We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience”
Review of Holly House B&B

Holly House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House B&B
Ranked #36 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I would start by saying the room was very spacious and bigger than your average sized hotel room. The customer service was excellent with very friendly staff.
I spent two nights at the Holly House hotel. I arrived to find that the toilet would not flush at all. (This remained unchanged for 2 days).
The towels were disgusting and smelt like they had not been washed in a while.
The breakfast given for 2 days was burnt slices of toast that were cold, along with out of date yogurt, and out of date cereal.
Overall, I would not spend another night here at all due to the sky high £80 per night. I would rather stick to my Premier Inns and get a good nights sleep without listening to all the other guests get up and go to the loo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hafzah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

arrived to find the bathroom had not been cleaned. dirty sink, toilet seat and shower. toothpaste on the mirror. decor is dated looking like an old peoples home. despite filling in the cereal selection form the night before we were served the wrong ones. the cocopops were 3yrs out of date. the frosties 2yrs out of date and the kiddy yogurt 1 week out of date. we also had to ask for cutlery as Mrs mackie forgot to bring any. the bathroom extractor fan was very noisy and needed attention and the toilet didn't flush very well. very dusty too. only positive were the clean beds. got a £20 discount off the family room for 2 adults and 2 kids, but still won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

A splendid B&B, although situated in a rougher part of town this charming house is run by a conscientious and friendly owner. the pricing was excellent and and the breakfast, whilst not as varied as some people would have liked (see other reviews) was plentiful and brought to the room. The rooms were spacious and clean and the en suite facilities were also clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank algernonplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Its close to the secc and the ibrox subway stop. It's a rough section of town, but the lodging is nice, the rooms are clean. I would stay again, you can beat the price. However, the taxi driver scared my wife about the neighborhood. I thought it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trrpettus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Lovely cosy house with the nicest owners ever! 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmaladecat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

I stayed at the Holly House B&B last week during a visit to Glasgow to watch the mighty Rangers! Could not fault this for location for the stadium - its practically next door. I found it easy to get into the centre at night to meet some friends using the Underground - which was a 2 minute walk away. My room was spotless and comfortable and the landlady could not have been more helpful even bringing the continental breakfast to my room. Breakfast consisted of tea, toast, fruit, cereal, yoghurt and juice - which I found absolutely fine. A great value bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckycat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

We booked this accomodation for going to a concert at the S.E.C.C. We knew Ibrox wasn't the nicest area but found this an ideal situation both for the S.E.C.C. and the tube into the city centre. It was surprisingly quiet! The room was nice enough and owner was friendly. We also enjoyed the fact that breakfast was brought to our room. The service provided for the price was worth the money. This is an ideal place to stay for people going to a football match at Ibrox Stadium.

  • Liked — Close to S.E.C.C.
  • Disliked — Close to Ibrox Football Stadium
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EB&RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
844 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#27 of 95 in Glasgow
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 95 in Glasgow
835 reviews
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
2,331 reviews
South Side
Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House B&B

Property: Holly House B&B
Address: 54 Ibrox Terrace, Glasgow G51 2TB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Holly House B&B Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing