We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDEAL location for those travelling by train”
Review of Hilton Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent location ...walkable from the train station....rooms were good ....view of olden architecture/bridges from my room....nice breakfast....walking distance from underground just across the street......overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,456 - 2,462 of 3,416 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel for 2 nights on business. It's my third stay here and I have had a very mixed experience.

Check in is very quick, staff are very polite and are (usually) very happy to help. The lobby and bar areas are all lovely, clean and well furnished. The food in the bar, the restaurant and the breakfast hall is superb and the selection is vast especially at breakfast. Free wifi in the bar area and also sometimes free with the room. The pool and gym areas are also excellent.

The concern I have is with regards to the rooms. The first time I stayed here the room I was allocated was simply stunning, a spacious clean room with huge bed, lavish furniture and a marble bathroom. As a package i went home raving about the whole hotel but especially the rooms and recommended to family and colleagues.

The second stay here the room I was allocated was very average the decor was worn and it just looked very tired. A complete contrast to the room I had stayed in previously but I assumed it was a one off and accepted that this time I had been unlucky.

This evening I have arrived at the hotel and so far my experience has been poor! I am currently in a room with stained carpets, dirty/dusty furniture and a heating system that even on 30 degrees is still blowing out cold air when it's -4 outside! So far not a great! I am here for another night so will update review at end of my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gem03x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear gem03x,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

I am so sorry to hear of your poor experience during your recent stay with us and have shared your review with our Head Housekeeper and Front of House Manager to remedy the areas mentioned within your review.

It is totally unacceptable to be given a room in the condition you detailed within your review and can assure you that this is not the standard of service we strive to achieve.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me at sales.glasgow@hilton.com should you wish to discuss your stay further.

Kind regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

a beautiful hotel stayed in December all staff are very helpful the rooms are so very nice and the breakfast is a good one - great location right next to the city centre we had a really good stay here. thankyou

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear kerry096,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

I’m delighted to hear of your brilliant stay and look forwarding to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Glasgow.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Got a twin room for my daughters and an executive room with a balcony for myself, the executive room is worth that bit more for the access to the executive lounge for your bites to eat and beverages, cold, hot or alchohol, i had the later !! Not the 1st time ive stayed there and wont be the last !

Room Tip: Booked 2 rooms a twin for my daughters and an executive with balcony for myself. Had a faultless exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevenstewart104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Stevenstewart104,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Executive Balcony room and the offerings in our Executive Lounge. Our team always appreciate positive feedback.

It’s great to read that this “won’t be the last” stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our third stay at this hotel in the space of a year. This time we were staying for 2 nights.

As usual check in was quick and simple and we were allocated our room. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable.

There was sufficient towels and toiletries provided for the four of us staying in the room.

The pool and spa area was clean and quiet when we used it.

The breakfast as usual was excellent. A great choice of hot and cold foods available and it's always a highlight of our stay.

We are already looking a more dates for when we can book to stay again

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank tictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear tictraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review your third stay with us at Hilton Glasgow, we really appreciate you awarding us full marks.

It’s always a pleasure to read reviews from our loyal guests, we appreciate your feedback and I will certainly pass on your review to the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed over December as always just wonderful.
Staff so attentive, on the ball as always.
Rooms well equipped, very nice.
Food amazing drinks fab although some wines could be better priced.
Spa superb treatments on offer and fab swimming pool.
Location: fantastic for both City Centre and West end.
Would highly recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoserChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear PoserChic,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow and for awarding us full marks.
It is always a pleasure to pass on positive feedback to our team and we appreciate your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

For years now at the beginning of December, we've stayed in this hotel overnight after attending an annual dinner- dance. The rooms are comfortable; the food, considering the number of people eating- 400 to 600, is always delicious and beautifully presented and the service has always been excellent. However, at the end of the recent dance I discovered my phone taken out of my bag and raffle prizes removed from under the table where I'd stored them. Security implied that it could have been a fellow guest: who knows? I wouldn't cast aspersions. My point is: enjoy your stay but be careful when you leave the table unattended, you may find your belongings stolen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoJMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Hilton Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear MoJMo,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Glasgow.

Although I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your comfortable room and the service and food at your annual dinner dance, I am sorry to read of your experience regarding your phone and raffle prizes.
I have shared your review with our security team, unfortunately the hotel is not liable for unattended property belonging to our guests.

Should you wish to discuss your review further please feel free to contact me at sales.glasgow@hilton.com or call 0141 204 5555 and ask for Lisa in Business Development.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,008 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow

Address: 1 William Street, Glasgow G3 8HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $101 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the 5 star Hilton Glasgow Hotel is set in the heart of the city’s financial district, with excellent transport links and easy access to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC). Just 15 minutes from Glasgow International Airport and a a few minutes walk from the city's shopping district; this landmark hotel is perfect for business or leisure. One of Glasgow’s most stylish hotels, Hilton Glasgow offers 319 contemporary bedrooms providing every comfort, designed to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Each room boasts an LCD television with on demand movies, high speed internet access and complimentary toiletries.Keep fit in the hotel’s Livingwell Health Club,relax in The Ocean Rooms Spa or unwind and enjoy afternoon tea in Ti Tea Lounge.Sample Scottish hospitality at it's best in Morblas Seafood and Grill or relax with a cocktail in Connich Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Hilton International Glasgow
Glasgow Hilton International
Glasgow Hilton Hotel
Hilton Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing