We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaint here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“no complaint here”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely room, friendly staff, good food,-had buffet dinner and the buffet breakfast both very good. Went to SECC and a direct passageway from Hotel to SECC did not have to go outside at all. Used the swimming pool, twice over the weekend pool was good, but found the changing rooms cold and the kids found the communal changing areas a bit of putting. Sauna and steam room were well used but never overcrowded. Would recommend the allround hotel experience as very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greig66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel. I’m extremely happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I am pleased you managed to experience our leisure facilities and enjoyed relaxing with us. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    865
    343
    173
    83
See reviews for
286
898
86
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 23/02/2013 to break up our trip on our way to the Highlands, from minute one the Hotel has a WOW factor from location, design, facilities, staff . . . all excellent. We stayed on 9th floor which has stunning views down The Clyde and across Glasgow. Check-in was absolutely painless and then up to our room which was spotless and well equipped and after a change and freshen up we went to front desk where the concierge "Bob" pointed out a few local places to eat as well as recommending the hotel restaurant. We had a charming evening in Glasgow and then took advantage of a reduced breakfast rate . . . and WHAT a breakfast it was . . . totally fresh and filling, well worth the money. Overall a first rate experience and we will definitely be back to both Glasgow and in particular this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Room above 9th floor and add on a breakfast if on Room Only rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MooreOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I’m always overjoyed to receive reviews such as yours where our guests have really enjoyed themselves. I am very pleased to read that your time with us was relaxing and brilliant across the board. I will share your review with our team members so they can see their hard work is appreciated by our guests. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

the hotel itself was pure bliss the rooms were clean and quite big for a hotel it was modern and had it's own shops. the food was lovely especially the buffet breakfast, there was plenty of choice. they had a fantastic spa and fitness centre with a small yet relaxing pool with jacuzzi. it was a great location we were close to famous attractions such as Glasgow's concert hall. it was a great holiday!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. I’m extremely pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be perfect for your time with us. I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and I hope to welcome you back again soon for another chance to relax.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

i cannot believe how down hill this hotel has gone, the room was nice and clean but thats where it ends, we arrived at the hotel at 15.30, checked in no problem but was surprised to get a knock on the door from 2 men wanting to clean the air conditioning fan in the ceiling! i think they could have done that between check out and check in times, not after guests have arrived, so we sat for 10 minutes in the room until they "cleaned" it, and left all the fluff and stew on the carpet, we then went down to the restaurant for supper which was terrible. after getting back to the room and going to bed we were woke up with what sounded like someone taking a stick over a radiator but realised it was the air conditioning, the noise went on and off all night. just to finish it off we went down for breakfast, which also was terrible, and my fork was bent so much, i couldnt believe that anyone would place that on a table at home never mind a hotel which used to have such high standards.and there was a young teenage girl having breakfast with her pyjamas on, running around the breakfast area, in her bare feet stealing all the small tubs and pkts and putting them in her mothers bag! surely there should be some kind of dress code! we stayed here as we had a concert and it is convenient for the secc, unfortunately we have booked again for another concert next month and i did ask at reception if i could cancel, as we did not enjoy our stay on this occasion, to which she replied ok thank you madame but it is non refundable, she has yet to ask why our stay was not pleasant. so we will have to stay again, but im afraid after that we will no longer use this hotel, which is a shame as it was such a nice hotel before. very disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loop420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am so sorry that our maintenance team interrupted you shortly after check-in and there is certainly no excuse for them not to have cleaned up. We do have a policy in place where routine maintenance tasks should not be carried out when guests are in the room and this message has been reiterated to all team members.

Regarding your comments about the food at dinner and breakfast, as you have not been specific about what you found wrong, it is difficult to respond however I have asked our chef and restaurant manager to ensure standards are always adhered to. You are quite right that diners at breakfast should be appropriately dressed and I have brought this to the attention of our restaurant team to ensure this type of situation is not repeated.

I note that you are planning to return to the hotel later this month and if you let me know when you are coming, I will ensure you receive the standards that one has come to expect at the Crowne Plaza.

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Accommodation fine but advise eating elsewhere. Food poor quality and service awful in restaurant. Waited over 30 minutes for a piece of chicken and dried up potatoes and this when restaurant very quiet. Receptionists efficient but rather abrupt, other staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeRe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your meal in our restaurant and found it not to the standard our food should be at. Your comments have been noted and I will be sure to discuss this with our restaurant team. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great lace to stay!! Customer service, food, entertainment.', leisure services! The works! Can't go wrong!

Were even lovely when I had to request soya milk and returned a meal being lactose intolerant! Ace staff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on our hotel. I’m very pleased that everything was great and our team members handled everything during your stay well. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a 5 day visit to Glasgow in February with my family (2 young children). I would say this is more of a conference/business hotel. It has a link directly to the SECC (conference centre) which is very convenient for people attending conferences there. My children really enjoyed the buffet breakfast and swimming pool, and it was conveniently located near the Science Centre but apart from this, it wasn't particularly child friendly in terms of activities for children etc. Nevertheless, still a very good hotel and it suited our purposes (we always need a hotel with a pool). Also good for those wanting somewhere away from the busy city centre.
I have marked it slightly down for 'cleanliness' as there were several large wet patches of white powder on our carpet for several days which noone seemed too concerned about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am very pleased to read that you and your young family enjoyed our hotel, especially our pool – I hope it helped wear them out for you! Our hotel does have more of a business feel to it but we cater very well for families.

I’m sorry your room was not as clean as we’d like it to be – should this happen again please don’t hesitate in contacting front desk to arrange for someone to come clean it. I hope to welcome you all back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
1,101 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#26 of 95 in Glasgow
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,217 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,896 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Property: Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing