We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent city centre base”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent city centre base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Really solid, predictably good city centre hilton. great staff, good bar and excellent food. we use this for family visits, with two young children, who seem to love the place - has to be a good sign.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the rooms seem to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doug s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    1,102
    442
    152
    110
See reviews for
502
1,135
157
786
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The lobby is fresh and inviting and the rooms large. The tea coffee making facilities were covered in a thick layer of dust. The bed springs stuck out in every direction and made a horrendous noise every time you moved. The view was ok, but we paid ten pound extra for a higher floor. Breakfast was double the price of the lovely Aberdeen Hilton gardens hotel. I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghead
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in the Hilton for the 4th time and wasn't let down. We stayed on the 16th floor and what a fantastic view over Glasgow and it was sunny too so it was stunning. Room is nice but think it needs a wee bit of that extra special touch added to the bedrooms. We were in room 1615 which was an adjoining room which doesn't suit everyone. We met friends for a drink and sat in the bar till 12.45pm and there was a nice atmosphere in the hotel not too busy but plenty of folk going around. We ordered extra pillows on line which was a fantastic little extra. Plenty of selection of hot drinks but no biscuit or bit of Scottish shortbread!!!!! Bathroom lovely and well kept. In the Hilton the breakfast is fantastic you could not fault it, it is buffet style and there is plenty of selection and the cooked breakfast is mmmmmm the tattie scone was really good and the sausages were great, even the bacon was a bit crispy. I had a pancake too and loved the wee machine that automatically made it. Downside at the Hilton is the car park is too small and the spaces and turning points are too small for all the big fancy cars that park there and why do we have to pay £12 a day to park there, guests staying at the hotel should not have to pay this. Other thing was that we were woken at the back of 6am by our neighbours radio on, would have been better if the walls were a bit thicker as guests do enjoy privacy and wouldn't of expected to have heard noise from the next room in the Hilton,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

It is more than well worth it to pay for an upgrade to executive status. It becomes an all inclusive package. The choice for breakfast was ample. We also had afternoon tea with sandwiches and cakes, in the evening there was a free bar with a wide variety of wines and spirits to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Derek W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the offerings with your executive upgrade and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently went to Glasgow for medical treatment and decided to stay at the Hilton for the duration of our stay. As our stay included Bank holiday weekend we chose the Hilton because it was one of the hotels available for our dates, it was close to the clinic and we wanted a hotel with a pool so that my husband had something to do while I was recuperating. We had a great stay, the room was lovely, clean, spacious and had great views, we were on the tenth floor. The shower was powerful with endless amounts of hot water, no matter what time you used it. The room was cleaned every day and towels replaced even when we hadn't requested them to be and everything was topped up daily e.g. tea, coffee, toiletries. We had booked bed and breakfast, so went down to the restaurant every morning and we were certainly not disappointed, the range of breakfast foods was amazing, I don't think that I've seen such a wide range of fresh fruit, cereals etc. The cooked breakfast was self service and very tasty. We also went to the restaurant for dinner two nights, one was on a Saturday night when they serve a 5 course buffet which was a nice change and we really enjoyed it. I have honestly never been to a hotel that has such friendly staff, they should be commended for it. Whether they worked on reception, restaurant or housekeeping they were always smiling and chatting. I dont know whether it is Hilton training or the fact they are Scottish or a mix of both but it was a breath of fresh air. If I could pick any bad points it would be that the bed was a bit firmer than I would have liked, although it must be hard to get beds to suits everyone. When I asked reception was there anything that they could do, they had a mattress topper up to our room within ten minutes. The other thing is that you have to pay extra for everything, wifi, parking and the restaurant isn't exactly cheap however the quality is there and it is the Hilton so you kind of expect it. My husband really enjoyed the pool and gym and was down every day taking advantage because this is free when you stay at the hotel. Overall I would certainly stay again, really good hotel if you fancy a treat.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Julie D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your 5 day stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I cannot thank you enough for your kind comments regarding your room, breakfast and dinner. Most of all it is particularly pleasing to hear of our friendly staff.

It is always a pleasure to pass on positive feedback to the team who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay.

We truly hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Glasgow. Whilst the location isn't as attractive as some, it's extremely convenient for the West End. Once inside you immediately feel like you are in a top hotel. Our room on the 12th floor looked like it had been recently refurbished to a high standard, it was clean and quiet. The hotel staff are professional and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, the room was beautiful an executive on the 11th floor. Staff were very nice and friendly, breakfast had a good choice and overall a nice stay. One criticism was we had to ask for towels and toiletries in our room which to be fair were delivered very quickly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for your kind feedback regarding our nice and friendly staff.

It’s great to read your comment on our “lovely hotel”.

I have shared your feedback regarding the lack of towels and toiletries in your room, for which I am sorry, with our Head Housekeeper to review with the team.

We do hope to see you return to the hotel in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing