almost 2 days... that is excessive and should cause them to reconsider providers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryBethune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

It was my son's Birthday and we where taking him out for a meal and as he stays in Glasgow any excuse to stay over in my Home Town, so had a look at a few hotels and the the Carlton George was one of them = we had stayed there a couple of years ago and had enjoyed our 2 night stay at the hotel, it was on a couple of web sites but in the end I phoned the hotel and got a good deal it was £79 for a double room B&B plus they offer a free mini bar with water,soft drinks, wine, beer, and a couple of spirit great value for money.
It is central for getting about but if you have a car then you will have to park it in one of the local car parks as the hotel does not have one, we left our car at home because we know Glasgow.

Room Tip: our room looked out to what they call a court yard you just see walls and room windows but so quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LADYSCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our third visit to this hotel and have always had a great stay. We had a renovated executive room this time and it was lovely - a very cosy atmosphere. The executive lounge was very busy this weekend, but relaxing just the same. A lovely meal in the restaurant topped off a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Executive rooms cost a bit more, but worth it - also includes free drink in the lounge all evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANILOW43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The staff were very friendly and the whole package was well worth it

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,132 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
919 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $111 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing