We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Night Stay for Conference at SECC - Perfect - Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #70 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Broadbridge Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“3 Night Stay for Conference at SECC - Perfect - Great Staff”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recently stayed here for a 3 night stay while exhibiting at the the SECC.
This place is made by the very friendly staff - 2 mentions deserved - The Housekeeping Manager (sorry forget her name - maybe Lorraine) was duty manager on our first afternoon - very friendly and good fun, plus very helpful with directions (hope you got the foot cream I left for you?). Chris on reception - he was working the same shift and was also very friendly and easy to chat to.

Hotel is a Good location for the SECC - £6 in a Taxi.

Bedrooms - Fairly small but very clean and all I required.

Breakfast - Good, lots of choice and very cheery staff.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, I hope you will indeed return to stay with us again in the future.
I shall pass on your thanks to Laraine and Chris, they certainly are an asset to our team.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    347
    333
    129
    50
See reviews for
70
416
93
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

booked the hotel as great location in the city although the location plans didn't show very well where the parking is. Its accessed via Glassford st and Wilson st if you are in a car or if on motorcycle you can get to it via Virginia place. they have relatively secure parking for both but we were put in a different area away from the cars and closer to the hotel which was great. The staff were always very helpful but we couldn't have asked for more that when we went to leave found that my rear tyre was flat and looked after my partner and our luggage while I went of with the AA to get the tyre sorted.
Eating out we found that there was a good selection of restaurants a short walk away in Merchant Square off Candleriggs and all indoors with an outdoors feel to it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and had time to explore the local surrounding area. I am sorry to hear about your flat tyre, I trust you managed to get this sorted out quickly.

I hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future should you be in the area.

Many thanks and regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here with my husband in May as we were going to the Arches.
Very central location, close to shops and clubs etc.
Room was a bit small but for us was perfect. Staff were lovely and the breakfast was out of this world! So much choice aswell as a menu you can order things like eggs benedict and kippers from. We enjoyed our stay very much and will stay again one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argyll2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review and feedback about your stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback

I really hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I had a lovely honeymoon at the mercure hotel. Perfect location. perfect for shopping and sightseeing. Excellent room service, food and staff. Would definitely go again. The Room was very clean. Loved the Toiletries. The food was outstanding. Very healthy options.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments.

I am very pleased that you were able to celebrate your honeymoon with us and that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope that we have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here for two nights to attend a conference. I found it to be very central and a short walk from Queen st railway stn. I had a comfortable room with everything I needed. The conference/ mtg
went well and the food and beverages as part of it were very good and all served timeously. I would recommend it for a short stay or if you were organising a conference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and feedback.

I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything went well with your meeting.

I would be delighted to hear from you should you be returning to the area again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Got a good deal for 3 nights - £130. Great location for shopping, bars and restaurants. Parking behind the hotel at £6 per day - great for the area. Double room was very small - little room to move around the bed. Third floor close to the lift - not ideal for corridor noise. Hotel seemed to have gone overboard with the heating - 3 very uncomfortable overheated nights sleep.... or lack of it! Tried opening the very stiff windows but as the room overlooked Ingram St the street noise put pay to that!. Bathroom was great - plenty of towels and lashings of hot water. A mixed review then.....the choice is yours!

Room Tip: Would try for room at the back of the hotel and away from the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeonsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for your review and feedback regarding your stay with us.

The hotel is of older design and as such the room sizes can vary. The heating operates on a timer and when activated, it is possible to control the heat from the radiator using the thermostat control. We can provide fans where necessary.

We are currently undertaking a project which will see all bedroom doors replaced and improved fitting and closure systems. Hopefully this will help to reduce noise emanating from the corridor.

I do hope that you will decide to return to the hotel should you be in the area in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location for Queen Street and Argyle Street train stations. Yes the room was small but so was the price. Got a double room for £43 instead of the normal £60 odds. We also decided to add on breakfast once we got there as it was only £7.50 each if you booked it before the next day (normally £13.95 each I think). It was your typical buffet style with items from a fry up, cereal, yoghurt, fruit and different juices, tea and coffee. We also could have had some fish items or eggs benedict if we had wanted to. The hotel also gave us a voucher to get a free drink with a 2 course dinner in their restaurant which was nice, but we already had plans to eat out. The bed was really comfy and the ensuite was spotless.The hairdryer was really powerful - (always a delightful surprise) and the shower was hot and also quite powerful so quite pleased with that. No toothpaste in the bathroom (there were shampoo and shower gel) so I went to reception and they gave me some no fuss (comes with a toothbrush in case any of you forget yours). The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Overall I was quite satisfied with my stay. Tasty brekkie, comfy bed, immaculate bathroom. What more do you need for a quick stopover? Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahM089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything you needed.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#84 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing