We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Good - 12 Years On!”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed June 3, 2014

It has been 12 years since I last stayed at the Argyll - loved it then and love it still.
We were given a very friendly welcome and upgraded to the family room for the night - it was great with plenty of room which was appreciated after 3 weeks travelling. The room was tidy and clean and really well appointed.
The bar and restaurant was quiet on the night (compared to what it was 12 years ago) but was good value for drinks and dinner.
Parking is limited, however the staff are able to assist with street parking permits.
Anyone looking for very good accommodation, service and friendly staff for the Commonwealth Games - look no further than the Argyll.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 842 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were here for one night only but I wish I could have stayed longer. The welcome was warm, the room imaginatively decorated and the bathroom looked recently renovated. We had a minor problem on arrival which the hotel graciously resolved for us. The breakfast was good - buffet style - and well-presented. The only minor niggle, and only very minor, is that if your car is parked outside on the street, the meter has to be fed at 8 a.m. Would certainly try to book this hotel on our next visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room was cosy and clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly . I am a solo traveller (lady of a certain age) and felt very comfortable here. The breakfast was traditional Scottish fare and I was a bit disappointed not to get the choice of croissants etc but I understand that this is a very traditional Scottish hotel - love the tartan carpet! The breakfast room has a very unusual toaster - never seen one like this before - a bit like Wallace and Gromit - !- but you toast the bread yourself and it does definitely work!
the location of the hotel is excellent and a taxi into the city costs £4.00.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Had a brilliant weekend. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was excellent, Glasgow is an amazing city at night. Plenty restaurant s to choose from. The clubs and pubs are amazing. Very friendly city

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilymcf230159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel as we were going to Prince gig at Hydro last Thursday. I usually do my research before booking, but we were delighted with our choice. The welcome was efficient. The room was compact but had everything required. Breakfast was lovely, and the lady on duty was outstanding. I asked if they had gluten free bread which they did and aforesaid lady went and toasted it under grill as they have do it yourself one at buffet table. As well as the buffet they also appear to do smoked fish, porridge, which is good to have options. We will definitely return. And Prince was superb!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a muder myster evening for my daughter's hen do in the hotel on Saturday. A great night was had by all and far surpassed anyone's expectations. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for us and the actors were hilarious. The hotel is lovely and clean and the food was excellent. Couldn't fault the hotel at all. Our thanks go to Patricia who did a wonderful job.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Visited hotel whilst picking up daughter from university. Room quite small but fine , bathroom recently refurbished but could do with grab handle to assist in getting in and out for a shower, as bath quite deep. Staff could not be more helpful and breakfast good. Would recommend for short visit to the city

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank shalmalone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 93 in Glasgow
1,902 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Kelvingrove Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
219 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
445 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $61 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing