We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Place In a Nice Area”
Review of The Belhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Belhaven Hotel
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2006

The Belhaven staff is very friendly and the location is very good. The lobby is lovely and the breakfast was good.

We weren't thrilled with our room. It was huge, maybe even a little too big. The carpet was just a bit dodgy. Our room was in the basement and I recommend requesting a room upstairs.

All in all though, we remeber the Belhaven fondly and would probably stay there again.

2  Thank goodandplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 440 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Donegal, Eire
14
Reviewed February 8, 2006

I have just returned home after a delightful stay in this lovely little hotel in the West End. My room was spotless and really quite stylish. I love the detail in the ceilings and walls in this well presented example of a handsome Victorian townhouse restored with style and sensitivity.
The staff here are so approachable and so easy to chat to. At all times i found them helpful, friendly and genuinely interested in providing information or serving food or drinks at bar.
The breakfast was simply fantastic which is cooked to order..something all to rare these days.
I paid £45 for my single room which was highly competitive i thought. Well done Belhaven i look forward to a return visit this summer. By the way the West End of Glasgow has got to be the best kept secret of any city I have ever known..it is superb!

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2005

The Belhaven represents a good budget option for short stay travellers to Glasgow. I booked a single room online for £40.00 for one night. The hotel was well placed for the West End of Glasgow and I was warmly welcomed on arrival at the hotel, which was easy to find. My room was very small, but for a short stay, perfectly acceptable. I was a bit concerned about the noise which might arise from the proximity of my room to toilets used by hotel guests. In the event this was not a problem. The room was very basic, but clean and comfortable. The next morning, a good simple breakfast was provided, swiftly and politely and upon checking out, I was dealt with quickly and courteously. This hotel is not a luxury option but is perfect for short stays, where location, good service and cleanliness are a priority.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ru1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dundee, Scotland
13
Reviewed November 1, 2005

My friends and I stayed at this hotel last weekend and I would highly recommend it. The hotel itself was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and spotless and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was superb. The area is lovely aswell. It is not right in the centre of Glasgow but only about £4 in a taxi to the centre. The only drawback was the hand held shower in the rooms we had. A bit awkward but OK. The lounge bar - although lovely - was not very well stocked and was expensive. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston,Texas
211
Reviewed August 8, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
14
Reviewed August 8, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
26
Reviewed June 29, 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
320 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
313 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#61 of 93 in Glasgow
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
830 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#73 of 93 in Glasgow
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belhaven Hotel

Address: 15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 0TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $61 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belhaven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cosmopolitan west end of Glasgow, a few minutes walk from Byres Road where there are some of the best restaurants, bars, coffee shops and boutique shops.All the rooms at the Belhaven Hotel are spacious and tastefully appointed. Room facilities include a hairdryer, while most also have Freeview TV and all come with wireless internet access.Situated overlooking Great Western Road and the Botanic Gardens, the hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from the city centre and 25 minutes' drive from Loch Lomond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhaven Hotel Glasgow
The Belhaven Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing