We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MIRROR, MIRROR ON THE WALL”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

As my wife caustically commented, this hotel was designed by a man. No mirror in the room anywhere near an electric socket for the hair drier. That apart our room (311) was well appointed for the price (£50 with breakfast via booking.com) including what seemed to be a 40" LCD TV. OK this twin room was on the small side, but it was spotlessly clean, had a very comfortable feel to it and was reasonably quiet as it overlooked the hotel's small (5 car max), free car park accessed via a lane to the rear of the hotel. As it was full (6 cars!) we parked in a street close by, the hotel providing a ticket to cover 0800-1400 for £2. A previous commentator was probably unlucky with Reception, ours was extremely warm and welcoming and, as the hotel's restaurant was closed, she recommended some local eateries.One attracted a discount on production of room card but was unfortunately out of action on the night. The highlight for us was the breakfast. A warm welcome and good choice of hot or cold buffet, including four choices for eggs, the best porridge my wife has tasted from a hotel, ever, and deliciously crumbly West Coast black pudding. And to round it off, even as the time was past 0930, when breakfast finishes?, an invitation for more tea or coffee. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crichtocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thankyou for your kind coments. We have noted your feedback on the electrial points next to the mirror and we working on placing a socket next to mirror in 311.

Our breakfast always scores very high and our porridge definately is the best.
Next time please try our freshly prepared scambled eggs which are very good too.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers . We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

B Bashir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 861 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed one night, and very pleased with everything. Very reasonable price. Room, bathroom and bedding were all clean. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Decor is a bit "twee" but I prefer hotels with a bit of character and history rather than the bland cold corporates. Breakfast was brilliant! It's only a 20 minute walk or a fiver taxi into the city centre. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithaLittled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Enjoyed our night at the Argyll hotel. Nice room and no traffic noise. great breakfast and great staff. Good parking outside only £2 for the whole morning. Will stay here again if possible next time in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times over the last ten years. It is reasonably priced and in a good location for easy access to the city. Although we had booked a twin room we were actually accommodated in a family room facing onto the main road which was a slight worry about traffic noise, but we needn't have worried. The only noise was in fact from noisy people in the street at 2am which was a little irritating. The bathroom's a little jaded and needs renovating.

The Sutherland restaurant which is part of the hotel is open Thursday to Sunday. A restricted menu but the food is of an extremely good quality.

Breakfast is also served here and is excellent. Watch out for Linda and Valerie both waitresses at breakfast - they are very extremely hard working and friendly.

The hotel also has murder mystery weekends - one mystery during our stay was that on Friday morning when we went out, there were five biscuits on the morning coffee tray. When we returned there were only three! mmm??

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Muddles0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days before my interview as a volunteer for the Commonwealth games next year. It was perfect for my purpose. I wanted to drive to each of the venues and familiarise myself once more with the streets of Glasgow and city driving. I was able to park my car at the hotel, the room was spacious, comfortable and very clean, the staff friendly and helpful and there was a good choice at the buffet breakfast. We were opposite the bowling greens and had the Kelvingrove Park and the Art Galleries on the doorstep. A short walk took us to Byres Road where we relived our student days (we are now in our 60s and 70s) and enjoyed the still lively night life. The SECC precinct is within walking distance too (gymnastics, boxing , judo etc) and a walk along Sauchiehall St takes you to the main shopping areas with the option of a bus route outside for the return journey laden with parcels and suffering sore feet! All I need now is to hear I've passed the interview and been accepted as a volunteer next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorayTraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night
And were pleased with quality of room. Nicely decorated. The bathroom appeared freshly renovated and the bed was extremely comfortable. Good choice at breakfast. Would recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great location: close to city centre, public transport & new hydro. Comfortable & clean rooms. Helpful management & friendly staff. Buffet breakfast: great! plenty of choice. Thanks for making it a great holiday!! Paul & Margaret, Malta.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#54 of 93 in Glasgow
610 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
611 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,939 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $55 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing