We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #70 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

For the price a great hotel. Rooms slightly on the small side, and certain areas could do with a refurb. However, everywhere was clean, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, bar prices reasonable for a hotel, and a brilliant location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay with us at Mercure Glasgow City.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotel's handy location.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Glasgow.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    347
    333
    129
    50
See reviews for
70
416
93
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very nice. Check in staff very friendly. Room is a bit in the small side. Book your room on late rooms and you'll get it much cheaper!! Overall, a fantastic hotel, with a great location. Smack bang in the middle of the city centre!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daft_bugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and comments about your stay with us at Mercure Glasgow City.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotel's handy location. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, 5 out of 5, can't say better than that!

Thanks again, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a great little hotel,close to the best shopping and eating areas of Glasgow.
Only a 5/10 minute walk from both main railway stations
We only stayed 1 night as we were attending a concert at the famous Barrowlands venue, only 15 mins walk through the buzzing Merchant City area.
We are now looking for another reason to visit The Mercure again! The room was a good size with a massive and extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was modern and very clean ( which is the 1st thing I check!) Breakfast was great with a large choice from the buffet and menu.All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.
I'd recommend staying here to any visitor to the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your great review about your stay with us at Mercure Glasgow City.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location is excellent for train stations, pubs, restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was very good with excellent service. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. Only complaint was to do with the room size. Was very small and had to move furniture the one chair to another place in the room. There wasn't anywhere to store our case in the room. At least one drawer in the room would have been appreciated. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windows603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and feedback on you stay with us at Mercure Glasgow City hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is of an older design and as such the room sizes can vary, I hope that this did not detract from your stay.

I hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were staying overnight in Glasgow for my partners birthday night out, one night only.

The location of this hotel is fantastic, and the room looked great when we arrived, small but had everything we needed. On returning from dinner though, our room was stiflingly hot, and with no air conditioning and no way to control the radiators we could only open the windows a crack which didn't help and only accentuated the noise from outside- try to get a room at the back if you can, it was a Friday night but even so it was really noisy into the early morning.

In addition, the bed was very uncomfortable and as a result, we slept terribly. On checking out we told the staff this, but did not receive an apology or any kind of compensation. They just explained that they had the heating up high as it was cold that night.

Such a shame as it was a convenient place to stay, but we definitely won't be going back next time we are in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Don't have a room at the front as it was very noisy, even for a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaC1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and feedback about your stay.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have air conditioning, the windows do have safety catches which stop the window opening fully initially, however, these can be released which allows the window to open fully. The heating is activated centrally, however, the radiators in the rooms can be controlled with the thermostatic control on each heater.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and I am disappointed that you will not return to the hotel in the future. I hope that your experience has not put you off booking other Mercure hotels in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I'll echo the review by Lisa K. My hotel evacuation was two nights later at 12.30 at night, again no explanation.
The hotel is in a great location, the reception is efficient with friendly staff but the rooms leave a lot to be desired.
Mould on my windows, heating erratic, hot-ish water only after running the shower for ten minutes, wifi doesn't reach the rooms and if you're near the front the constant drone of the two small lifts will keep you awake.
It's not the worst but I won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dode k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. From time to time, situations will arise which causes the fire alarm to activate, the hotel has set procedures which must be actioned upon any activation of the fire alarm, whether false or not. The fire brigade will attend to site and give the all clear at which point, it will be deemed safe to re enter the building. I am sorry if it was not made entirely clear, however, we are happy to answer any queries that any guests have as a result of fire alarm activations.

We are working on a project to bring WiFi to all guest bedrooms, I am hoping that this will be going live soon. Unfortunately it has been delayed. In the mean time, free WiFi is provided in the lounge and there is internet available through the in room services.

I am sorry to hear that you won't return to the Mercure Glasgow City, I hope that this experience has not put you off booking other Mercure hotels in the future.

Your sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#37 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#84 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing