We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In a very weird location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“In a very weird location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were amazed at the quality of the hotel given our perspective of the location.We know other Crowne Plazas, if you have been to Melbourne Aus - don't get too excited.. However it was great but very mean with the wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoylifeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, I’m pleased you enjoyed yourself. Our WiFi is free to all Gold and Elite IHG Reward Club members. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    842
    339
    169
    84
See reviews for
282
884
84
633
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great hotel, taxis outside door and about 6 sterling for two people to most places. If you are staying two days and its for sightseeing then get hop on hop off bus as it stops outside door but last route is at 6 pm. The hotel is a bit out of the city... Too far to walk.... but right on banks of rivet

Breakfast in hotel is one of the best with a wide range of vegetarian options incl. veg haggis .... For the brave!!! It's located right on the auditorium if the SNCC...a large conference centre so it's geared towards business people but we found it a Great base to see Glasgow from. Has fitness centre, gift shop and is great. Aloe for many. We ate in bar and was good and restaurant did deal for two eating at 20 sterling which was excellent,
The only downside is the windows do not open...a feature of so many hotels these days... And it can get v stuffy but air con is good.

Also join the preferred guest with crowne plaza if you travel a lot as there are may perks incl. free wifi, free parking late check out etc and its free to subscribe. Well worth it!

Room Tip: If you are not afraid of heights get a room in Top floors, we had 1022 and views amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mskeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our breakfast to be impressive. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is really good. A little in need of an upgrade, maybe, but probably a bit soon yet. Fantastic views, friendly staff who take the time to make sure you enjoy your Glasgow stay, spacious rooms, secure car parking (£6 a day is a bit steep but this is Glasgow and you won't do much better) and close to town (a pleasant 25 minutes if you walk and a very cheap taxi ride if you don't). Our only gripe is the WiFi. If its good enough for a farmhouse in rural Inverness to give free WiFi, then its good enough for you, Glasgow. And at £10 for 12 hours it would equate to £600 a month if that is what your normal ISP charged. Extortionate and unnecessary. That aside, there's not much to complain about here and, at the price, very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at higher levels have fantastic views. Don't miss out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your break with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time and found our team members to be very friendly and professional. Our WiFi is free to all Gold and Elite members of the IHG Rewards Club (previously Priority Club) for the duration of their stay. I’m pleased that aside from that matter you found us good value for money and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were staying at the hotel for a music weekend which included all our meals and entertainment. It was just such a perfect venue, the sun was shining when we arrived and the hotel was just fantastic. We were warmly greeted and also bid farewell to by Catherine and Marik on reception. The two girls were excellent and just could not do enough for you, they both had striking personalaties and are a absolute assest to this hotel. As they are probaly the first members of staff you encounter on arrival, they certainly set the standard. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the setting was lovely in the dining room as was the excellent food. Breakfast was something else, it was buffet style and had something for everyone, the food was fresh and hot, can honestly say one of the best buffet breakfasts I have had. We met a local couple who live just 6 miles from the hotel and they regularly stay there to enjoy an meal in the restaurant and the breakfast in the morning ( a good sign). We noticed a lot of airline pilots and crew, this is yet another good sign for high standards. Our room was extremly comfortable and spotlessly clean, it had a small fridge, air conditioning and the beds were very comfortable, we were overlooking the river on the 6th floor, which was very pleasant. Overall for the size of this hotel it has a most friendly atmostsphere and I would not hesiate to recommend it to anyone. It is conveniently located and we got a train into Central Station for £1.30 and a taxi back for £6. Overall I would rate it 11 out of 10, special thanks to Iwona Radkowska from food and beverages department who looked after us immensely during our stay, sorry for keeping you out of bed to the wee small hours. I look forward to my next visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda_14Larne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for highlighting why your stay was so perfect. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your music weekend with us and found everything to be to your liking. I will be sure to share your review with the two members of our reception team you interacted with. I’m happy you found your meals to be of a high quality with breakfast impressing you due to its selection and quality. I hope to welcome you back very soon for another relaxing break.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

stayed here two nights while attending an event. asked for a disabled room, and got one on the 15th. floor! handy if you had to escape and you cant use the lift? apprently there are only 2??. room was a double but not any good if it is you and a carer. room was well equiped with handrails etc and had a raised toilet which was great for me. cant complain about the food as i found no problems with it. overall a great place.

Helpful?
1 Thank onlyustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We have two fully equipped accessible rooms, for which we have received some extremely positive feedback, and a further two accessible rooms with adjoining rooms for the carer. Guests with disabilities are asked to complete a form on arrival indicating the level of assistance required should an emergency arise and I am sorry if this was not explained to you at the time of booking.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I don't know where to start really. This hotel is amazing.

We chose to have our wedding here on the 6th July 2013 in the Castle suite.

To start we stayed at the hotel from the friday night (5th July) until the Sunday (7th July).

All the staff were amazing who helped us with our stay, planning and execution of the day itself.

Bob and Barry at the concierge were amazing at helping us with all our many bags and cases and even went out their way to get some superglue to fix my tiara on the morning of my wedding (a stone had fell out).

Then there was all the staff who helped with making sure the room was set up perfectly. (There are so many staff here to name and wouldn't want to leave anyone out).

The chef, waiters and waitresses. All also helped to make our day so perfect.

Thank you to every member of staff who helped make our day so special and perfect.

Derek and Francesca Moyes-Feeney

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Moyes-Feeney,

Thank you for spending the time writing a review of your wedding with us. Reading a review such as yours makes me extremely proud of everything our hotel offers our guests. I will be sharing your kind words with everyone involved in your special day and I hope very much to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards and congratulations again to you both,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Conveniently located, easy to get a taxi outside. Hotel is good, club lounge is far too small. Only holds about 25 people max, which for 2 floors of club rooms, doesnt take a genius to work out is too small!

Perfect example was when we were there for the Glasgow 7s there was a conference r somehing in the SECC and there mud have been 40 people in there cramped and couldnt move. Somehow got a table though!

BAr is good and staff friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Club Lounge can get extremely busy at peak times however I am pleased that you managed to find a vacant table. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our team members friendly. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#26 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing