We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Belhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clifton Hotel(Glasgow)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kelvin Hotel(Glasgow)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Alfred(Glasgow)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albion Hotel(Glasgow)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
170
187
72
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
187
72
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbyres roadwest endpremier roombotanic gardenssingle roombyres rdgreat western roadspa bathoran morno tea coffee making facilitiesnight porterlovely hotelbreakfast was delicioustop floorhuge roomunderground stationcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 454 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed a few nights at the Belhaven. It's a nice B&B, about 10 to 15 minute walk from the subway station at Hillhead. The room was a good size and so was the bathroom. It was clean and value for money. A nice cooked breakfast was available as was a selection of cereals.

My Vodafone mobile broadband had poor reception at the Belhaven. I didn't try the in-house wireless - it was at a low cost - GBP 10 for 3 days I think.

There are restaurants and cafes near the subway station, and there are markets as well. There's a laundrette on Great Western road towards the city. It's staffed and you can pay them to wash or do it yourself.

Belhaven was a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Great staff. Clean, comfy room. Good location (if you enjoy a walk).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The Belhaven has an excellent location. Right down the street are lots of shops, restaurants, a supermarket, and the subway station is about 7 blocks away. There is on street parking all around the hotel. The building itself has to be my favourite part. High ceilings,an authentic old building, there is a fire burning in the hearth in the hotel lounge, and the framed photos in the lobby are a nice personal touch. Our room was nicely decorated, the beds were very comfortable, the carpet was nice and thick, but the bathroom left something to be desired. In comparison with the rest of the room it was small, and a little shoddy. Too bad, because for the rest the room was great. The only minus would be the lack of double glazing, which means that the street noises can be quite loud. But Glasgow is not Paris or Rome, where the traffic never stops and people honk their horns all night long. It did get quiet during the night, so that we could sleep well. For the hotel as a whole I have two negative comments: one is the lack of a safe, there isn't even one down at reception, and that there is no free internet access. A big positive about this hotel is the woman who does breakfast, Margaret. She was lovely, giving me lots of advice about where to find things and just a nice person to speak with.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimiNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Go down Ashton Lane to the Wee pub and to the Bothy for a meal in street opposite Ashton Lane both in the west end, and very good. Catch the tube from Hillhead on Byres Road, 4 stops to city centre, shopping centre brilliant

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletcherviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We booked the premier room (Room 11) for a romantic weekend in Glasgow(!). No 11 is a large, spacious room on the second floor to the front of the hotel, overlooking Great Western Road and a small sliver of the Botanical Gardens. The room has a high ceiling with nice gold embossed covings and ceiling rose. The furniture is modern and functional – which was a little disappointing as we were expecting some old-fashioned Victoriana in keeping with the building. The red and cream colour scheme is tasteful but a little skewed by a rather uninspiring plain green carpet. There was plenty of drawer space but only a small 10” deep cupboard for hanging clothes. The room was well equipped with a flat-screen TV with freeview, tea-making facilities, iron and ironing board and hair-dryer. There was no fridge/minibar.

The attached bathroom held a 2-person jacuzzi bath with a shower above. Again, all very nice and functional but just lacking the “wow factor” mainly because of the rather clinical decor. The bland white wall tiles and green floor tiles are just too reminiscent of a treatment room in a 1960s NHS hospital. This is a shame as, with a little bit of imagination and a few nick-nacks, this could be a stunning bathroom.

Although the room overlooked a busy road junction traffic noise was not intrusive.

The entrance lobby, dining room and stairs are tastefully decorated and retain many original features including a pretty skylight/cupola. There is no lift so be prepared to get out of breath if you are on the upper floors.

The breakfast is good and ranges from cereal and fruit to freshly cooked “full Scottish”.

Parking spaces can be at a premium in the narrow streets around the hotel. Several times we had to leave our car a little way down the road but this wasn’t a hassle and the on-road parking is free. Hillhead subway station is about a 10 minute walk as are the bars and restaurants of Byres Road/Ashton Lane. There is a convenience store across the road.

In summary, this is a nice little hotel in a pleasant location with a lot of character and many plus points. We would stay there again but whether we would bother paying the extra for the premium room is debatable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews