We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great Location for shopping, eating and drinking in Glasgow City Centre. Right in the centre just a stone throw away from Buchan Street, Argyle Street and Sauchihal Street it makes for a great stay. The only drawback is due to it being so central you do get some noise from local bars especially first thing in the morning clearing out bottles etc... The rooms are small but cosy and clean and staff very friendly. When eating breakfast i'd definitley chose from the menu as the buffet didn't have a great choice. All in all a nice hotel in need of some upgrade but the location certainly makes up for that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were able to take advantage of the hotel's ideal location for all that the centre of Glasgow has to offer.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed for a single night whilst on a night out. Check in was fine, no issues. Room was small but expected this having read other reviews. But it was clean, warm with a decent bed. Bathroom was again adequate although there was no hot water when I arrived at 3:30pm! But there was plenty in the morning for a shower.

Ingram Street is busy but it is bang central so everything you would need is there or a short walk. For location alone this is a good hotel. But it does ramp up the noise so my advice is to request a room on a high floor (6 or 7) and to the rear of the building. That means no view but perhaps a better sleep.

I've scored average as it is, but that doesn't mean bad. It delivers an adequate stay at a good price for city centre.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Aleximo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry for the hot water situation. Although I am unable to reconcile your comments with any known problem with the hot water so can only presume at this time that there was high demand on the system which may have caused a temporary issue with delivery.

I am glad that you were satisfied with your stay overall and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Glasgow City in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Location is great for a night out but the area is very noisy. This would not be a problem if the room had adequate glazing but along with the rest is in desperate need of updating. Room was tiny and the street noise kept me awake most of the night. Do not expect to get a parking space, car park is tiny and in no way secure. For the price you would not expect such a poor outdated facility.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

The hotel is of an older design and as such the room sizes can vary. Car parking is limited as 30 spaces are available, however, a discounted tariff is available at the local NCP which is available 24 hours if required.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Your sincerely
Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A typical chain hotel. The room was rather small and cramped, but there was adequate storage and everything we needed for an overnight stay. The sink in the bathroom had a large crack, which was rather off-putting. Very good central location, though, and it had a small, but adequate car park, which meant we didn't have to worry about finding somewhere to park the car. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a view of a wall, so it's probably best to ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you were comfortable during your stay at the hotel and had everything you needed.

I hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ADBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JayF72
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
986 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,072 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $79 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing