We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #70 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

the hotel was a short walk from train station. it was right in town.. the rooms were a good size & the bathroom was nice..they offered free wifi in lobby area.we only stayed 1 night & moved on to edinbough which we liked better...enjoy glasgow for a night or 2, but move on:)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachblondegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review! 5 out of 5, can't say better than that!

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope you will come back to Glasgow in the future

Kind Regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    339
    325
    129
    50
See reviews for
68
406
92
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Got a great deal for a short stay at this hotel - received a warm welcome and appreciated the great location of the hotel. The room was comfortable but felt claustrophobic (low ceiling, smallish room) but i guess thats why i paid so little for a city centre room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_Worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your review
I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
The location of the hotel really is excellent.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasgow in the future

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
474 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 665 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great staff team who are always willing to go out of their way help. Walls can be a bit on the thin side if you have noisy neighbours though. Great value for a city centre location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KieranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review.
I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Glasgow

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Really can’t fault this hotel for location in Glasgow! Have stayed a couple of times now with my partner and both occasions have been great. Reception staff are very polite and attentive and will ensure you get all the help you need. Your right in the heart of Glasgow and everything is a close walk away!

The breakfast is a buffet style and will set you up for the day! If you check their own web site out you can get some great deals which are cheaper than a Premier Inn!!!

Will defiantly stay again and keep looking for deals cause at some of those prices you really can’t go wrong!

P.S. If you like a nice bar to relax in One Up just 2 minutes round the corner I would recommend for a nice environment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hotel location certainly is absolutely ideal for exploring the city and the local nightlife.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed at the hotel on Saturday night.

We were met at reception by a lovely young lady who was very pleasant and happy, she made the check in (and out!) process an easy experience, her smile went a long way.

The rooms were immaculate and perfect for our girly night out in Glasgow – location is fantastic too! Our rooms certainly were not ‘tired’ as per other reviews and were cleaner and smarter than some new hotels I have stayed in that have only just opened.

Breakfast was just what we needed in the morning after a few too many drinks the night before. All of the girls serving at breakfast were lovely and nothing was too much trouble, the food was great too.

If I ever need a place to stay in Glasgow in the future I will be back, and I will be recommending the hotel to friends and family.

This hotel really should be proud of their staff as they really made our stay, others in the service industry could take a leaf out of there book.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally_Edinburgh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your excellent review.
It's always a nice to receive positive feedback.
I do hope we have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.

Thanks again

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The staff here are the hotel's best asset. Incredibly friendly and helpful. Especially the ladies who looked after us at breakfast. Rooms were fine if a little small.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller200926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your great review.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Glasgow City in the future.
Kind regards

Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4ngts last week and very glad I did not listen to all the bad reviews it had. It was a great place kind staff very clean, rooms fine cant fault it in any way!!!
A great big thanks too all the team at the mercure Glasgow!! I will be back! Just one thing if your looking for the Hilton then go pay there prices and you still not beat the staff and breakfast at the mercure!! thanks for having me mercure!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsCoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your great review, I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I do hope that you will decide to stay at Mercure Glasgow City on your next visit to Glasgow.
We will look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks again
Monica Docherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#86 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Glasgow City is on the doorstep of the contemporary Merchant City: once home to mansions, banks and warehouses you'll now find some of the city's best bars, restaurants and clubs. Mercure Glasgow City features 91 modern bedrooms with LCD TV's and high speed Internet. A cafe/bar and fresh exterior facade complete the look making this hotel the ideal base to enjoy the delights of Glasgow. There is a small chargeable car park at the rear of the building which is £7.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Glasgow
Glasgow Ramada
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing