We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glasgow trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My first visit to Glasgow! Been round the world, lived in Africa and never visited Glasgow! A super first hotel to visit- comfy, friendly and efficient. Spent two nights, slept well, very nice breakfast- good choice, even cooked me vegetarian sausages when I asked for them. Staff very helpful, especially Terri on reception( he even asked next day when hearing that my daughter was in travelling in THAILAND as the coup happened the previous day- very thoughtful!) when t.v didn't seem to operate properly hotel couldn't be more helpful-immediately sorted and manager even came up to room and apologised! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had rooms at the back- some noise later at night from revellers but nothing horrendous, I slept w...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review on your stay at the hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feeback and I will share this with the rest of the team. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in Glasgow.

I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland and will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent location, room was a good standard, breakfast was excellent. Reception staff all very helpful. Easy to get around the city centre walking and accessible for trains and buses. There were no noise issues considering it was the city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will ensure I share this with the rest of the team!

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

..... the room and bathroom were cramped and in need of a revamp. Secondary double glazing is totally inadequate for keeping out the late night / early morning noise from outside and the windows were filthy (our room looked out on to Ingram Street). The main door didn't fit the frame properly so we had problems with light and noise from the corridor and lift. Thin walls too so we could hear everything the neighbours were saying and doing. Toilet pipe leaking over the floor throughout the two night stay. We almost didn't stay for the second night but it had been paid for in advance. On the plus side the location is great for sightseeing, the bed was comfortable, staff helpful and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the hotel location which is ideal for exploring the city centre.

It is a shame that we did not have the opportunity at the time of your stay to discuss your issues regarding the room, we may have been able to offer an alternative which would have made your stay more enjoyable. We are looking to replace all bedroom doors as part of a rolling refurbishment programme.

I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

great hotel staff could not fault them ( young man working in the bar Thursday evening what a asset to the hotel, really busy full of tourists and on his own worked really hard with a lovely smile thank you ) very handy for shops ect. but the bathroom , sink with large crack right across it, just so tired looking...........

Room Tip: try and not get a room to the left side of the hotel......next door is a casino
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faretara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am very pleased that you were able to take advantage of the hotels location, it's an ideal base for exploring the sights of the city.

We have endeavoured to replace basins as and when cracks appear, it is not always possible to do so immediately as a lot of the bathrooms have bespoke installations which are difficult to replace. Please be assured that we are replacing these as timely as possible.

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank saffers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at the Mercure Saturday night after cup final. Having read some of the reviews was a bit apprehensive, however I must say for the price it was just what we would have expected.

The hotel is in a great location, so central to everything, easy for public transport and has its own carpark.

The hotel reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and reasonable sized, although it was very warm.

Breakfast was ok, buffet style, plenty of choice and staff very attentive.

Hotel could maybe do with a face lift, however its all you could ask for on the budget.

Would recommend staying here if a good, clean, reasonable priced, central hotel is what you are looking for. Just don't expect the Ritz!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grendel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotels ideal location.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will ensure I share this with the rest of the team.

Thanks again

Regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is located conveniently close to the town center. Our room was small but clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a small café in the lobby where we had some expresso coffee and the server Gary was charming.

Room Tip: Room 101 looks out the front of the hotel onto the street
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were able to take advantage of the hotels ideal location.

I will ensure I share your comments with Gary, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thanks again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
963 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $86 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing