We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #70 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Needs a Refurbishment”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and thought the location, parking and customer service were really good. The rooms however are in desperate need of improvement (really awful shower, poor decor) and the wifi signal (whilst free) was unreliable. Great beds though. Overall value was okay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EwanandDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

We will take your comments on board and make improvements where possible.

I was pleased that you were able to take advantage of the hotels ideal location and found the service to be good. I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    355
    345
    131
    51
See reviews for
72
426
94
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in a double room (single use). The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout the stay. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the room had everything you'd need (safe, iron+board, hair dryer, wifi, bathtub, kettle+tea…). However, I am taking two points off because the radiator in the room made the most awful noises at the most terrible of the times (on one instance it woke me up at 6AM on a weekend…), having the room next to the elevator shaft only added noise, also I ordered room service on my first night, a cheeseburger, and it was not very good (very dry, overcooked patty…).

I would however return to this hotel, but to a room with a quiet radiator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevator shaft, it is also very loud (not just the radiator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hafer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry for the issues that you experienced during your stay, I do hope that we had the opportunity to discuss these at the time you stayed so that we can ensure we are consistent in delivering good service by implemented any improvements necessary.

I do hope that this did not detract too much from your stay and otherwise enjoyed your trip to Glasgow.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on sat 15 February. The staff were very polite and helpfull. The room was clean and bed was comfy. The only problem was that our room was next to the lane at the corinthian. There was music till the wee small hours. Would def stay again but would request another room. Kat

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KatandStevieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel. I am very pleased that your enjoyed your stay. I do hope that you had a pleasant stay in the city centre.

I hope your stay was not affected by noise, we do work very closely with neighbouring pubs and clubs to ensure noise is kept to a minimum.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojales, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I travelled by train for a change and had about a 7 or 8 minute walk to the hotel. Certainly not necessary to take a taxi. The hotel itself is in a good location for shopping and bars and restaurants (the nearby Mediterraneo can be recommended), but you will be spoiled for choice. The standard rooms are on the small side but with a good bath/shower. Like many city hotels it needs freshening up but the small bar and dining area is fine, and the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the hotel.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in particular your breakfast. I do hope that you enjoyed your visit to Glasgow and I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed one night for a conference. The hotel is ideally located in the centre and very close to Queen Street train station. I found the hotel to be old and tired and in need of a makeover. The room was very small, so was the bed. I did however have a good nights sleep. The best thing about this hotel is the staff who were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room at the back if you would like a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LighthouseFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

The hotel is of an older design and as such the room sizes can vary. I am sorry that the hotel failed to meet your expectations in terms of condition. I will pass your comments on to the bedroom design team to assess where improvements can be made.

I do hope that your conference was a success and will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visited end of January 2014 for 4 days.
This is our 2nd visit to this hotel & once again a good pleasant stay.
The Mercure Hotel is centrally located in Glasgow City Centre & just a 5 minute walk from either Central or Queen Street stations.

GOOD POINTS:
Great location
Very friendly staff including the evening/night staff
Well appointed rooms
Good breakfast
Nice atmosphere
Great bath/shower

BAD POINTS
Hotel needs a bit of attention, looking a bit tired
Bedrooms are on the small side
Wifi works but is slow
lack of value for money for wines & evening foods
Tv channels not always working & sometimes have a fuzzy picture

Overall its a great hotel & would stay again
And we were lucky as we got 4 days free breakfast
Just go to Accor website & check for discounts like we did

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeymourAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and make improvements where possible.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Glasgow City again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice room with comfortable bed, staff very helpful and friendly, only thing that let the hotel down was the rooms were not very soundproof, so kept awake by traffic noise and the people in adjoining rooms. Would be OK for a one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaci10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay I do hope that the noise issues you experienced did not detract too much from your stay.

I do hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,105 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#40 of 95 in Glasgow
943 reviews
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing