We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

the hotel itself was pure bliss the rooms were clean and quite big for a hotel it was modern and had it's own shops. the food was lovely especially the buffet breakfast, there was plenty of choice. they had a fantastic spa and fitness centre with a small yet relaxing pool with jacuzzi. it was a great location we were close to famous attractions such as Glasgow's concert hall. it was a great holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. I’m extremely pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be perfect for your time with us. I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and I hope to welcome you back again soon for another chance to relax.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,601 - 1,607 of 2,411 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

i cannot believe how down hill this hotel has gone, the room was nice and clean but thats where it ends, we arrived at the hotel at 15.30, checked in no problem but was surprised to get a knock on the door from 2 men wanting to clean the air conditioning fan in the ceiling! i think they could have done that between check out and check in times, not after guests have arrived, so we sat for 10 minutes in the room until they "cleaned" it, and left all the fluff and stew on the carpet, we then went down to the restaurant for supper which was terrible. after getting back to the room and going to bed we were woke up with what sounded like someone taking a stick over a radiator but realised it was the air conditioning, the noise went on and off all night. just to finish it off we went down for breakfast, which also was terrible, and my fork was bent so much, i couldnt believe that anyone would place that on a table at home never mind a hotel which used to have such high standards.and there was a young teenage girl having breakfast with her pyjamas on, running around the breakfast area, in her bare feet stealing all the small tubs and pkts and putting them in her mothers bag! surely there should be some kind of dress code! we stayed here as we had a concert and it is convenient for the secc, unfortunately we have booked again for another concert next month and i did ask at reception if i could cancel, as we did not enjoy our stay on this occasion, to which she replied ok thank you madame but it is non refundable, she has yet to ask why our stay was not pleasant. so we will have to stay again, but im afraid after that we will no longer use this hotel, which is a shame as it was such a nice hotel before. very disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loop420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am so sorry that our maintenance team interrupted you shortly after check-in and there is certainly no excuse for them not to have cleaned up. We do have a policy in place where routine maintenance tasks should not be carried out when guests are in the room and this message has been reiterated to all team members.

Regarding your comments about the food at dinner and breakfast, as you have not been specific about what you found wrong, it is difficult to respond however I have asked our chef and restaurant manager to ensure standards are always adhered to. You are quite right that diners at breakfast should be appropriately dressed and I have brought this to the attention of our restaurant team to ensure this type of situation is not repeated.

I note that you are planning to return to the hotel later this month and if you let me know when you are coming, I will ensure you receive the standards that one has come to expect at the Crowne Plaza.

Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Accommodation fine but advise eating elsewhere. Food poor quality and service awful in restaurant. Waited over 30 minutes for a piece of chicken and dried up potatoes and this when restaurant very quiet. Receptionists efficient but rather abrupt, other staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeRe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your meal in our restaurant and found it not to the standard our food should be at. Your comments have been noted and I will be sure to discuss this with our restaurant team. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great lace to stay!! Customer service, food, entertainment.', leisure services! The works! Can't go wrong!

Were even lovely when I had to request soya milk and returned a meal being lactose intolerant! Ace staff!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review on our hotel. I’m very pleased that everything was great and our team members handled everything during your stay well. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a 5 day visit to Glasgow in February with my family (2 young children). I would say this is more of a conference/business hotel. It has a link directly to the SECC (conference centre) which is very convenient for people attending conferences there. My children really enjoyed the buffet breakfast and swimming pool, and it was conveniently located near the Science Centre but apart from this, it wasn't particularly child friendly in terms of activities for children etc. Nevertheless, still a very good hotel and it suited our purposes (we always need a hotel with a pool). Also good for those wanting somewhere away from the busy city centre.
I have marked it slightly down for 'cleanliness' as there were several large wet patches of white powder on our carpet for several days which noone seemed too concerned about.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I am very pleased to read that you and your young family enjoyed our hotel, especially our pool – I hope it helped wear them out for you! Our hotel does have more of a business feel to it but we cater very well for families.

I’m sorry your room was not as clean as we’d like it to be – should this happen again please don’t hesitate in contacting front desk to arrange for someone to come clean it. I hope to welcome you all back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The more I thought about writing this review, the more I cant actually believe the price I paid for a tacky, outdated and overpriced hotel and why did I book it more than a year in advance.......because its directly linked to the SECC and that is the only positive thing I have to say.

I should have known better that for a hotel of this size, its bound to be tired and overworked like a donkey but jeewizz the rooms really arent that great to comand the amount of money the are charging.

We made the poor decision to dine in the restaurant before our concert and it was like school dinners..... just really rank buffet food with no thought or imigination. I felt quite offended after dinner that they could serve so much rubbish, not to mention having to pay nearly £70 for the two of us. We would have had better food at one of the outlets in the SECC.

We paid the price for convenience and it wasnt worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal in the restaurant prior to attending a concert at the SECC. Since your stay in September of last year, we have reviewed our menus and several changes have been made. Our ground floor areas were refurbished in the Autumn of 2011 and I am sorry to that you thought the hotel was tacky and outdated. You may be interested to learn that further refurbishment is planned to take place later this year. I do hope you will visit us again to witness the improvements made.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night to attend a concert at the SECC just myself and my son. We've stayed here before and knew we'd be back as i love this place. The staff are always friendly and helpful, check in is quick and you can get into the SECC via a walkway connected to the hotel so it was perfect. The room was spotless (14th floor) and the view is as always beautiful especially at night. Very comfortable and spacious. The restaurant is excellent and i especially liked the breakfast as it is a buffet style layout and you can just choose whatever you want. Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere makes it such an enjoyable experience and it's one place i have no doubt we will be returning to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I am very pleased to receive reviews such as yours as it shows our hard work does not go unnoticed. I am extremely happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will return in the future.

Kind regards,

Dominic McVey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,008 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $100 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing