We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay, Not 5* hotel but 5* service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Stay, Not 5* hotel but 5* service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel was nice, dont like using that word but pretty much sums it up. a bit characterless, and not so much city centre as they would have you think.
I stayed in glasgow as I had a hosp appt the next day through there, to have an op, so all I wanted was a good nights sleep.
Around 10pm I could hear a constant loud banging coming from above. I somehow managed to get to sleep, only to be woken again around 8.30am with the same banging, I called reception who advised they would have someone look at it, i didnt hear anything back, I called again and spoke to Craig who investigated and advised me that they were fixing the lift shaft. how the first person didnt know this I do not know! But he was more than helpful and indeed dealed with my issue very professionally and offered me something to make up for this.
I think with the price Hilton charge then breakfast should be included if not at a reduced rate as £18 for breakfast is expensive!!
As for the hotel being 5* I wouldnt go as far as this as far as the rooms are concerned, there is nothing in them to make them 5* which to me means luxury.
Overall an alright stay but this review wouldve been worse had it not been for the professionalism of Craig at reception.

Room Tip: request a high floor, views better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    1,088
    434
    151
    110
See reviews for
494
1,120
156
776
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Birthday treat was an overnight stay in the Hilton, Glasgow. Complimentary wine and fruit set the tone for a really enjoyable stay. Room was very spacious and clean. Meal in the Morblas restaurant was first class - the carvery dinner (5 courses) catered for every taste and was well presented - the waiters were all friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The whole ground floor had been refurbished since we were last there and was very spacious and modern - great for enjoying a quiet drink after dinner. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all a great overnight stay and enjoyable birthday treat! Would recommend for any celebration.

Room Tip: Would recommend rooms above the sixth floor (we stayed in 7th) as views are good over the city. Corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homejames63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I enjoyed a long weekend at the Hilton. We enjoyed our stay but were not blown away.

Pros
- Arrived at 1.00pm on a busy Saturday afternoon and were able to check in.
- Bed large and comfortable
- AC in room
- taxis always available
- nice lobby area

Cons
- Breakfast not included even though we paid quite a lot to stay here
- Location poor for walking purposes. Located beside busy motorway slightly out from main city centre.
- Gym and changing rooms small and overcrowded
- no biscuits included with tea making facilities and mini bar locked
- no wifi in rooms

All in all we expected a little but more given that the hotel comes with a 5* rating. We did not eat in restaurant so cannot comment on food.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank angiejo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

THE FOOD
The food is still excellent. First class range, served with pride.
We thank leading chef Jim Carson, for his many outstanding meals.
Jims signiture dish is scallops. Our thanks also go to Ruaraidh Campell.

THE DECOR
We feel the decor is simply appalling. The beautiful fireplace, the elegant stain
glass, the iconic pictures , the balcony and even the carpet have all been stripped out.
The restuarant is now in a bare, carpetless room. I have been in some Macdonalds
with more character. Uncomfortable seats.

RESTAURANT STAFF
Apart from Sourav, the staff are superb. Always attentative, always helpful.
It is difficult to meet nicer people. We gratefully thank Heather, Courtney, Joy and Lisa.

CONCIERGE
These gentlemen are proud to be Glaswegians. Nothing is ever too much bother.
If you want to know anything about Glasgow......these are the people to ask.
If you are just in for a meal, please give them your parking ticket. If you park for
less than 3 hours they will annul the charge.

RESTAURANT HOURS
The management keep changing the opening hours. So its best to book.

Room Tip: ask for a high room overlooking the river Clyde. One of the worlds great rivers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here a Friday night with the wife for my birthday, had a great time. We werent planning anything other than a quiet night at the bar and a meal. We started at the bar with a few drinks and a couple of excellent cocktails. The staff were very helpful, friendly and quick to serve you or help you in any way they can. It was busy that night because of a fundraiser but it didnt affect our stay or the level of service we had. I upgraded to an executive room, as it was a special occasion, this gave us access to the executive lounge. Its worth the upgrade just for this perk as you get access to this area during the day for snacks etc then drinks between 6 - 8.30 which are all free and you get to relax without the queues at the bar as there arent too many people in here and it has a nice calm atmosphere.
We went into the restaurant, think its called Morblas, for our evening meal. It is a buffet style restaurant, which i guess is cheaper to run than a normal place because i can see no other reason for this. Dont get me wrong the food was good the staff were their usual very helpful self and we had no problems at all, its just that there is no style, atmospher, ambience, not sure how to describe it but it feels like going into the works canteen and walking about with your tray looking for your grub. The hotel is stunning and look 5 stars but this place just takes the edge off the stay, not classy enough for the surroundings.
Got our breakfast in the executive lounge aswell, no long queues, nice and relaxed and plenty of everything you need.
Overall we had a great stay and will definately be back, and definately in another executive room, although we wont be dining in the restaurant again.

Room Tip: Get a room with executive lounge access, its a nice perk and made our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Gersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friends and I had afternoon tea at the Hilton, (the one just off St Vincent Street in Glasgow, by the M8) in November and it really was absolutely wonderful! It was a great deal on Groupon and I can't sign their praises highly enough. The service was first class and so friendly, the sandwiches, cakes, teas and coffees all delicious. There was a large selection of teas to choose from and we topped it all off with a bottle of presecco. I will definitely go again and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear judith186534,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea at Hilton Glasgow.

I am so pleased to read of your "wonderful afternoon tea". It is always a pleasure to pass on positive feedback to our team.
Thank you again for the recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to Ti Tea Lounge at Hilton Glasgow very soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my husband for my birthday. We arrived and parked in the underground car park. We checked in quickly and were given room 1110 on 11th floor. On entering room it was very modern and looked nice. The view was over Kingston bridge.

There was a flat screen tv. Coffee making facilities and a hairdryer as well as toiletries in the bathroom. There was plenty of towels. It was a twin room but the single beds were on small side but very comfortable.

The shower was hot and had good pressure. There is mirrored wardrobes.

The spa is on first floor and lift goes directly to it. We went for a swim, sauna and jacuzzi. All were clean and working well. The area was busy but the hotel was fool.

There was treatment rooms but we didn't have any.

The breakfast was a buffet style and there was lots of choice. Pancakes, cereals, breads, yoghurts, fruit, muffins, pastries and a hot buffet. Haggis, hash browns and fatties scones. Was delicious.

Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Property: Hilton Glasgow
Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing