We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel, would stay again.”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Solid hotel, would stay again.”
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This hotel is modern and clean, would definitely stay here again. It is not quite walking distance to the city center, you will need a 10 minute taxi ride, but that was worth it to us as we wanted the comfort of knowing we were staying at a Branded hotel that we could rely on. The lobby is huge with plenty of seating, and the bar was fun with great food and decently priced cocktails. The concierge helped us set up a few sightseeing tours, and went out of their way to help us confirm available tours in light of the bad weather. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable - quite large compared to other European guest rooms that I stayed in. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vg411973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,359
    1,130
    453
    158
    112
See reviews for
525
1,160
157
818
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jainsterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Went to this Hilton with partner for some R and R and in the usual Hilton fashion it delivered. We stayed in an executive room on floor 20, the room was good with a balcony (not really useable in Scotland in Feb though!).The only minor gripe about the room was that the hot water could be warmer and indeed so could the room but it was ok.
The executive lounge is good if a bit souless due to the lack of windows but the staff were extremley helpful.
I do grudge having to pay for parking on top of a £200 a room but thats city centres I suppose and the access was easy off the motorway.
The location is slightly off pitch but if you can walk it is a 10/15 min walk to George square and if not there is a taxi rank outside the hotel.
It also has a fast check in/out unlike some.
All in all a good base to use for visiting Glasgow and further afield.
We will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOCK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Stayed for the weekend with 2 children and enjoyed ourselves. Room was clean and beds very comfortable. Evening buffet meal was excellent and staff were very helpul especially with the children. Breakfast choice was vast and very nice.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Took advantage of Hilton's offer of 1 night dinner b&b for £99 per couple. Have stayed here before but this was a better deal. Good check-in, lovely room on 17th floor, very good buffet dinner in Minskys restaurant. Very relaxing, staff attentive. Breakfast was equally enjoyable next morning and with a very late morning check out again very relaxing. Had an 'emergency evacuation' just before 11pm due to a small fire which was dealt with before the fire brigade got there. It would have been helpful if staff had been informing people who had 'evacuated' that it was all clear and we could go back up to our rooms. We had to approach staff to ask. An elderly couple were a bit concerned. Apart from that everything was perfect. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjkh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

I enjoyed my recent stay here. The room was perfect for relaxing after a hard days work- no especial frills just a suberb bed with top quality duvet & pillows, good bathroom: shower and toiletries just right. Very comfortable leather chair with footstool from which to view the large HD TV.
Room service was exactly on time with a very good quality breakfast.
The afternoon tea and evening canapes in the Executive lounge were a treat and actually rendered dinner quite unnecessary.
The staff were all quiet and unobtrusive but pleasant and efficient. Evidence of good training and management getting the weary traveller`s priorities right. I was sorry to leave and I cant always say that!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nippysweetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We got a cheap deal on lastminute.com which meant we got a room for £50 for the night. Even though we stayed here about 8 or 9 years ago and were disappointed then we figured that £50 was a good price to pay for a five star hotel.
And it would be a great price for a 5* hotel but 5 stars this is not.
It's the simple things that let it down - no concierge to greet us at the door or help with our bags, a long wait at check in even though there was only one person in front of me (reception staff seeming to prefer the confines of the back office) and when I tried to call ANYONE to get some ice delivered I received no answers at all from room service, reception, housekeeping or even switchboard for absolutely ages and lots of different attempts at ringing. It was annoying but I kept reminding myself I was paying travelodge prices and therefore shouldn't expect much more than travelodge service.

All in all, the hotel is clean, basic and fine but is no more than a good 3 star hotel.
It lacks any character, rooms have seen better days, staff are disinterested and complacent and the walls are paper thin meaning I could hear lots of noise from the corridors and adjoining rooms. This hotel absolutely trades on the Hilton brand name and is fine and functional if you need a short overnight place to rest but luxury and five star customer service it most certainly is not.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landa98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,894 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,620 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing