We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definately be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is the second time we have visited the hotel, this time as a family. We had a club room, its well worth it as drink prices in the hotel are a bit pricey. It cost £17.50 for a coffee, glass of milk, diet coke, bottle of cider and pint of beer. At least being in a club room, gives you access to drinks and snacks throughtout the day and you dont have to worry about expensive bar bills. Staff were extremely friendly, especially with our 1 year old. Nothing was too much bother for them and they were happy to help. Female showers in the swimming pool changing rooms were freezing, but the chap got onto it straight away and the next day they were warm. Could do with a DVD player in the bedrooms esp for families as when baby is in her bed, it would have been nice to watch a DVD we brought. A highchair in the club room would be helpful, as trying to feed a 1 year old on your knee is not easy. Food excellant and we stayed on for Sunday lunch. Never thought we would have to do anything further with our car park ticket, went to put it in the barrier and it said we owed £2.50. Yet my brother got his car park for free as he came and joined us for lunch. Took 2 attempts of phoning for assistance and explaining we had stayed and bought Sunday lunch before we got out and half a dozen cars behind us..they must have thought i had just forgotten to pay for my ticket. That needs addressing as it made me look a bit daft!! But we wills till be back, but wiser this time to car parking

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

The heading on your review says it all. Thanks very much. We regularly price check our bar tarrifs with other major hotels and find that we do charge considerably less, similarly with our restaurant menus etc.
Your other comments are noted and will be reviewed at our Operations Meeting.
Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,051 - 2,057 of 2,423 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

The Glasgow Crowne Plaza isn’t like other Crowne Plaza hotels I’ve stayed at. My first impression was that the hotel, which was previously a Moat House, is a little dated. The air conditioning in the room was too loud for me to leave on overnight which was annoying as it’s not possible to open the window. I was also disappointed by the gym which is small and has old equipment. On a positive note, the staff are professional and friendly and the restaurant offers a very nice and good value “hot table” carvery option every evening. The hotel is also ideally located for the SECC.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamond-elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Thankyou for posting a review following your stay. I am pleased to confirm, following clent feedback , we called in specialist AC Engineers who have finally identified the root of the problem resulting in a major investment to replace our system. This work is scheduled to be finished in the next 10 days. ( No disruption whilst works carried out )
I hope you will come back and visit soon.

Regards

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed here for one night when attending Take That concert at Hampden. Check-in was a bit slow but it was very busy with other concert attendees and airline cabin crew. Got a double room on the 10th floor which looked just like those on website, so wasn't disappointed. Room had nice views over the water and the city. Had everything you need in it - tea/coffee, mini bar, hairdryer etc but our only gripe would be that the window didn't open at all.Not sure if this is for health & safety reasons or because of the design of the building (exterior is all mirrored glass). Room was a bit stuffy and although it does have air con, the air quality wasn't great and I felt dehydrated in the morning. Other than that, the room was clean and definitely served its purpose.
Didn't have dinner at the hotel but we did have a late drink in the Quarterdeck Bar - I say 'a drink' because it was just the one. At just over £14 for two Baileys, we weren't keen to make a night of it.
We were down quite early for breakfast and the hot buffet was plentiful and very tasty. Friendly and attentive staff. Check out was swift and pain-free. Knew about the £5 parking charge so not too upset about that - at least this hotel has parking where a lot of other more central hotels don't. All in all, a nice hotel and perfect for a 1 night stay such as ours. Not sure I would choose to stay there if I was down for a weekend break in Glasgow as not quite central enough, but if attending an event at the SECC, you can't get any closer!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MummyOnHols98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Thanks for posting a review. I hope you enjoyed the Concert. As you quite correctly stated, Check In was busy due to the number of guests staying due to Take That. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast as well.
Whilst the Hotel is not City Centre, we enjoy a great Riverside location with great views and have the benefit of a large on site car park. The City centre is only 5 mins in a taxi which you can get from the rank at the front door.
Hope you will stay with us again,

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We booked 2 rooms here for one night after the Elton John Concert at the SECC. Loved it! Great rooms on the 14th floor. Fabulous views of the Clyde and beyond. Rooms were lovely. A little tired but spotlessly clean, with some nice touches. Complimentary tea and coffee tray and water. Little spray for your pillow to aid sleep, bathrobes etc. We were delighted with it all. Staff were very helpful and friendly. At check-in it was very busy but everyone dealt with quickly and efficiently. Breakfast next day was delicious. Freshly cooked and lots of choice. Did not mind the £5 charge for parking as it enabled us to leave the car after checking out, to do some shopping etc. We are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Ask the staff - they want to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Great review , thanks for posting it. Delighted to read that you are already planning a return trip.

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed a night at the Crowne Plaza. The room was good, clean and fairly large, with all the amenities common to a hotel of this class. The breakfast buffet had a reasonable spread. We didn't have any occasion to call for any hotel services, but the various staff at the reception/concierge were all quite friendly.

Location wise it's right next to the SECC and the 'Armadillo', which is great if you're attending any events there. Otherwise it's away from the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

As you quite correctly state, the Hotel is a short taxi ride into the City Centre but well worth it due to the riverside location, attached to the SECC with a large car park,

Regards,

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Not worth the money. We booked in December 2010 and asked for a double room, but did not get it when we came to stay last week The hotel could not give us any explanations other that they did not have any available and as the receptionist looked like it was a bit weird that two women wanted to share a bed (we been married for six years) we just thought it was another hotel with an attitude problem, but then I saw other people have had the same problem. They promised us a newspaper in the room, we did not get it any of the days we stayed there. I asked them to come and pick my dry cleaning at 8 am one morning but nobody showed up and when I called back after breakfast I was told that it was too late and that I had to wait for the next day. In the end they came to pick it up anyway, but I had to fight for that one and that should not be necessary in a hotel like that. The breakfast was poor and they did not give us what they promised in the leaflet on every breakfast table. We will never go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorkeFykse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Thankyou for posting a review. Feedback is always important even if we do sometimes get it occasionaly wrong.

Advance Purchase rates are for standard rooms only and neither Double or Twin Rooms can be guaranteed even if requested at the time of booking.Bedrooms are then allocated on arrival, subject to availability and whilst we do our utmost to honour all requests - sometimes this is not possible. Following similar feedback we have reviewed the bedroom description in an effort to make this more clear. I highlight this, not as an excuse but by way of an explanation.

There is however no possible excuse for the issues you had with the Laundry, newspaper and breakfast all of which has been discussed with the relevent manager.

Despite your comments, I do hope you will reconsider and stay again with us so as to see that improvements have been made.

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here as we were having our wedding reception at the nearby Tall Ship. We got upgraded to the 14th floor courtesy of being a platinum priority club member and also it being our weddding - thanks the extra space was so helpful for my wife and bridesmaid to have their hair done in. My wife used the beauty saloon for her make up and looked stunning, she was very happy with the products used, which has meant I had to buy her some lol. The view of the city, clyde and sea planes was awesome. The hotel was a little too warm to say the least, Breakfast was fabulous especially the spicy haggis loved it. Most of the staff were wonderful but not all. I was surprised to see the bar close at 1am. Generally the hotel hasnt changed a lot since my last stay 15 years ago. I will happily stay here again though. The concierge was very helpful as we had lots of suff with us. I didnt appreciate paying £5 for parking especially when blocked in by traffic for the SECC.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exigeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMcVEY, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Congratulations on your recent Marraige. I'm very pleased you chose the Hotel to stay in and that everything went well. We are very fortunate to have Isis, our Beauty Salon from which we get many compliments.

As a platinum PCR member, i hope you will stay with us again soon.

Dominic McVey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,022 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $92 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing