We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Belhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Belhaven Hotel
Ranked #52 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Lanark, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked to stay after a wedding reception at a nearby venue.we were allowed to check in early and the staff was very helpful and friendly.The room was very big and clean(no coffee facilities).my only negative comment would be that the room was chilly(the main heater was faulty and the electric substitute couldn't heat the size of the room).we were advised to come down sharp for breakfast,for a Sunday,it was a little early but was very good!we paid £79 and what we got was above my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    173
    66
    11
    12
See reviews for
61
139
67
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the belhaven on our wedding night on Good Friday. We booked into their superior room adding on champagne, chocolates and scattered roses for our arrival.

As we arrived after midnight we were greeted by the night porter who knew who we were straight away and was kind enough to pass on congratulations on behalf of the hotel.

The room itself was had a very nice warm feeling and was large. It was well laid out and very spacious. The building as a whole is very well presented and looks beautiful. We felt totally at home staying here.

As part of our booking we were treated to breakfast in bed which was delivered by the staff who were very helpful and essentially told us we could have whatever we wanted to eat and as much as we wanted. The breakfast was delicious.

In all we had such a relaxing stay and had a nice conversation with the young guy on reception the following morning who was interested to hear about our wedding and wished us all the best.

We will definitely be back at this hotel in the future and are already planning on spending the night of our first anniversary here.

Despite great western road being next to the hotel, the hotel is actually on a quiet street and does not feel like such a busy road is nearby, you can't even see the main road. It felt so peaceful for us and the ambience of the hotel was perfect for what we wanted for our wedding night.

sadly we did not get a chance to eat in their restaurant or relax at the bar but we are sure that we would have enjoyed that experience and will no doubt use this in the future.

Look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JStodd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friendly staff, very helpful. I felt safe and slept well in a comfortable bed. Room and all areas very clean. Good food. Excellent location, handy for all west end attractions, yet in a secluded area. I have already booked for my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina2013945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Staying for two nights, was placed in basement room, small but enough for single. Bed and bedding was a little short. Location great for west end bars and restaurants. Hotel staff friendly and helpful but manager a bit of a laugh. When I suggested that my key did not work in the door, he checked it himself and it failed three times before he got it right. Did not offer me another key. Fair enough. At breakfast a couple who visited previously suggested the breakfast was better before, manager insisted they were mistaken in front of everyone. Then when the customer had decided to drop the conversation the manager again insisted in bringing it up, again in front of everyone. Poor, perhaps immature, people skills. Much easier to agree and fix the problem (which was the lack of cheese :0) ) for their next visit instead of making sure they never come back.

Room Tip: refuse a basement room, you can hear staff walking about late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalBelhaven, Owner at The Belhaven Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

The manager has sent his apologies. The guests were mistaken in thinking we had items on our breakfast buffet during their last stay that we do not have now. We confirmed when they had stayed last and we are certain those items were not available then. This was a private and quiet conversation between the manager and the couple. It is a small area and some things may have been overheard and misinterpreted. We did receive feedback from this couple and they did enjoy their stay. We do apologise if this caused you any inconvenience during your breakfast.

With regards to the lock please accept my apology but the problem was not with the key but with the lock. This will be replaced very shortly.

On behalf of the Belhaven Hotel and management team I sincerely apologise if you felt the management was poor. I have received good to outstanding comments regarding the manager's people skills and overall management skills. I think the reviews on trip advisor reflects the quality of our service and commitment to our guests.

Yours faithfully,
Jas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here as we were at a wedding only 10mins away so the location was brilliant. The staff were very friendly and eager to please, ensuring even if they couldn't help you straight away they acknowledged they knew you were waiting and they would be there asap (which they were!).
Only downside was we were on the top floor in the attic, 70 stairs to climb when we wanted to go to our room, but the lovely bed was a welcome sight to collapse onto once we got there.
Breakfast was only served until 9.30am which on a weekend we thought was too early especially after a few drinks the night before! and you have to be down early as they only have 9 tables but 16 rooms so some people had to wait to be seated - however the cooked breakfast we were served was delicious and wouldn't hesitate to go back again - Thank you.

Room Tip: Check what floor you are on as the higher you go - more steps and they get a little steeper near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laperche
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Rooms are lovely with plenty of space but it always seems a bit untidy to fit an en suite facility into stylish rooms! It leaves cracks in tilework where floors have flexed and fume extraction from en suites never seems to work perfectly. Breakfast was good but not outstanding. It was a nice hotel and probably good value for where it was but...

Room Tip: If you have bags, not above first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 834DavidT834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Belhaven is just righf. The price is excellent value considering it's really good location, at the top of Bytes Road.
So much to see and do within walking distance.
The hotel is fuss free with plenty enthusiastic staff close by should you need them.
The rooms are what you would expect, or even better at the price. Very clean and fresh. Had two great nights quiet and relaxing sleep. The room can be warm or cool very easily.
This hotel is nothing too flash, it is exactly what it says. If you are want Butler service it is not for you. If you want a clean, comfortable room in a great location, with super staff, easy parking and a fantastic Scottish breakfast. I would look no further.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaipro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#23 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belhaven Hotel

Property: The Belhaven Hotel
Address: 15 Belhaven Terrace, Glasgow G12 OTG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cosmopolitan west end of Glasgow, a few minutes walk from Byres Road where there are some of the best restaurants, bars, coffee shops and boutique shops.All the rooms at the Belhaven Hotel are spacious and tastefully appointed. Room facilities include a hairdryer, while most also have Freeview TV and all come with wireless internet access.Situated overlooking Great Western Road and the Botanic Gardens, the hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from the city centre and 25 minutes' drive from Loch Lomond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhaven Hotel Glasgow
The Belhaven Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing