We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very comfortable, clean and spacious room. Good size bathroom with a decent shower. Excellent sunday lunch at a very reasonable cost. Good breakfast. Only downer was the coffee - not to my taste. Close to theatres & shops and only a cheap taxi ride from the stations.

Room Tip: Higher floors. West facing rooms overlook motorway and may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,403 - 2,409 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

My HHonors benefits were not given, the bar overcharged us significantly and the evening meal was frankly awful. I expect better but this is the second time in 3 months I have had this kind of experience so standards are definitely slipping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was the first time I've stayed at this Hilton since its refurbishment. The rooms remain a great standard, as you'd expect from this chain. Access to the higher floors easy now the lifts have been upgraded. Staff very helpful. Now here comes the but ( or gripe depending on your point of view). The first night I arrived late and decided to eat a meal in the bar - again refurbished. The food arrived on what can only be described as a plank. The food it itself was OK, but the siting on the wooden board meant the easiest way to eat it was by inhalation rather than using a knife and fork. It might look great, but totally impractical and as a result messy! Hilton - serve it on large metal rivet would be equally useful, but at least a nod to the great shipbuilding heritage of this city.
Breakfast was very much self service, even to the point of continually having to refreshing my tea/coffee if you drink more than one cup. A task made all the more hazardous by the ridiculous partition between the two breakfast rooms - Hilton must've run out of money for a decent partition in the refurb - beware thrills, spills and the thought that your table may have been cleared when you return to your table. Overall room up to usual standard, dining experience leaves alt to be desired.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is a shame that a hotel gets judged on the quality of the wifi connection but unfortunately it is a fact. A high speed high quality internet connection is now not a consideration...every hotel has it.......except this one.
The hotel is well positioned, it is clean, spacious and everything you expect of a Hilton anywhere in the world. The staff were helpful and courteous and in every respect the hotel provides a first rate experience except for one thing....internet access. Unfortunately the wifi signal is hopeless to the point of being unusable. When using a hotel for a business related trip wifi to catch up on emails, submit reports etc at the end of the day is absolutely essential. This hotel does not give that capability and therefore falls below the standard expected in this modern day and age.

I complained and was put through to the service provider but they were unable to help.

On a positive note the breakfast is first rate

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedarmyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely spacious rooms. Had a meal in the restaurant - the 5 course buffet for £25 was incredible value for money! Great breakfast too! Comfortable nights sleep too. Didn't visit the spa due to lack of time there but it looked lovely

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolleyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I frequently stay in Hilton brand hotels across the UK and booked a 1 night stay at this hotel as my wife was attending a conference nearby.

I'll start with the good and that is the ladies who staff the checkin/reception area. They were bright, intelligent, friendly and the young lady who checked us had an absolutely beautiful smile. Also the location is excellent being just 5 minutes brisk walk into Glasgow City Centre (at least I think that's where I walked to !!!) and parking on-site is very easy. Our room although quite compact by Hilton standard was clean and the bathroom finished to a high standard.

Now for my concerns (aka complaints) and I'll start with the Executive Lounge which I feel is too small for the number of Executive Rooms in the hotel as we had to stand around for 5 minutes waiting for somewhere to sit. However my main gripe was the food, or more to the point the lack of it. We arrived in the Executive around 7.40pm and it resembled the Gobi Desert, ie completely barren apart unless you count a few scraps left on the cheese board along with nothing of note in the chilled section. There were also 2 chaffing dishes, both of these were empty too so my wife and I had a coke expecting the food to be replenished. After waiting over 20 minutes, finally something arrived so I got up to investigate but I am sorry to report it looked dreadful and tasted quite revolting. I kid you not that it was just a triangle of flour that was deep fried. Yuck !!!

Completely frustrated with the Executive Lounge, we thought we would give the hotel restaurant a try but got a shock of a different kind when we were told it was a buffet @ £25 per person. Not totally scared off, we did have a quick look and the food looked OK. However the same quality dishes are available in Glasgow City Centre and at a quarter of the price which is where we ended up eating.

Not deterred by last night's disappointment, we returned to the restaurant this morning for the famous Hilton breakfast. Hmmm....
1. At every other Hilton we've stayed at in the UK, we've been taken to our table and asked whether we want tea or coffee. At the Glasgow Hilton, it's very much serve yourself.
2. Indeed this serve yourself ethos extended to having inform the staff the plates had run out for the hot breakfast items. A properly run restaurant shouldn't have to rely on customers telling staff when they are no plates.
3. Our table was in a room that seemed off the main restaurant area and was separated by multiple wooden panels that opened at an angle. To go from your table to the food area meant having to pass through this section which had all the appeal of going through a turnstile at a football ground.
4. The smoked salmon, if that is what it was, was perhaps lowest quality I have ever eaten. If it wasn't smoked salmon, I apologise for besmirching the good name of smoked salmon.

However the Hilton Breakfast did have one redeeming feature and that was they serve Haggis for breakfast. I haven't a clue what's in it and probably don't want to know but it tasted superb with baked beans and a fried egg on top.

Would I stay here again? Yes but next time I will certainly not bother paying the premium for Executive Level rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibuprofenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

From start to finish the hotel and its staff provided an excellent business stay in Glasgow. The front of house staff were very professional, the room was well presented/modern and smelt fresh. Swimming pool and sauna was clean and the breakfast is amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaggieBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,019 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $90 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing