We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, location is very good & breakfast was good however the rooms are very small, very hot (needs air conditioning) as cant open the windows because very noisy with traffic, & people coming home late from the local bars & then woken up with early deliveries & local bars tidying up placing old glass bottles into outside bins. Beds are also very uncomfortable!!!!
The rooms & bathrooms are in desparate need of upgrading.
Unfortunately we would stay here again unless rooms are upgraded.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crawford H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am sorry that your stay was disturbed by noise. We do work very closely with our neighbouring establishments to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum. However, external noise is generally outwith our control.
Unfortunately, the hotel does not have air conditioning installed. We are able to provide a fan if this helps.
We normally get very good feedback about the comfort of the beds, it is a shame we could not have discussed this at the time of your stay so that I could look into this further.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Your sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel, having previously stayed when it was the Ramada Jarvis. We love the location of the hotel finding it a great base for a weekend stay with quality shops, restaurants and bars on your doorstep. As said in previous reviews the rooms are small, as are the beds - bit tight for two adults but perfectly adequate if travelling on your own. The lounge is comfortable to sit and relax. Breakfast was very good and catered for all needs. Free wifi was a plus too. Breakfast staff were very pleasant as was the lovely Jennifer on reception! To sum up our stay it was fine and I would stay here again, for the location it was very good value. The hotel could probably do with a refurbishment compared to other hotels and air conditioning would be good too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor as there is noise from the streets below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and comments.

I was pleased that you were comfortable during your stay and found everything your needed. The hotel is ideally located for exploring all the central Glasgow has to offer.

Thank you for your comments about the staff, I will ensure this is passed on especially to Jennifer.

I will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the hotel, thanks for your continued support.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel has best location if you looking for a central hotel. 2 min walk to Jorge Square and Glasgow queen Train station. 2 min walk to the famous Buchanan Street.

Wifi is free which is a plus. The hotel is clean but old, they dont provide slippers. They provide complementary coffe in the room, but no complementary water bottles. Staff are kind and helpful.

The room is very tight, and cannot prevent the noise coming from my annoying neighbors. TV is small cheap quality, the picture is not clear.

There is no pool, nor a fitness center

Room Tip: i chose standard double but it was very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is of an older design and as such the room sizes can vary.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently stayed in the Hotel for 3 nights during our visit to Glasgow. The room we were given was not as the photos indicated on bookings. Very small, I needed to ask my husband to move every time I wished to move around as there was not sufficient room for two to walk. There was a fire alarm call on the last morning of our stay at 6am which had us all out in the side alley for 10-15 minutes before being able to re-enter the building. Still we have not had a word of apology or any explanation for this even upon check out. There was even an error in the bill in our favour which we told them about for breakfast that morning and this was not even offered as compensation for the frightening wake up that morning. Don't order breakfast on line at the extra cost as it will be offered to you on check in at $2 cheaper again and this is greatly reduced from the walk in price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kplceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.
The hotel is of an older design and as such the rooms sizes do vary. The third party booking partners selling rooms on the hotel's behalf have artwork available for all classes of room available at the hotel.
The fire alarm is a life safety device and once activated, we must carry out laid down procedures. I am pleased to report that on this occasion, it was a false alarm, which was not the fault of the hotel. The fire brigade responded quickly and were able to resolve the situation within 15 minutes. Priority must be given to the evacuation and then assisting guests safely back into the building once the all clear is given. The hotel team is fully trained, they are able to answer any questions and deal with any issues at the time of the evacuation if required.
I can only apologise for any shortcomings you experienced and I hope that this has not put you off booking other Mercure properties in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Rooms are very small but booked in advance and only paid £54 so couldn't really complain at the price. Didn't appreciate being woken at 06.30 am by a fire alarm and had to trek outside and stand for 20 mins before being allowed back in, no explanation given but was obviously a false alarm! Breakfast was very nice, plenty to choose from and good quality food. Would stay here again as it is central to everything and a short walk from the train station

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable.

The fire alarm is a life safety device and once activated, we must follow our procedures for evacuation. On this occasion is was a false alarm, the fire brigade responded quickly and were able to resolve the situation within 15 minutes. The priority must be given to evacuation and then assisting guests back into the building once the all clear is given. The team is fully trained in dealing with evacuations and are happy to answer any questions that guests may have.

Thank you for your feedback and I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

For the price, I thought I was going to have a decent sized room along with a queen bed. Unfortunately, all that was on offer was a room with two twins. Which would be fine if they were comfortable. Unfortunately, the mattresses are old and unpleasant to sleep in. I can generally deal with a so so mattress, but the street noise is a different story. Unless you can sleep through anything, do not open your window (you may need to though cause it is rather stuffy in the room). The street noise included busses, garbage trucks, (large dumpster in the alley- better to keep your curtains closed) sirens and people screaming in the street until late. Granted the above is not within the hotel's control; however, they should make sure that there is an alternative to opening your window. The buffet breakfast was very disappointing - scrambled eggs were sitting in a pool of water. Disappointing enough that I ordered from the menu, which was decent. Eggs benny and oatmeal was ok - coffee was fine as well. Staff are friendly, but that isn't worth £100. As well, the parking in the back alley is sketchy...overall - small, stuffy rooms, terrible street noise, in need of renovations, and a bad breakfast. Would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and the hotel failed to meet your expectations.

I have passed on your comments with regards to breakfast to the food and beverage team for immediate redress. I am sorry the breakfast buffet was not at our usual high standards of quality and presentation.

I can only apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay, I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking with other Mercure properties in the future.

Regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

i stayed here for one night and it was terrible ,the room was too small and stuffy i tried to open the window ..it only opened about 4 inches and then there was a sheet of glass behind that ..so no air for me then....i also had to park in the street and had to move my car by 8 o'clock in the morning so thought i would order breakfast to my room as i would not have time in the morning to go down for breakfast...only to find i could not get any cooked food ,then i thought bed time...oh no....the bed sloped at each side and was bulky in the middle...i was scared to go to sleep incase i rolled over and landed on the floor ...or cracked my head on the side cabinet before hitting the floor...good point..the so called breakfast came on time and the girl who brought it was very nice...oh well never again...sorry....

Room Tip: another hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel

I am sorry that your experience did not match to your expectations. The hotel does have a car park available for guests and if that happens to be full, the hotel has a discount available with the NCP on Glassford street.
For health and safety reasons, the windows are fitted with restrictors that do initially prevent the windows from being opened fully. However, the restrictors can be released to allow the windows to open fully. We are also able to provide fans if this helps during periods of warmer weather.
I am sorry for the issues you experienced with the bed, this should not have been the case and I have asked the houskeeping and maintenance team to rectify this as a matter of urgency.

I do hope that this experience has not put you off booking with other Mercure properties in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
985 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,071 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $80 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £10.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing