We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place good location but small room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed August 24, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TheManWithAHat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Excellent location, excellent staff, free wi-fi and handy parking round the back of the hotel which is a little tricky to find (but the staff at reception gave excellent directions) which isn't over priced, but my room was small with a horrible internal courtyard view, the bathroom needed some TLC too.

Didn't see any way to get to the breakfast restaurant other than via stairs (but could be wrong) if you're disabled or struggle with stairs it may be worth checking this out before booking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggiewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and feedback on your stay at the hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is of an older design, this means that the room sizes can vary. Also due to the building design, the main elevators were never installed to the basement level. As it was not possible to alter, the addition of a platform elevator was necessary which allows guests who have difficulty with the stairs or use wheelchairs to access the basement level. This also allows access to and from Ingram Street.

Thanks again for your comments

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

i have just stayed in this hotel on a business trip kind of under cover i am MD to a company who have the need to stay in hotels worldwide most nights of the year my employess on more than one occasion have found the need to complain to me and the staff at the hotel about this paticuler hotel,rather than take thier word for it (yes i do happen to employ some moaners) who are never happy whilst in the area i decided to stay and see for myself i have taken into account that this hotel is in the ideal city location for glasgow.the welcome at the front desk was quick and pleasent. however i found the room very small and dismal very grubby,TV had only very limited channels no free wifi for the room £4 a hour however there is a sign in the car park suggesting free wifi throughout the hotel ? car park very limited space and very tight access at the bottom of the ramp the noise from outside being the major problems i know this is in a city centre location but i used ear plugs just to sleep although a lot of noise i must admit are from the fellow guests shouting and slamming doors so not always the hotel fault.turned on the no so powerfull shower and the shower head fell on my head.?obviously it hadnt been checked for quite some time as the clip holding the head on was very loose i wasnt able to turn the bath taps off whilst having a shower so had a bit of both shower and bath this then caused the bath to fill up quite rapidly scolding my feet ? not the plug wasnt it just a load of human hair around the plug hole YUK,the water in the bath was still there in the morning so it was a slow dribble down the plug..obiously the bath hadnt been cleaned for awhile as their was a scum like topping on top of the water ,wasnt me i can assure you i shower twice a day ?
but not here ? i woner when the bedroom windows was last cleaned they was filthy and although double glazed in a vain attempt to keep out the noise from outside. breakfast was no good a little tea pot which you have to keep asking to get filled up i am sure this was done on 3 occasions with the same T bag in the pot ? bean oh yes no beans ..well they was eventually brought in by the cook who i informed that they was cold he then left them under the so called heat lamp and still remained cold.i noticed nobody touched them.i must say the bed was very comfortable i did bring my concerns to the gentlemen in reception and he did seem appolagetic ...this hotel really needs a overhaul ..i will not be booking my staff in here to it has done so ...i hate leaving bad reviews and i do try to be objective and see things from a diffrent point of view but i am struggling with this particuler hotel...

Room Tip: dont go !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatbelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I must sincerely apologise for the service and housekeeping issues you experienced as clearly these are unacceptable. I have passed on your comments to the relevant teams for immediate redress to prevent future recurrence.

The controls for the bath and shower are separate in the bathrooms. This allows for the bath taps and the shower to be controlled independently negating the need to run the water through the bath taps to operate the shower.

The hotel has complimentary standard Wi-Fi. The charges apply to premium Wi-Fi only which allows the user to access a faster connection should this be required. The landing page has been laid out with the three available options and I am unaware of any issues which would have prevented this from showing.

We are currently working on several refurbishment programmes at the moment and one of these is to replace all of the bedroom doors which should eliminate the issue of noise emanating from the corridors. I am sorry that your stay was affected by noise.

I am sorry for the issues you had during your stay and I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business, was £115 for one night EXCLUDING breakfast which was another £7.50. Very poor value, the hotel is tired and dated, my room was tiny and the shower was like a dribble. This is a big hotel brand so I'm surprised the quality is so poor.

On the plus side, good city centre location and the staff were extremely polite, pleasant and helpful.

Only stay here if there is no alternative on your price bracket.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerrWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay.

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and the hotel failed to meet your expecations of value for money.

It is a shame that we did not have an opportunity to discuss your issues at the time of your stay.

I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking Mercure properties in the future.

Your sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hall suggests a good hotel but receptioner was not so kind and smiling. The worst was room dimensions: our double one was so small that we were able to open not even a suitcase, without acrobatics.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and comments.
The hotel is an older design and as such the size of the room can vary.

I am sorry you felt the reception team were unwelcoming, we normally have great comments about the reception team and the welcome guests receive.

I do hope that you will stay with us again should you be in the area.

Regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very good position, friendly staff, room small and bed realy small for two persons. Breakfast ok but in a very sad room in the basement. Very surprised about the standard in compair with the mercure standard

Room Tip: Good luck!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay.

The hotel is of an older design which does mean that the room sizes can vary. The hotel beds are a standard size, I'm sorry if you felt it was inadequate, normally we have good feedback on the beds.

I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Best regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The room was booked by a third party. 2 rooms for 4 people. The male receptionist allowed the first two people to take both rooms which caused a check in delay of over an hour. His attitude was not that helpful and he didn't seem that bothered about the situation. We sat in reception for over an hour waiting for our room. Once we got into the room we found out that another couples bags and belongings had been removed from our room whilst they were out. They knocked on our door thinking that it was their room. This created another situation where I had to go back to reception to resolve. That night their were several guests allowed to make a lit of noise, punch doors etc. I wouldn't stay here again based on the service we received. In addition to this the rooms are tiny and uncomfortable and the hotel is far too hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmii977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City.

I am sorry for the issues encountered during your stay at the hotel.

The rooms were given, in good faith, to the person who presented the written confirmation for both rooms.
I would strongly recommend, as we would to all guests, that rooms are reserved under the name of the guest who will be occupying that room.

It is a shame that our conversations at the time of your stay have not dealt with the issues satisfactorily. If you wish to discuss these further, please contact me at the hotel directly.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#43 of 93 in Glasgow
1,005 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $73 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing